Board index FlightGear Support

using FGpanel to display various instruments and electrics

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

using FGpanel to display various instruments and electrics

Postby miroslav.segvic » Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:39 pm

ORIGINAL POST:

win XP
FG 2805
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128ram

I'm having problem with fgpanel and multiple display on Panel computer

I can stretch panel window over the width of display.
I can pull it on to other display.
But i cannot stretch the FGPanel window over both displays. it doesn't allow me to stretch fgpanel window more than maximum width of widest monitor

Solved by using stretching instead of extending monitors in catalyst control panel

PRESENT TOPIC:

How to display various instruments in fgpanel: - configuring panel protocol.xml file using instrument.xml file and problems

Current problem: - how to display three green using FGpanel.
If anyone has solution, or xml files, please help.
Last edited by miroslav.segvic on Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.
miroslav.segvic
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:27 pm

Re: FGPanel stretch over extended desktop

Postby miroslav.segvic » Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:59 pm

Problem solved.
I streched the display instead of using the extended display.

New problem:

how to make instruments form other aircraft(c172p hi and vor1, DME) work on seneca panel?

Regards
miroslav.segvic
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:27 pm

Re: FGPanel stretch over extended desktop

Postby miroslav.segvic » Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:52 am

OK i must ask.. Does anybody live here???

Problem with non working glide slope solved adding the glideslope property to vor2-c172s, from hsi-bk-hi.
<nav-gs-needle-deflection>instrumentation/kcs55/ki525/gs-deflection</nav-gs-needle-deflection>

Problem with non working c172 heading indicator solved by changing line in panel protocol.xml
from instrumentation/kcs55/kg102/indicated-heading-deg
to instrumentation/heading-indicator/indicated-heading-deg

One thing i can't do is make c172 hi heading bug, work on seneca panel.
i figure problem lies in protocol but i don't know what to change and how? anybody?

Code: Select all
<chunk>
        <type>float</type>
        <format>%.4e</format>
        <node>instrumentation/heading-indicator/indicated-heading-deg</node>
      </chunk>
      <!--<chunk><type>float</type><format>%.4e</format><node>instrumentation/kcs55/kg102/flag-norm</node></chunk>-->
      <chunk>
        <type>float</type>
        <format>%.4e</format>
        <node>instrumentation/kcs55/ki525/selected-heading-deg</node>
      </chunk>
      <chunk>
        <type>float</type>
        <format>%.4e</format>
        <node>autopilot/settings/heading-bug-deg</node>
      </chunk>
      <chunk>
Last edited by Gijs on Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: [code] tags on code please.
miroslav.segvic
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:27 pm

Re: FGPanel stretch over extended desktop

Postby Gijs » Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:27 pm

Hi Miroslav,

no, we don't "live" at the forum, we're just occasional visitors ;-)

One thing i can't do is make c172 hi heading bug, work on seneca panel.

I've been re-reading your post a few times, but I find it very difficult to understand what you're trying to do. Maybe you can reword your question?

Cheers,
Gijs
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9363
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: FGPanel stretch over extended desktop

Postby Johan G » Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:45 pm

Gijs wrote in Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:27 pm:...we don't "live" at the forum, we're just occasional visitors ;-)

Speak for yourself, will you. :wink: :lol:
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 5480
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7, 32 bit

Re: FGPanel stretch over extended desktop

Postby miroslav.segvic » Sat Oct 20, 2012 12:28 pm

Good to know i'm not speaking to myself. :)

I had problem with adapting instruments from c172 2D panel to work on senecaII 2D panel in fgpanel. I solved it other way. Instead of adapting the protocol file i adapted the instrument xml files and it worked.
One thing i didn't manage to do is make c172 heading indicator work properly on senecaII panel. i solved this last night by striping down the BK-HSI to be just heading indicator.
Reason why i'm doing this is to make 2D panel of piper Seminole -PA-44 for which i will make trainer for.
http://www.a-tradex.com/images/seminole2882c2.jpg

One thing i don't know how to do and i'm hoping that there are experts here which will know is:
how to adapt panel protocol and instruments files to display nav1, nav2, com1, com2, adf, dme information on 2d panel in fgpanel.
Reason for this is that i want to use second monitor as radio stack instead of building one myself. i find it elegant and simpler solution + cheaper to build.

i think that someone posted similar idea asking help recently but didn't get any answer yet.
please tell me if you don't understand what i'm trying, i will try to elaborate.
miroslav.segvic
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:27 pm

Re: FGPanel stretch over extended desktop

Postby miroslav.segvic » Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:43 pm

So i discovered the last part of ifr-panel file that was comment, and i'm using it to display com/nav 1, 2, adf, dme, transponder.
next i', gonna try to make protocol changes to make it work.
miroslav.segvic
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:27 pm

Re: FGPanel stretch over extended desktop

Postby miroslav.segvic » Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:47 pm

i managed to change the panel protocol to display frequencies on COMNAV 1,2, DME, but not ADF yet will continue tomorow.
if anybody has panel protocol xml for ADF kr-87 properties?
would help much.
if not.. i'll figure it out eventualy..

btw this is now way off topic, the topic should be configuring panel protocol for various aircraft instruments and devices.

Does anyone know how to display three green using fgpanel?
miroslav.segvic
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:27 pm

Re: using FGpanel to display various instruments and electri

Postby bishb25 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:02 am

Not sure exactly what you want to do, but you mentioned something about the seneca panel.

how to make instruments form other aircraft(c172p hi and vor1, DME) work on seneca panel?

There is already a Seneca panel for FGpanel

data/Aircraft/SenecaII/Panels/Panel1.xml
data/Aircraft/SenecaII/Panels/Panel1Protocol.xml

Use "Panel1" in your fgpanel command and "Panel1Protocol" in you fgfs command.

you'll probably have to turn "game mode" off in Panel1.xml
Code: Select all
<game-mode type="bool">false</game-mode>

To work on the same machine as FG I had to change "host" to
Code: Select all
<host>localhost</host>

Good luck with your endeavor! Please share your findings with the rest of us. I'd love to see a write up and pics of your finished setup.
Callsign: cncman
"The only thing smart about me... I know where to find the answers." I think?
bishb25
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:11 pm
Location: 10mi southwest of KLBE
Callsign: cncman
Version: GIT
OS: Linux

Re: using FGpanel to display various instruments and electri

Postby miroslav.segvic » Mon Oct 22, 2012 11:59 pm

thank you.

i will post some pictures, just don't know where because i can't do it directly here.
as per findings.
i wrote in each post what problem i'm dealing with currently and what is the solution to previous problem.
There were a lot of problems and now there is a lot of useful information.
I'm sorry there is no way to share that now except these posts.
But if anybody finds his problem in these posts and doesn't understand how i solved it, feel free to ask further explanation.

For now i've managed to:

setup 2d panel of piper seminole pa-44 by adapting the existing panel of piper seneca with some cessna instruments.
i am also using fgpanel to display nav/com, adf and dme radios because i find that much simpler solution than building actual stack with seven segment displays ect..

now i'm waiting for two atmega8-16 to arrive from china to make switch panel and yoke and pedals interface.
meanwhile i'm going to try to make moulds for yoke and pedals and make them from polyester coated with gelcoat.

i find 200$ price for yoke and pedals just too much for such a PMPT.
miroslav.segvic
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:27 pm

Re: using FGpanel to display various instruments and electri

Postby someguy » Tue Oct 23, 2012 2:43 am

I'm waiting for someone to write an app that will display instruments on an iPad over wifi or Bluetooth, or even USB, while the rest of the simulation runs on my Mac. Naturally, the controls would respond to touch gestures.
User avatar
someguy
 
Posts: 1653
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:54 am
Location: USA
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X 10.11


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests