Board index FlightGear Support Compiling

CMake issues with Windows

Building FlightGear from source, and in the need for help?

CMake issues with Windows

Postby jeffbsanders » Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:46 pm

I am trying to use CMake to generate a project / solution to compile using Visula Studio 2010. Getting lots of CMake errors.
Working with Flight Gear source 2.8, as well os the other related projects.
I have set up the folders as described on "Building using CMake - Windows" but not having much luck.
Any suggestions?
Thanks
jeffbsanders
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:23 pm

Re: CMake issues with Windows

Postby Hooray » Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:48 pm

Hi & welcome,

unfortunately, you'll probably continue not having much luck unless you care to provide us with the exact errors you are getting, because we would otherwise have to resort to guessing instead.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: CMake issues with Windows

Postby jeffbsanders » Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:52 pm

For starters:
------------------------------------------
CMake Error at C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/CPack.cmake:311 (set):
Syntax error in cmake code at

C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/CPack.cmake:311

when parsing string

D:\Projects\FlightGear\install\msvc100\FlightGear

Invalid escape sequence \P
Call Stack (most recent call first):
C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/CPack.cmake:522 (cpack_set_if_not_set)
CMakeLists.txt:52 (include)
---------------------------------------------------
I am clearly a newbee to cmake.
jeffbsanders
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:23 pm

Re: CMake issues with Windows

Postby Hooray » Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:53 pm

this would suggest that you are probably using an outdated version of cmake, what version are you using ?
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: CMake issues with Windows

Postby F-JJTH » Fri Jan 31, 2014 12:26 am

Reading the path << C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake 2.8 >> I would they he uses CMake version 2.8 :D
of course there is 2.8.12, 2.8.11, 2.8.10, 2.8.9, 2.8.8, 2.8.7, 2.8.6, 2.8.5, 2.8.4, 2.8.3, 2.8.2, 2.8.1, 2.8.0 but even 2.8.0 is "relatively" recent and enough for building FG I guess.

Anyway, I would recommand to use the Superbuild: http://wiki.flightgear.org/Superbuild

Regards,
Clément
User avatar
F-JJTH
 
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 12:02 pm

Re: CMake issues with Windows

Postby Hooray » Fri Jan 31, 2014 12:48 am

right about the DATA path, but that doesn't say anything about the cmake binary.
Then again, it seems that this could just as well be about an unescaped windows path - i.e. the "\P" part would fit "C:\Program Files" for example, if not properly escaped.
Better also post the offending cmakelists.txt
If in doubt, I would build 2.99/3.0 or at least 2.12 instead, to make sure that there are not any cmake issues involved on the FG side of things.
I do not quite recall when cmake was added, but I remember that things were not exactly straightforward in the beginning.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: CMake issues with Windows

Postby F-JJTH » Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:10 am

Indeed you are right, D:\Projects seems to be problematic here.
Sorry for the noise

Regards,
Clément
User avatar
F-JJTH
 
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 12:02 pm

Re: CMake issues with Windows

Postby jeffbsanders » Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:12 am

once I set up the folders and files as described in "Building using CMake - Windows" , do I need to edit any of the CMakel files?
jeffbsanders
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:23 pm

Re: CMake issues with Windows

Postby Hooray » Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:18 am

nope, you would typically configure cmake via the cmake GUI or via command line arguments
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: CMake issues with Windows

Postby jeffbsanders » Fri Jan 31, 2014 2:28 am

Thanks for the replies. I am using CMake 2.8, and flight gear 2.8.
jeffbsanders
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:23 pm

Re: CMake issues with Windows

Postby jeffbsanders » Fri Jan 31, 2014 2:31 am

would it be worth while to go with a newer version of CMake and/or Flight Gear?
jeffbsanders
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:23 pm

Re: CMake issues with Windows

Postby Hooray » Fri Jan 31, 2014 2:42 am

it's not a bad idea to get the latest & greatest FG version - people building from source, should have a better experience, but you don't need to touch any files.
And feel free to try the superbuild first.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: CMake issues with Windows

Postby jeffbsanders » Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:55 am

Thanks to all for the replies. Very much appreciated.

I am using CMake 2.8.12.

Also I tries to GIT the superbuild using "git clone --recursive git://gitorious.org/fg/fgmeta.git" on several computers, withOUT success, using GitBash and GitGui and even from the cmd box.
I get the error message:

fatal: unable to connect to gitorious.org:
gitorious.org[0: 87.238.52.168]: errno=No error

My firewall is off. I am running Windows 7 SP1, got LOTS of memory, disk space & horsepower.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
jeffbsanders
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:23 pm

Re: CMake issues with Windows

Postby Hooray » Sat Feb 01, 2014 1:16 am

ping'ed gitorious to see if you can reach the domain ?
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: CMake issues with Windows

Postby jeffbsanders » Sat Feb 01, 2014 2:14 am

Pinged gitorious.org. I get replies
jeffbsanders
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:23 pm

Next

Return to Compiling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest