Board index FlightGear Support Compiling

Optimized FG release builds?  Topic is solved

Building FlightGear from source, and in the need for help?

Optimized FG release builds?

Postby wlbragg » Sat Nov 22, 2014 5:02 am

I have a long standing problem with custom scenery not workimg with any FlightGear version compiled from GIT. But the same scenery works with virtually all released versions of FlightGear.
Is there some optimization or other switch, proceedure or anything else that is different from a released version of FlightGear and a version we compile from GIT?

2.0 Terrasync scenery works on both release builds and my git builds.
The custom scenery loads fine and I can start flying but then it suddenly crashes

History...
custom scenery
works on 2.12 release, not on 3.0 git
works on 3.0 release, not on 3.1 git
works on 3.1 release, not on 3.2 git
works on 3.2 release, not on 3.3 git

Anyone have any idea what might be the cause or what I should be looking at?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4755
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Optimized FG release builds?

Postby Gijs » Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:05 am

Maybe start by checking the log file for any errors?
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9362
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Optimized FG release builds?

Postby Philosopher » Sat Nov 22, 2014 12:41 pm

What compiler flags are you using to compile?
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Re: Optimized FG release builds?

Postby wlbragg » Sat Nov 22, 2014 4:55 pm

fgfs.log is not telling me anything.

I'm using Clement's download and compile script for Windows.
v1.3.0
Clement de l'Hamaide - Oct 2013

Only --config Release for flags that I can see.

I did post something a while back that may shed light on it. It was a bunch of task-manager/system info screen shots of what was happening with my memory using all the different configurations of FG release vs GIT and Terrasync scenery vs custom.
I don't know that it is really helpful but you may see something obvious or helpful.
http://forum.flightgear.org/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=23256
The thread didn't really produce anything useful but did focus a bit on possible shape file problems.
But the fact that the scenery works just fine with ALL release builds leads me to think it is something in the build/compiling.
Yet Terrasync scenery works fine with my GIT build.
It just doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me.
That's why I was questioning if there is anything that is done differently with release builds.
One thing I haven't tried yet, is to build the final 3.2 from git and see if it works with my custom scenery as the release 3.2 does.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4755
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Optimized FG release builds?

Postby wlbragg » Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:06 am

One thing I haven't tried yet, is to build the final 3.2 from git and see if it works with my custom scenery as the release 3.2 does.


You know it's bad when I start quoting myself.

What I meant is that I haven't tried to build the final Git of 3.2. I did however try compiling 3.2 when 3.1 was the current release version and it didn't work at that time. But as soon as 3.2 was "officially" compiled and released, them my custom scenery worked with it.
Hence, is there some optimization or what is happening with the release versions that make them more robust when handling scenery?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4755
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Optimized FG release builds?

Postby F-JJTH » Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:11 am

There is no difference between the release built and the GIT built created by d&c.bat

You should be able to install the last GIT version from Jenkins built and test if your custom scenery works.
User avatar
F-JJTH
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 11:02 am

Re: Optimized FG release builds?

Postby wlbragg » Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:15 am

Thanks Clement,

I give that a try and see works any better then when I build it.
.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4755
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Optimized FG release builds?

Postby wlbragg » Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:52 am

My custom scenery worked fine with the nightly build.

I just pulled the most recent GIT compiled it and my scenery crashes it after I gain some altitude and start to look around.

Terrasync scenery works fine both ways.

I'm using the same custom fgdata merged with current git for both scenarios.

I'm not sure what to think now?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4755
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Optimized FG release builds?

Postby F-JJTH » Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:01 pm

Hmmm I wonder if your own build is 32bits or 64bits ?

I'm sure release build and jenkins build will automatically install the 64bits binary.
I invite you to investigate in this way.

Feel you free to show me your compilation log (full log please, not just a part)
Also you can show me the .bat script that you use (there is some option that you are invited to change at the top of the file, I would check if you changed anything in wrong way)
Hmmm another thing yet: feel you free to send me the "fgfs.exe" that your compilation has generated that way I can look at some information available.

Well I hope you are near of the solution ;-)
User avatar
F-JJTH
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 11:02 am

Re: Optimized FG release builds?

Postby Hooray » Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:04 pm

F-JJTH wrote in Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:01 pm:Hmmm I wonder if your own build is 32bits or 64bits ?

at some point, we should really expose 32bit/64bit information as a property and display this info in the help/about dialog (maybe even logging the full thing via SG_LOG to the startup log)
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11317
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Optimized FG release builds?

Postby F-JJTH » Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:21 pm

As usual, a merge request is welcome ;-)
User avatar
F-JJTH
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 11:02 am

Re: Optimized FG release builds?

Postby Hooray » Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:40 pm

F-JJTH wrote in Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:21 pm:As usual, a merge request is welcome ;-)


Given that it's primarily Windows users who are typically unable to tell if they're on 32 or 64 bit, this could be fairly simple - and a merge request would be overkill (especially given the project's tendency not to review/commit those within a reasonable time frame < 18 months ...)
Anyway - for Windows, you only need:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/7356 ... t-platform
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1505 ... 4-bit-in-c
Code: Select all
#if _WIN64 || __amd64__
// 64 bit build
std::cout << "64 bit binary";
#else
// 32 bit build
std::cout << "32 bit binary";
#endif


And then, you'd just use something along the lines of

Code: Select all
const int bitness=32; // wrap this in between the pre-processor macro required on Windows
SGPropertyNode* platform = fgGetNode("/sim/platform",true);
platform->setValueReadOnly("bitness", bitness );


For the installer, there's also a dedicated API to tell if a program is run in 32 bit mode on a 64 bit host: http://stackoverflow.com/a/7011144
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11317
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Optimized FG release builds?

Postby wlbragg » Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:01 pm

Hmmm I wonder if your own build is 32bits or 64bits ?


This seems the most likely culprit now that you mentioned it.

I build 32bit because I don't have the 64 bit compiler. My system is 64 bit.
I'm pretty sure all the release including nightly are 64bit

Let me work on getting the 64 bit compiler working and see if that fixes this.

If not then I can proceed to providing you data if you want.

I don't think I would have ever caught 32 vs 64 being an issue
Thank you for your help.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4755
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Optimized FG release builds?

Postby wlbragg » Wed Nov 26, 2014 5:29 pm

I thought I might have the 64bit compiler for command line, and that it was just not configured for IDE. Apparently I don't.

This question isn't extremely important, but if you have an answer for it I would appreciate knowing.

When compiling using "x86_amd64" BOOST, CGAL and OSG all report
The specified configuration type is missing. The tools for the
configuration might not be installed.

yet SIMGEAR and FLIGHTGEAR go ahead and try to compile yet fail.

Why wouldn't SIMGEAR and FLIGHTGEAR report the same as BOOST, CGAL and OSG?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4755
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Optimized FG release builds?

Postby F-JJTH » Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:40 pm

Being a Linux user I have almost no skills with Windows, just enough to do what I want (manage Windows build on Jenkins), so I'm sorry but I don't have answer here.
User avatar
F-JJTH
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 11:02 am

Next

Return to Compiling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests