Board index FlightGear Support osgEarth

Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

osgEarth renders the terrain scene by building the textured geometry at runtime from raw source imagery and elevation data. An experimental FlightGear integration is currently available.

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby vitos » Thu Dec 25, 2014 9:48 am

Hooray: You just dont comprehend what I do at first, and using advising option to offend me secondly - that's won't do.

poweroftwo: Ok, got it go after that commit changes.

Image

Unfortunately, fps=1 even with running from cache only. My system details are at screenshort. Thank You for Your work, I suppose it was hard. Hope we - I mean common people with common possibiliies - could use it with next computers generation upgrade.
Waste of time: too unprofitable for work, too exhausting for hobby.
User avatar
vitos
 
Posts: 615
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Callsign: vitos
IRC name: vitos
Version: 3.4
OS: Debian

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby Thorsten » Thu Dec 25, 2014 10:27 am

That's it, that thing would do at least for low orbit spaceflights


If you're interested in spaceflight, I think we really have that covered nicely and fast with EarthView these days - especially if you use the hires textures provided by NASA:

Image

The shader gives you cloud shadows and specular reflection on water in addition:

Image
Image
Image

Color changes of light in the dawn region

Image

options to rotate the cloudsphere

Image
Image
Image

And there's your spacecraft in a test up there

Image

Looks better than what Orbiter provides last time I checked, and I'm getting a solid 50 fps. As far as I am concerned, rendering orbital flights in FG is solved.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11190
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby vitos » Thu Dec 25, 2014 12:54 pm

Thorsten wrote in Thu Dec 25, 2014 10:27 am:If you're interested in spaceflight, I think we really have that covered nicely and fast with EarthView these days - especially if you use the hires textures provided by NASA


Well, maybe. It possible what I could do Soyuz model then. Anyway, modern FG multiplayer would not allow docking with someone else for sure, and I do not know if some AI model docking would work at such speeds. So, more probably, some lone model which would demand not only correct orbit - and deorbit too, Soyuz much more interesting in that meaning - but correct solar panels orientation, energy consumtion limits, orbital heating and so on - everything that Mikhail Sergeevitch Komarov met in tragical first flight of it in reality. But I do not know if I would have time for that - knowing that actually not more than ten people could use that really. Heh, I made great mistake in popularity and resultiing outcomes approximation previously, and could not allow that again. To myself at least.

Ah, I hope one great day You could make flight to the Moon in FlightGear - with detalisation of OsgEarth and fifty fps really. But, as with real Moon flights, I do not know if I would be alive then.
Waste of time: too unprofitable for work, too exhausting for hobby.
User avatar
vitos
 
Posts: 615
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Callsign: vitos
IRC name: vitos
Version: 3.4
OS: Debian

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby Hooray » Thu Dec 25, 2014 5:20 pm

vitos wrote in Thu Dec 25, 2014 12:54 pm:Anyoway, modern FG multiplayer would not allow docking with someone else for sure


while definititely not designed for this, you can use generic properties along with the mp_broadcast.nas (wildfire) stuff for such things - you could basically implement an entirely new protocol on top of the existing MP system

PS: I think I am comprehending everything pretty well actually, thanks for worrying though
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11375
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby vitos » Thu Dec 25, 2014 5:38 pm

Hooray wrote in Thu Dec 25, 2014 5:20 pm:PS: I think I am comprehending everything pretty well actually, thanks for worrying though


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cknOAzIIhGY

Did You try to fly supesonic together with someone at multiplayer? As I can remember, any lag causes shift for some meters or even tens of meters. With 8km/s that shift would be one kilometer for each lag. That can be cured by one server accounting fdm for both crafts only, other option is not presented with modern connections - and in modern FG it's not an option.

By the way, that my new plane is not GPL, but free to fly personally - if You do comprehend everything pretty well then for sure You could figure out where to get it and how to fly it. Happy Christmas. Ah, and Lord forbid You to avoid license applied.
Waste of time: too unprofitable for work, too exhausting for hobby.
User avatar
vitos
 
Posts: 615
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Callsign: vitos
IRC name: vitos
Version: 3.4
OS: Debian

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby jarl.arntzen » Thu Dec 25, 2014 10:00 pm

@poweroftwo: Hi. I'm just curious, I've understood that the OsgEarthNext branch will not build on Linux but do you know if fgmindata can be used there at all?
Also, how is it meant to be used? May I simply dump this on top of an existing installation?

Thanks!

poweroftwo wrote in Wed Dec 24, 2014 10:45 pm:updated the rendering dialog to fix the osgEarth enable behavior
change is committed to OsgEarthNext branch of fgdata here:
https://gitorious.org/fg/fgdata-osgearth.git

or available as a minimal set of fgdata here:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/386 ... mindata.7z
Frequent Flyer. Occasional Lander.
jarl.arntzen
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:43 pm
IRC name: Jarl Arntzen
Version: 2017.1.1
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby poweroftwo » Fri Dec 26, 2014 1:28 am

Hi Jarl,

I believe that the OsgEarthNext branch can be built in Linux but seems to require some gyrations to accomplish the setup. see above conversations.

The fgmindata is simply a minimal set of fgdata necessary to run Flightgear, particularly with the osgEarth build without having to download all of the fgdata repository. It contains only a handful of aircraft.

I would not recommend dumping the contents on top of an existing fgdata data set unless you are careful about the merging. There are probably only about a dozen or so files that need to be added/merged to the existing fgdata set.

If you have the fgdata git repository cloned already, you might consider adding a remote pointing to the fgdata-osgearth repository. That would allow you to cleanly manage as a separate branch.


jeff
poweroftwo
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 3:35 am
Location: USA - Alabama

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby namdt40 » Sun Jan 18, 2015 5:11 am

hi, anyone added model or structure build from kml. can you tell me how to do.
I builded flightgear ws osgearth by autobuild script buildFlightGearWin64. and run ok.
But i want to add model 3d, forest .. and i did follow:
1. and them in earth file:
Code: Select all
  <model name="trees" driver="feature_geom" enabled="true">
         
        <!-- Feature data set to load. This is a set of polygons representing
             the public parks in Washington DC -->
             
        <features name="parks" driver="ogr">
            <url>Data\shapefile\Rung\Rung.shp</url>
            <build_spatial_index>true</build_spatial_index>
        </features>
       
        <!-- Instancing enables GL's "DrawInstanced" support. -->
             
        <instancing>true</instancing>
       
        <!-- Disables feature indexing, since the trees are not mapped 1-to-1 to
             real features anyway. -->
        <feature_indexing>false</feature_indexing>
       
        <!-- Fade in new tiles over one second. -->
        <fade_in_duration>1.0</fade_in_duration>
       
     
        <layout>
           
            <level max_range="7000" style="parks-1"/>
            <level max_range="3000" style="parks-2"/>
            <level max_range="1000" style="parks-3"/>
        </layout>
             
        <styles>
            <style type="text/css">
                parks-1 {
                   model:               "Data/model/tree.ive";
                   model-placement:     random;
                   model-density:       1000;
                   model-scale:         2.0;
                   altitude-clamping:   terrain;
                   altitude-resolution: 0.001;
                }           
                parks-2 {
                   model:               "Data/model/tree.ive";
                   model-placement:     random;
                   model-density:       2500;
                   model-scale:         2.5;
                   model-random-seed:   1;
                   altitude-clamping:   terrain;
                   altitude-resolution: 0.001;
                }             
                parks-3 {
                   model:               "Data/model/tree.ive";
                   model-placement:     random;
                   model-density:       5000;
                   model-scale:         1.0
                   model-random-seed:   2;
                   altitude-clamping:   terrain;
                   altitude-resolution: 0.001;
                }               
            </style>
        </styles>       
    </model>

but it not found. im sure path mode "Data/model/tree.ive" is correct.
and i tested my earth file in osgearth_viewer run ok.
2. im using kml to add hose building.
im make mode 3d in sketup and export kmz then upzip it to kml and copy to folder KMLFiles in Scenery\Terrain\OsgEarth\KMLFiles
and my source file:
Code: Select all
EARTH EarthFiles/myearth.earth
KML KMLFiles/doc.kml

in kml file i change file dae with ive file
but i dont found it in scene.
and i test my earth file and kml file in osgearth_viewer: osgearth_viewer myearth.earth --kml doc.kml it show ok
please help me.
thanks
namdt40
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014 1:09 pm

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby poweroftwo » Mon Jan 19, 2015 4:25 pm

namdt40 wrote in Sun Jan 18, 2015 5:11 am:hi, anyone added model or structure build from kml. can you tell me how to do.
I builded flightgear ws osgearth by autobuild script buildFlightGearWin64. and run ok.


In order to place your KML into Flightgear with osgEarth:


1) create a folder under your fgdata folder like this:
fgmindata\Scenery\Terrain\OsgEarth\KMLFiles

2) copy you uncompressed KML folders under KMLFiles

3)run FG

To see loading details, set --log-level=info
poweroftwo
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 3:35 am
Location: USA - Alabama

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby SP-K79 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:47 pm

I have just come across this option of using OsgEarth.

I am using Os X.

Oddly enough I was able to place the *.*.exe file in the FlightGear data folder and extract it.

After this FlightGear did not want to launch.

After adding the specified folder containing the KML folder it does launch but no option of OsgEarth.

Since I am not an advanced programer, please kindly give me step by step directions, or at least let me know if it is possible to run OsgEarth with FlightGear on Os X.

Most sincerely,

Peter
Hue Peter Coal
JAFVA, Vice President
"Never fly where you have not flown in your mind, five minutes age."
User avatar
SP-K79
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:23 pm
Callsign: SP-K79
Version: 3.2.0

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby Hooray » Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:52 pm

the instructions you're looking for involve building FlightGear from source, as per the instructions you can find in this very thread (as well as on the wiki)
While the fgdata part of the overlay is not platform specific, the Windows binary cannot be made to work on OSX, and there are no feasible workarounds at all.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11375
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby SP-K79 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:20 pm

Just to be clear, it is not possible to run OsgEarth with FlightGear on Os X?

Is this correct?
Hue Peter Coal
JAFVA, Vice President
"Never fly where you have not flown in your mind, five minutes age."
User avatar
SP-K79
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:23 pm
Callsign: SP-K79
Version: 3.2.0

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby wlbragg » Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:33 pm

No, what he is saying is you would have to build it from the source per the instructions on this thread or the Wiki.

He is also telling you, "you can't use the pre-compiled windows binaries on OSX", (those are files that will just run on Windows without having to compile or build anything), they are for Windows machines only. So your back to compiling it from source if you want to use it on OSX.

Last time I saw OSX it was capable of running in some kind of a Windows mode, maybe the binaries would run that way?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4988
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby SP-K79 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:53 pm

Got it, thank you very much for clarifying. I appreciate it.
Hue Peter Coal
JAFVA, Vice President
"Never fly where you have not flown in your mind, five minutes age."
User avatar
SP-K79
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:23 pm
Callsign: SP-K79
Version: 3.2.0

Re: Initial FlightGear / OsgEarth integration

Postby poweroftwo » Tue Feb 10, 2015 7:14 pm

SP-K79 wrote in Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:20 pm:Just to be clear, it is not possible to run OsgEarth with FlightGear on Os X?

Is this correct?


I have not yet built Flightgear w/ osgEarth on OS X.

Personally, I run Windows on a VM using Parallels (https://www.parallels.com/) for Mac OS X with very good performance running Flightgear.
poweroftwo
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 3:35 am
Location: USA - Alabama

PreviousNext

Return to osgEarth

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest