Board index FlightGear Release candidates

FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Release candidate testers are encouraged to post their feedback here. Please read the introduction topic for details.
Forum rules
Please read the introduction topic for details.

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby biloute974 » Tue Sep 22, 2015 7:55 am

legoboyvdlp wrote in Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:34 pm:Right, adding that to my command line (in FGRUN) changes the property svn-server to 'http://geoscope.ucsd.edu:8080/terrascenery/trunk/data/Scenery/', but there is no change.

HI,

can you say me where you put this line in FGRUN ?
Intel I7 7700 - 16Gb DDR4 - Nvidia GTX970 - FG 2017.4.0 from D&C
biloute974
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 8:49 am
Callsign: U974
Version: 2016.1.0
OS: Mint 17.2

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Sep 22, 2015 12:57 pm

@biloute, on he vey very first page you can put command line arguments on the path to the executable (fgfs.exe).
For example, I right now have C:/Users/Lego/Documents/Legos Folder/FlightGear 3.7.0/bin/fgfs.exe --telnet=9000 and the other command about terrasync server.

But you do not need to put in --telnet=9000, since that is for an android application I have!
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6250
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby MIG29pilot » Tue Sep 22, 2015 1:09 pm

Where does one put that other scenery download path?
User avatar
MIG29pilot
 
Posts: 1456
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: 6 feet under Snow
Callsign: MIG29pilot
Version: 3.7nightly
OS: Windows 10

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby psadro_gm » Tue Sep 22, 2015 2:27 pm

I can confirm the San Diego server appears to be down. I've asked Martin if there is any way we could reroute to a secondary server when this happens.
I (strongly) don't recommend bypassing the svn server proxy. This will overload the server on mgras.net The proxy is needed to load balance the new terrasync servers.

EDIT: Martin has fixed this issue, and is looking at an automated way to detect and update the mirrors list accordingly.

If you hardcoded foxtrot.mgras.net, please edit your settings back to the proxy at http://scenery.flightgear.org/svn-server

For me, I now get a different mirror than the sd server.

Thank you,
Pete
8.50 airport parser, textured roads and streams...
psadro_gm
 
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
IRC name: psadro_*
Version: git
OS: Fedora 21

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Sep 22, 2015 3:53 pm

Mig29, here is a screen of my FGRUN page:
Image
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6250
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Sep 22, 2015 3:57 pm

Ok, that ns334451.ip-5-196-65.eu:8080/terrascenery/trunk/data/scenery worked for a minute or two then failed.
But foxtrot worked :)
I know, it may overload.
But its better than not-working-terrasync.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6250
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby wlbragg » Tue Sep 22, 2015 4:16 pm

In fgrun you can add props and communication protocols in the advanced section.

Here is a section of my command line that was input into the advanced section of fgrun (use the Advanced/Properties for --prop entries and use Network or Input/Output for communication settings). However, either way will work.

Code: Select all
  --httpd=5500
  --props=5501
  --generic=socket,out,10,192.168.0.17,5501,udp,andatlas
  --telnet=socket,in,20,,9000,tcp

  Edit: so Pete doesn't blame me for the demise of a mirror. :)
  --prop:/sim/terrasync/svn-server=http://ns334561.ip-5-196-65.eu:8080/terrascenery/trunk/data/Scenery/
Last edited by wlbragg on Tue Sep 22, 2015 5:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4405
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby psadro_gm » Tue Sep 22, 2015 4:59 pm

legoboyvdlp wrote in Tue Sep 22, 2015 3:57 pm: I know, it may overload.
But its better than not-working-terrasync.


No, it isn't - overloading a mirror is a sure way that mirror will be taken down - ruining it for everyone. Without googlecode, we are relying on the generosity of the people financially supporting the mirrors. Don't be the one to break it.

Pete
8.50 airport parser, textured roads and streams...
psadro_gm
 
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
IRC name: psadro_*
Version: git
OS: Fedora 21

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby wlbragg » Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:26 pm

legoboyvdlp wrote in Tue Sep 22, 2015 3:57 pm:Ok, that ns334451.ip-5-196-65.eu:8080/terrascenery/trunk/data/scenery worked for a minute or two then failed.

I was able to remove the redirect and use the default that fgrun or FG sets up and it is now working for me. Thanks Pete.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4405
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Sep 22, 2015 7:19 pm

Yes Psadro :)
It seems to be fixed according to Wlbragg. So, now, back to default I guess!
End of overload
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6250
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby psadro_gm » Tue Sep 22, 2015 7:32 pm

thanks - Martin is working on failed mirror detection, now.
8.50 airport parser, textured roads and streams...
psadro_gm
 
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
IRC name: psadro_*
Version: git
OS: Fedora 21

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby MIG29pilot » Wed Sep 23, 2015 11:08 pm

It is now working for me, and I did not get around to changing any paths
User avatar
MIG29pilot
 
Posts: 1456
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: 6 feet under Snow
Callsign: MIG29pilot
Version: 3.7nightly
OS: Windows 10

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby someguy » Thu Sep 24, 2015 3:37 am

Working here now, too. Thanks!
User avatar
someguy
 
Posts: 1653
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:54 am
Location: USA
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X 10.11

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby Johan G » Sun Sep 27, 2015 12:40 pm

psadro_gm wrote in Tue Sep 22, 2015 2:27 pm:I (strongly) don't recommend bypassing the svn server proxy. This will overload the server on mgras.net The proxy is needed to load balance the new terrasync servers.
...
If you hardcoded foxtrot.mgras.net, please edit your settings back to the proxy at http://scenery.flightgear.org/svn-server

But I guess that would not work for a stable version (yet for a little while) since: :(
elgaton wrote in Mon Sep 21, 2015 5:29 pm:the new server selection mechanism was introduced in commit 6683092bb216604914b6e0b42733b7ec9876af2c, in April


There is a possible solution though: I am no Nasal guru, but it seems Nasal should be able to use HTTP GET to parse that string and put it in /sim/terrasync/svn-server. However, if I understand it correct it has only been available since version 2.8. For details see the wiki article Howto:Making HTTP Requests from Nasal (perm).

The question is how often or when the Nasal script should do that, and if there is a property that shows if TerraSync is running so that switching the TerraSync server can be inhibited if a sync is in progress. I guess switching the content of that property most probably will have adverse effects.


However, I am quite sure none of this would be needed if the proxy somehow redirected to the right server instead of showed a string with an URL. :wink:
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 5296
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7, 32 bit

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby MIG29pilot » Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:35 pm

It's gone again.
User avatar
MIG29pilot
 
Posts: 1456
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: 6 feet under Snow
Callsign: MIG29pilot
Version: 3.7nightly
OS: Windows 10

PreviousNext

Return to Release candidates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest