Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Liveries

The Case of the Dirty Wing

Discussion of aircraft textures and liveries

The Case of the Dirty Wing

Postby E-Savageair » Wed Oct 22, 2008 8:17 pm

Hello,

For now, the Frontier plane is flying only in my airspace. But I do have a problem when working on the 737-300:
I notice on the wings and in the cockpit, I have livery in those places. Is this because the United plane is a default plane that I have to use?
(I use the DLH livery because the body is easy to paint on) or am I missing a step between the png and rgb files?

Like to hear from you,
ESA
E-Savageair
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:36 am
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Callsign: ESA
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: The Case of the Dirty Wing

Postby fgfs_fanatic » Thu Oct 23, 2008 5:56 pm

This is due to wrong mapping of textures. You ud have to remap the textures to get the right look
fgfs_fanatic
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 3:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Re: The Case of the Dirty Wing

Postby E-Savageair » Fri Oct 24, 2008 8:51 am

Thank for your help. :) After I made my plea for help I went back to AC3D and tried remapping those areas affected.
As it turned out, it did the trick I got those clusters of junk off the wings and more importantly out of the cockpit area.
So there's hope.

Again thank, you :wink:
ESA
E-Savageair
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:36 am
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Callsign: ESA
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: The Case of the Dirty Wing

Postby gooneybird » Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:06 am

What program are you using to do your liveries :?:

I really like the Frontier and Continental liveries but I can't see the need to alter the .ac file.

If you want a blank 737-300 texture file I can let you have one I've done.
gooneybird
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:57 pm

Re: The Case of the Dirty Wing

Postby E-Savageair » Fri Oct 24, 2008 2:50 pm

Hello,
Thanks for your help, :) I can use a blank slate and that would help alot. I Use Inkscape and the Gimp for my livery work, and I go to AC3D to see how it
all fits together and make changes as possible, but it's kind of strange to see clusters of livery in the wrong places and have to remap them.

Again, thank you for all your help and will have more planes soon.

Till Then,
ESA
E-Savageair
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:36 am
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Callsign: ESA
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: The Case of the Dirty Wing

Postby gooneybird » Fri Oct 24, 2008 4:53 pm

Hi E-Savageair

E-Savageair wrote: I go to AC3D to see how it all fits together and make changes as possible


That's where you are going wrong, you should make any adjustments in in Inkscape or The Gimp, not AC3D.
If you do any alterations in AC3D you cannot use the default .ac file with that texture, the result of that is what you are getting now. You can use it to view the texture but not alter it.

The set up I use is Inkscape to do the texture and 3DViewer (http://www.xs4all.nl/~karelse/3DViewer/) to view it, with all adjustments done in Inkscape.

I hope this helps, If you want any more information just shout.
Last edited by gooneybird on Mon Nov 17, 2008 9:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
gooneybird
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:57 pm

Re: The Case of the Dirty Wing

Postby E-Savageair » Fri Oct 24, 2008 5:28 pm

Hello again,

To clearify, I only use The Gimp and Inkscape to make changes. AC3D I only used for remaping. But what you said is correct and will be using
the 3D view and the blank UAii to very good use.

Thank for all of your help.

Till Then, :wink:
ESA.
E-Savageair
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:36 am
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Callsign: ESA
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: The Case of the Dirty Wing

Postby E-Savageair » Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:31 pm

Hello, again thanks for the help GooneyBird with everything. However, I'm still expericening those quips while I'm painting, the ones I thought I had a handle on. I'll keep working the problem out till it's solved, but if you or anyone else know anything, your help is appreicated.

Thank you :)
ESA
E-Savageair
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:36 am
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Callsign: ESA
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: The Case of the Dirty Wing

Postby gooneybird » Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:46 pm

E-Savageair wrote:Hello, again thanks for the help GooneyBird with everything. However, I'm still expericening those quips while I'm painting, the ones I thought I had a handle on. I'll keep working the problem out till it's solved, but if you or anyone else know anything, your help is appreicated.

Thank you :)
ESA


What is the problem :?:
gooneybird
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:57 pm

Re: The Case of the Dirty Wing

Postby E-Savageair » Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:42 pm

I decided to repaint the United livery on the blank page and checking the progress using the 3D Viewer, I can still see the livery on the wings and landing gear that I had before with the Continental plane.
E-Savageair
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:36 am
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Callsign: ESA
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: The Case of the Dirty Wing

Postby gooneybird » Fri Oct 31, 2008 8:12 pm

It sounds like you are using the 737-300.ac file that you had altered in AC3D.

Have you got a backup unaltered file you can use? If not download the file again and use that.


This is the method I use.

Copy the "737-300.ac" file and the "733UAii.rgb" texture file into a new folder and use that for working in.

Open the "737-300.ac" file in a text editor and change all instances "733UAii.rgb" to "733UAii.png" then save it.

Convert the "733UAii.rgb" or the blank template to an .png file and open in Inkscape, then use this as your base layer.

When testing the file, export it as "733UAii.png" and open the 737-300.ac file in 3dviewer, you keep doing this until you get it right.

When finished, convert the png to rgb (if you are using cvs there is no need to do this) and write the .xml file and go flying.

This way there is no need to touch the original .ac file.

I hope this makes sense to you :?
gooneybird
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:57 pm


Return to Liveries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests