Board index FlightGear Release candidates

3.7 crash -- just WHAT happened?

Release candidate testers are encouraged to post their feedback here. Please read the introduction topic for details.
Forum rules
Please read the introduction topic for details.

Re: 3.7 crash -- just WHAT happened?

Postby IAHM-COL » Sun Sep 06, 2015 9:17 pm

yes. But the autopilot should not be unable to fly it as well.
As soon as I turn the FGMC, my computer is unable to keep running FG.

The FGMC helps pilots to fly a plane. It DOES NOT take control over the plane, as it does with this model
(with this I am saying, the plane should be flyable, with FGMC OFF as well. Not fully FGMC dependent. Notice I am not referring to Route Manager)

Also, I use to have several hours on this plane. It used to work. With FGMC and Without FGMC, via the cockpit AP.

Finally; NAV1 was not switching to someting programmed in the FGMC. It was switching to a random VOR in the vicinity of the aircraft position. And completely disregarding the frequencies indicated by the pilot. NAV2 was ok; preserving the set frequency.

IH-COL
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it? Probably not, because if they don’t recognise their freedoms, they’ll let their freedoms fall
User avatar
IAHM-COL
Retired
 
Posts: 4064
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Callsign: HK-424D or ICAO4243
Version: 3.7-git
OS: Linux

Re: 3.7 crash -- just WHAT happened?

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sun Sep 06, 2015 10:14 pm

Well, if you set it via F12, sorry.
And too bad about the bug, but in the airbuses, you MUST use the FGMC. Thats like saying a car can run without a fuel pump. Sure, on a hill you can, but it is not designed to do so.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6652
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: 3.7 crash -- just WHAT happened?

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sun Sep 06, 2015 10:24 pm

"MASTER FMGC LOGIC :

* If one autopilot (AP) is engaged, the related FMGC is master :

- it uses the onside FD for guidance
- it controls the A/THR
- it controls the FMA 1 and 2

* If two APs are engaged, FMGC1 is master.

* If no AP is engaged and

- the FD1 pushbutton is on, then FMGC1 is master.
- the FD1 pushbutton is off, and FD2 pushbutton on then FMGC2 is master.

* if no AP/FD is engaged, A/THR is controlled by FMGC1."
"

http://www.airliners.net/aviation-forum ... main/67930
Reply 4
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6652
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: 3.7 crash -- just WHAT happened?

Postby aiannuzzi99 » Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:14 am

Where can I get Flightgear 3.7?
aiannuzzi99
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:48 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Version: 3.4

Re: 3.7 crash -- just WHAT happened?

Postby IAHM-COL » Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:27 am

I compile it from source myself.
The git repositories for simgear (dependency) and flightgear are in SF
http://sourceforge.net/p/flightgear/fli ... next/tree/
http://sourceforge.net/p/flightgear/sim ... next/tree/

Then you need FGDATA, which comes with no aircraft here
http://sourceforge.net/p/flightgear/fgd ... next/tree/

Or in my opinion, much better and convenient with every aircraft in the same repository as submodules, here
http://sourceforge.net/p/fgdata/submodu ... next/tree/
[note]: Using the submodules here will update the aircrafts from FGMEMBERS.

There is the nightly builds to get flightgear already compiled, depending of your OS
http://download.flightgear.org/builds/nightly/
Which also works with the same FGDATA (with or without submodules)

IH-COL
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it? Probably not, because if they don’t recognise their freedoms, they’ll let their freedoms fall
User avatar
IAHM-COL
Retired
 
Posts: 4064
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Callsign: HK-424D or ICAO4243
Version: 3.7-git
OS: Linux

Re: 3.7 crash -- just WHAT happened?

Postby Thorsten » Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:41 am

Or in my opinion, much better and convenient with every aircraft in the same repository as submodules


... except for the fact that version control on this repository isn't done and you're on your own in case of problems - it's a third party hangar, not officially supported.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10595
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: 3.7 crash -- just WHAT happened?

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Sep 09, 2015 2:18 pm

Thorsten wrote in Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:41 am:
Or in my opinion, much better and convenient with every aircraft in the same repository as submodules


... except for the fact that version control on this repository isn't done and you're on your own in case of problems - it's a third party hangar, not officially supported.

... but is over ruled by a group of willing developers who work on fixing those bugs.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6652
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: 3.7 crash -- just WHAT happened?

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Sep 09, 2015 2:42 pm

But seriously Thorsten, reading through my log file, have you any idea what may have caused the crash? My RAM was stable in tests a few days before with the same plane, so ruling out that.

Also, I keep seeing errors when I open the jeteay editor, related to something like jetwayeditor.cxx...
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6652
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Previous

Return to Release candidates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests