Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Possibility to run a fully automatized mission ?

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Possibility to run a fully automatized mission ?

Postby Peter_TLSE » Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:23 am

Good morning all,

I am a new to FG and have not been able to find an answer to this question:

Is it possible to make a complete automatized mission, from engine start to engine shutdown ?
Can it be managed from the Auto-Pilot?

The idea is to change parameters in the Aircraft and to see differences in performances.
So, to make it a fair comparison, I wanted to avoid human inputs.

Thank you for your help.

Kind regards,


Peter
Peter_TLSE
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:41 am

Re: Possibility to run a fully automatized mission ?

Postby macnab » Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:13 pm

Not really. You could write an external script that gets you off the ground and engages the auto-pilot, but the auto-pilot won't get you safely on the ground.

So you would have to sit and watch and take over at the end.

Choose an aircraft with a fully working Flight Management System. Choose a destination airport with a CAT III ILS.

This is my humble opinion.
macnab
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:20 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Callsign: ZS-ILH
Version: Git
OS: Win7Pro 64bit SP1

Re: Possibility to run a fully automatized mission ?

Postby sim » Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:17 pm

I wanted to avoid human inputs.

Very wise! :D On the other hand you still rely on things they built! :roll:
User avatar
sim
 
Posts: 1445
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:13 pm
Location: Shropshire England
Callsign: Fly4Fun
Version: 0.9.10 up
OS: 64 Win 10 HD6450

Re: Possibility to run a fully automatized mission ?

Postby Berserker » Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:49 am

Osjcag has a tutorial where you can land a plane automatically :mrgreen:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=788Xqj4teWw
Favorite Planes on FG: F-14, A-10, A-4, A-6, F-18, Cessna Skymaster, MiG-21, MiG-15, Mirage 2000, and the B-1B.

Only the dead have seen the end of war - Plato
User avatar
Berserker
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: U.S.A
Callsign: Ironman
Version: 3.2
OS: Mac OS X

Re: Possibility to run a fully automatized mission ?

Postby Hooray » Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:49 am

Is it possible to make a complete automatized mission, from engine start to engine shutdown ?


Yes, it is possible "to make" such a mission - but you will literally have to MAKE it by writing a script to outline all required steps for your aircraft.
Curt did that a while back for the f14b, which did a fully automated carrier approach using just Nasal scripting:

http://diydrones.com/profiles/blogs/uas ... simulation
http://www.mail-archive.com/flightgear- ... 33987.html
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewto ... =4&t=13615


http://www.flightgear.org/tours/carrier-ops/

Another example is the "tanker.nas" script in $FG_ROOT which implements a simple scripted AI tanker for AAR purposes: search.php?st=0&sk=t&sd=d&sr=posts&keywords=tanker.nas
http://www.mail-archive.com/search?q=ta ... eforge.net

And then we have the fox2.nas script which implements a fox2 AI missile using Nasal: search.php?st=0&sk=t&sd=d&sr=posts&keywords=fox2.nas

The "bombable" addon is completely implemented in Nasal and created multiple virtual pilots for dogfighting purposes: http://wiki.flightgear.org/Bombable

Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11375
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests