Board index FlightGear Support Graphics

Earthview Orbital Rendering

Graphics issues like: bad framerates, weird colors, OpenGL errors etc. Bad graphics ar usually the result of bad graphics cards or drivers.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).
- please upload a screenshot of the problem.

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article. If you are seeing corrupted/broken textures, please see this article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Earthview Orbital Rendering

Postby pommesschranke » Wed Mar 04, 2015 10:57 pm

Linux * nvidia * fg 3.5 (git)

I'd like to fix & understand the Earthview Orbital Rendering on my PC.
With my usual .fgfs settings it shows a white circle and a scenery square,
With a new user without any .fgfs settings it shows the globe but in very low
resolution & blurry.

Do I have to download additional images from somewhere ?
Is Terrasync loading it ?
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Earthview Orbital Rendering

Postby Thorsten » Thu Mar 05, 2015 6:33 am

Try it from orbit (600 km or 1.800.000 ft will do nicely). You will see this:

Image
Image

If you download the full resolution earth and cloud textures from NASA Visible Earth and re-texture the sphere, then you can have this

Image
Image
Image


(since that's a few GB of texture data, I didn't include it into FG GIT for obvious reasons).

Is Terrasync loading it ?


Nope - it has nothing to do with the default terrain (and in fact works best if the default terrain isn't loaded at all).
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10939
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Earthview Orbital Rendering

Postby pommesschranke » Thu Mar 05, 2015 12:09 pm

thanks for your reply.

Code: Select all
If you download the full resolution earth and cloud textures from NASA Visible Earth and re-texture the sphere, then you can have this


Is there a Howto for that ? I did search the forum & wiki already.

these are images from tico's space trip:
http://imgur.com/a/ragL9#b7jOiK8
he did not talk about "re-texture the sphere" .. maybe it got lost in translation.
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Earthview Orbital Rendering

Postby Thorsten » Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:01 pm

Is there a Howto for that ?


No - I reasoned that if 'texture the sphere' doesn't mean anything to a user, he probably can't do it anyway. Besides, at 16384 x 16384 texture resolution, you may run into memory and architecture limits of your machine, so there's really no one size fits all path at the upper end - I ended up using dds textures to reduce loading time.

The models in question are Models/Astro/earth_unitscale_hires.ac, earth_unitscale_rawuv.ac and clouds_unitscale_hires.ac. The unitscale_hires are smart uv-mapped and need textures with a characteristic border to avoid seams, the rawuv has a simple mapping to which you can apply texture sheets as is.

Open with the model editor of your choice, map with the textures of your choice, done.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10939
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest