Board index FlightGear Support Graphics

best 3 monitors setup

Graphics issues like: bad framerates, weird colors, OpenGL errors etc. Bad graphics ar usually the result of bad graphics cards or drivers.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).
- please upload a screenshot of the problem.

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article. If you are seeing corrupted/broken textures, please see this article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

best 3 monitors setup

Postby yairzo » Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:11 pm

Hi All,

I've installed version 3.2. I have 3 monitors 1920*1024 each, connected to GeForce GTX 780.

I'm looking for the most realistic cameras setup to add to the the configuration file.

Thanks,

Yair.
yairzo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 8:26 pm

Re: best 3 monitors setup

Postby Michat » Thu Feb 26, 2015 11:28 pm

Searching on the wiki you'll find some monitor cameras info.
http://wiki.flightgear.org/Howto:Configure_camera_view_windows
http://wiki.flightgear.org/Presentation_Recipe


My ideal 3 monitor setup could be:
[ 1 ]
[ 2 ] [ 3 ]

1 FG view
2 FGPannel
3 Browser

Good luck with your settings.
User avatar
Michat
 
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 6:24 pm
Location: Spain
Version: 191b
OS: GNewSense

Re: best 3 monitors setup

Postby yairzo » Fri Feb 27, 2015 7:20 am

Thanks Michat for your reply. I thought using the extra 2 monitors for side windows, to make looking on the side windows more natural. Can you explain why do you prefer your setup ?

As for trying to simulate side windows, I would prefer to receive configuration code to add to prefernces.xml since all the examples I tried to adapt didn't work well.

Here is configuration that I tried to adapt, and added to the <rendering> element in preferences.xml

In this configuration the view is too wide, and the airplane looks broken.

Any reccomendation on how to improve the current cofiguration, or alternative configuration will be appreciated.

Code: Select all

<camera-group>         
         <camera>
           <window>
            <name type="string">main</name>
            <host-name type="string"></host-name>
            <display>0</display>
            <screen>0</screen>
            <width>1920</width>
            <height>1024</height>
            <fullscreen type = "bool">true</fullscreen>
           </window>
           <view>
            <heading-deg type = "double">0</heading-deg>
           </view>
           <frustum>
            <top>0.133</top>
            <bottom>-0.133</bottom>
            <left>-.1668</left>
            <right>.1668</right>
            <near>0.4</near>
            <far>120000.0</far>
           </frustum>
         </camera>
         <camera>
           <window>
            <host-name type="string"></host-name>
            <display>0</display>
            <screen>1</screen>
            <width>1920</width>
            <height>1024</height>
            <fullscreen type = "bool">true</fullscreen>
           </window>
           <view>
            <heading-deg type = "double">-45.3</heading-deg>
           </view>
           <frustum>
            <top>0.133</top>
            <bottom>-0.133</bottom>
            <left>-.1668</left>
            <right>.1668</right>
            <near>0.4</near>
            <far>120000.0</far>
           </frustum>
         </camera>
         <camera>
           <window>
            <host-name type="string"></host-name>
            <display>0</display>
            <screen>2</screen>
            <width>1920</width>
            <height>1024</height>
            <fullscreen type = "bool">true</fullscreen>
           </window>
           <view>
            <heading-deg type = "double">45.3</heading-deg>
           </view>
           <frustum>
            <top>0.133</top>
            <bottom>-0.133</bottom>
            <left>-.1668</left>
            <right>.1668</right>
            <near>0.4</near>
            <far>120000.0</far>
           </frustum>
         </camera>

yairzo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 8:26 pm

Re: best 3 monitors setup

Postby jarl.arntzen » Fri Feb 27, 2015 10:40 am

Frequent Flyer. Occasional Lander.
jarl.arntzen
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:43 pm
IRC name: Jarl Arntzen
Version: 2017.1.1
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: best 3 monitors setup

Postby Michat » Sat Feb 28, 2015 4:52 am

Thanks Michat for your reply. I thought using the extra 2 monitors for side windows, to make looking on the side windows more natural. Can you explain why do you prefer your setup ?


[1] Instead of panoramic-side views, I prefer and use inmersive front tube monitor elevated over a cube made of wood so the FG view is close to my eyes upper level.
To change left and right view I have button.

[2] just in front of my eyes fg pannel, or a good 2D panel in order to avoid 3d cockpit zoom-pan-clicks panic, having good instrument reading.http://wiki.flightgear.org/FGPanel
[3] browser in my case at right side .

In the lower level keyboard, yoke and mouse fighting for space.

Choose the way you like, always you can change-vary.

Good luck. Sorry I can't no help you with the code, I'm programing iliterate.
User avatar
Michat
 
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 6:24 pm
Location: Spain
Version: 191b
OS: GNewSense


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests