Board index FlightGear Development

Cockpit in a box with arduino

FlightGear is opensource, so you can be the developer. In the need for help on anything? We are here to help you.
Forum rules
Core development is discussed on the official FlightGear-Devel development mailing list.

Bugs can be reported in the bug tracker.

Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby falafel » Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:56 pm

Image

falafel
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:42 am
Callsign: falafel
Version: 2
OS: Linux

Re: Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby falafel » Sun Feb 27, 2011 4:53 pm

Added two more buttons for left/right gear brakes.

falafel
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:42 am
Callsign: falafel
Version: 2
OS: Linux

Re: Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby falafel » Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:49 pm

I added a lot of switches and some more dials.
I also modified the protocol to fit some functions for TOMCAT F-14B.

Image

falafel
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:42 am
Callsign: falafel
Version: 2
OS: Linux

Re: Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby brisa » Fri Mar 11, 2011 5:47 pm

very very nice job ... a question ....
did you use two or one way switches ?
User avatar
brisa
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 7:32 pm
Location: Olgiate Comasco (CO) Italy
Callsign: brisa

Re: Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby falafel » Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:12 pm

I used two way switches, but I only linked one side. I put ground in the middle and the digital input in one side. I used software pullups.
falafel
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:42 am
Callsign: falafel
Version: 2
OS: Linux

Re: Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby pommesschranke » Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:43 pm

did you upload the sorcecode and the protocol somewhere ?

I'm just thinking about the advantages and disadvantages between
USB HID(joystick) and USB serial communication between FG and arduino...
arduino or Raspberry Pi with Ethernet is another option

so many ideas , so little time :-)
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby ctesc356 » Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:13 am

Congratulations!

Another cockpit project based on Arduino:
http://embaranger.free.fr/viewtopic.php?id=920
ctesc356
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:20 am

Re: Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby Hooray » Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:15 am

We should add a new section to the newsletter for people doing this sort of thing with FG.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11298
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby pommesschranke » Sat Dec 07, 2013 11:10 am

We should add a new section to the forum so all Flightgear hardware hackers and home cockpit (aka "simpit") builders can meet there.

The unit that I'm building will be 48 x 13 cm and include EFIS, MCP(FCU) and com/nav radio.
status:
* panel layout started with inkscape
* almost all parts are here, still waiting for rotary encoders and a "Leonardo Pro Micro" controller

2 more hardware ideas in the pipeline:
* a joystick which does not center
* a thottle quadrant for speed-brakes, throttle, reverse and flaps
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby ludomotico » Sat Dec 07, 2013 1:38 pm

pommesschranke wrote in Sat Dec 07, 2013 11:10 am:We should add a new section to the forum so all Flightgear hardware hackers and home cockpit (aka "simpit") builders can meet there.


I agree. I'm also in the planning phase of an Arduino cockpit, and sharing our experiences and knowledge will be very interesting. Besides, building a "simpit" seems a natural activity for any flight sim hobbyist!

I have currently all the materials for a twin engine cockpit, and I'm just waiting for the Christmas recess to "wire the cables". I'm planning to build the electrical panel, the comm panel and an autopilot. I'm still unsure if using an Arduino UNO for each panel or just a single Arduino Mega.
User avatar
ludomotico
 
Posts: 1007
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:01 pm
Version: git
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby pommesschranke » Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:56 am

Combined EFIS, FCU, Radio panel

work in progress, first picture:

Image

buttons, switches, rotary encoders will follow...
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby ludomotico » Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:15 pm

pommesschranke, your panel looks amazing! I'm interested in propellers, and my current panel only includes switches. This is my test panel in a cookie box! (will be moved to a MDF box when finished :) )

Image

I'm having problems to locate a rotatory selector like the one you use to select VOR/NAV/ILS... Can you point me to some place to search for them?
User avatar
ludomotico
 
Posts: 1007
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:01 pm
Version: git
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby Hooray » Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:34 pm

I've forwarded your subforum request, so it should be just a matter of days now ... it's not a bad idea having a dedicated place for this sort of stuff, you may also want to add some related news to the newsletter, your screen shots definitely look interesting!
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11298
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby pommesschranke » Wed Dec 11, 2013 5:35 pm

Thank you, ludomotico & Hooray !

ludomotico:
I'm using Lorlin rotary wafer switch. they are adjustable everyting between 2 and 12 positions (30° per step)
https://www.distrelec.com/ishopWebFront ... 22196.html

Is your box already connected to FG ?
If yes, how did you do it ?
I found various arduino libraries for rotary encoders. Maybe just try mjoy16 if I find the sourcecode version that fits to the user manual that I have :-)
For my 2x 32 alphanumeric display I use Atmega32 at the moment - already most ports are used for that display. Either I use 74HC595 as (out)port expander or buy a Mega 2560.
54 IO pins - will that be enough ? :)
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Cockpit in a box with arduino

Postby pommesschranke » Thu Dec 12, 2013 3:09 pm

my thoughts about connecting all switches , buttons, LEDs, display to one microcontroller:

http://blog.cipworx.org/laserman/2013/1 ... -many-ios/
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Next

Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron