Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby yangqiming_ » Thu Apr 30, 2015 11:33 pm

Hmmm... Weird
I'm running FG2.10 for almost 2 years and TNCM was the first extra scenery installed and it worked like a charm. However I had the same issue with clrCoda where the ND is useless. I had not update to FG3.0+ because I am not liking the way the controls are so I stayed at FG2.10 when FG3.0+ launched. In fact, I did give it a run but my poor laptop lagged like 10fps :-(
yangqiming_
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:08 am
Location: Singapore
Callsign: KL9799
Version: 2.10
OS: Mac OS X,Windows 10

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby TheBoogie » Tue Jun 23, 2015 3:19 pm

Just a little question.
How do you get the Navigation to work?
(was flying a Swissair ZUR-JFK when the plane just flew in circles..)
I dunno boss, I guess I ask to many questions.
TheBoogie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 8:59 pm
Location: KBOS
Callsign: AAL731
Version: 3.4
OS: MAC OSX

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby tikibar » Tue Jun 23, 2015 3:29 pm

Could you describe in a little more detail what you're trying to do? What have you entered in the route manager? Did you activate it? There's a short document included in the aircraft package called "about_autoflight.pdf" that can instruct you further on using the AP.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby astoivan » Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:12 am

This looks like interesting project! I have some MD-11 technical knowledge and manuals, but none or primitive coding skills. Is there some way I could help in this project?
astoivan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:21 am
Location: Finland

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Johan G » Wed Jun 24, 2015 1:05 pm

First off: Welcome to the forum! :D

astoivan wrote in Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:12 am:Is there some way I could help in this project?

Sure, there is also 3D modeling, creating textures and writing documentation, to mention a few other ways.

Pretty much all of the skills involved (including coding) are acquired skills though. Most of us started from scratch. ;)
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 5528
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7, 32 bit

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby astoivan » Wed Jun 24, 2015 8:37 pm

Thanks Johan! I'm excited with all the possibilities of Flightgear and especially of this community!

I am planning to take my first coding lessons with C172p-detailed project, as the system are much more simpler and easier to understand. Hopefully I can later on contribute on this MD-11 project too, as it's absolutely my favorite plane of all times. Meanwhile, if you guys need any system specific help or comments, feel free to contact me. I also have some manuals and performance tables.
astoivan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:21 am
Location: Finland

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby TheBoogie » Thu Jul 02, 2015 2:56 pm

tikibar wrote in Tue Jun 23, 2015 3:29 pm:Could you describe in a little more detail what you're trying to do? What have you entered in the route manager? Did you activate it? There's a short document included in the aircraft package called "about_autoflight.pdf" that can instruct you further on using the AP.


I entered a KAL Flight from HNL to INC, and immediately upon pressing the NAV button, it spins around in circles, going nowhere.
It's a bit weird.

I hav
I dunno boss, I guess I ask to many questions.
TheBoogie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 8:59 pm
Location: KBOS
Callsign: AAL731
Version: 3.4
OS: MAC OSX

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby tikibar » Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:50 pm

Probably you're doing it wrong. It's hard to tell from what little information you've provided. It works fine for me. From what you've said, it sounds like maybe you may be using 3-letter airport codes? You need to use the 4-letter ICAO codes (PHNL-RKSI instead of HNL-INC, for example). You didn't answer the question about activating the flightplan, but you have to do that too. You can (and should) also verify your flight plan before you start in the in-sim map. Also read the document I referred you to earlier.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby TheBoogie » Mon Jul 06, 2015 3:06 am

tikibar wrote in Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:50 pm:Probably you're doing it wrong. It's hard to tell from what little information you've provided. It works fine for me. From what you've said, it sounds like maybe you may be using 3-letter airport codes? You need to use the 4-letter ICAO codes (PHNL-RKSI instead of HNL-INC, for example). You didn't answer the question about activating the flightplan, but you have to do that too. You can (and should) also verify your flight plan before you start in the in-sim map. Also read the document I referred you to earlier.



Meant to say I entered the 4 digit ICAO codes..
Whoops :oops:

Regardless of the ICAO code entered, the plane has this lovely habit of just spinning around in CIRCLES...
I've got the link to a video to show you how it goes.
Hope the video helps :D
(EDIT) INTERNET IS INCREDIBLY SLOW, Vid isn't gonna upload.
Apologies.
I dunno boss, I guess I ask to many questions.
TheBoogie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 8:59 pm
Location: KBOS
Callsign: AAL731
Version: 3.4
OS: MAC OSX

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby tikibar » Tue Jul 07, 2015 9:33 am

Do you do this?
1. Enter starting airport ICAO code, enter waypoints (not strictly required), enter destination ICAO code, and verify your flight plan in the in-sim map (again, not strictly required, but a good idea).
2. Activate flight plan.
3. Activate Autoflight (press button once for autothrottle, press again for autopilot)
4. Press NAV to activate FMS navigation mode.

If you don't, NAV mode isn't going to work. Full stop.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby de profundis » Mon Jul 13, 2015 1:07 pm

I am pretty sure TheBoogie experienced a stall.
This airplane seems to be very "stall-sensitive"
And also very "FG Crash-sensitive"

Out of 9 or 10 sessions I had with this airplane, I only managed to land it 1 or 2 times, 3 or 4 times it stalled dramatically (and realistically I have to say) and the rest FG crashed.
Cross Country Tutorial II - a VFR guide all that's VFR and more...!
de profundis
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 2:18 pm
Location: Greece
Callsign: SX-ATM M-J4MC
Version: 3.4
OS: 8

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby tikibar » Mon Jul 13, 2015 1:36 pm

I'm having trouble telling if TheBoogie is talking about flying in stable circles or rolling over and crashing. He's been pretty non-specific. For the stall sensitivity, I've experienced some... excitement... when pulling the flaps in under 220 kias. I left a whole pile of MD-11s off the end of 34R at KDEN trying to figure that one out.

The sim crashes are a mystery to me, and since they're not consistently repeatable, I have no idea how to even collect enough information to report them. I recently switched from Firefox to Chrome and FG seems to crash less. But who knows if there's any causal relationship there. FG is pretty crashy anyway. Sure makes fuel-burn/range-testing a medium-long hauler a chore.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Octal450 » Sun Jan 24, 2016 3:37 am

Hello everyone. As you may or may not be able to tell, the MD-11 is my favorite plane.

Therefore I have taken it uppon myself to improve it. I have done quite a bit of work, if you wanted to take a look, and tell me what you think?

http://www.github.com/FGMEMBERS/MD-11

Have a safe flight! :)
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby tikibar » Sun Jan 24, 2016 6:42 am

Hi it0uchpods,

I took a quick look at your FDM changes, and I noticed a few errors. First, you increased the empty weight of the freighter to match that of the passenger version. That is incorrect. The freighter has a lower empty weight. The original numbers were correct (see http://www.boeing.com/assets/pdf/commer ... s/md11.pdf). Second, you increased the thrust on the engines to 80,700 lbf. No engines offered on the MD-11 have that kind of thrust rating. The CF6-80C2 engines have 61,500 lbf thrust. Last, you increased the capacity of the main fuel tanks. Where did those numbers come from? The numbers you changed came from an MD-11 FCOM.

I am interested to see how the adjustments you made to the wing perform.

Cheers,
John
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Octal450 » Thu Jan 28, 2016 2:12 pm

tikibar wrote in Sun Jan 24, 2016 6:42 am:Hi it0uchpods,

I took a quick look at your FDM changes, and I noticed a few errors. First, you increased the empty weight of the freighter to match that of the passenger version. That is incorrect. The freighter has a lower empty weight. The original numbers were correct (see http://www.boeing.com/assets/pdf/commer ... s/md11.pdf). Second, you increased the thrust on the engines to 80,700 lbf. No engines offered on the MD-11 have that kind of thrust rating. The CF6-80C2 engines have 61,500 lbf thrust. Last, you increased the capacity of the main fuel tanks. Where did those numbers come from? The numbers you changed came from an MD-11 FCOM.

I am interested to see how the adjustments you made to the wing perform.

Cheers,
John


Yes I am aware. This was done PURPOSELY temporarily, I actually forgot that I pushed that file. Now that I am aware again, I will fix it. I think I at one point mixed the MD-11 and MD-11X FDMs together, since I don't remember changing the weight or thrust, which would my bad. I'll fix and push later today, thanks.

The plane was taking way to long to roll, so i made a few adjustments to correct that, like adding proper drag on speedbreaks and ailerons.
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 0 guests