Board index FlightGear Development

Blender 2.6 AC3D Importer & Exporter

FlightGear is opensource, so you can be the developer. In the need for help on anything? We are here to help you.
Forum rules
Core development is discussed on the official FlightGear-Devel development mailing list.

Bugs can be reported in the bug tracker.

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby LesterBoffo » Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:58 pm

Sorry for hi-jacking this, just wanted to know more about 2.6 before committing to another 3D program.
User avatar
LesterBoffo
 
Posts: 2104
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:02 pm
Location: Western USA
Callsign: LesBof
Version: 2016.1
OS: WinXP 32 bit

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby majic79 » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:43 pm

LesterBoffo wrote in Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:58 pm:Sorry for hi-jacking this, just wanted to know more about 2.6 before committing to another 3D program.


That's fair enough - but this thread is here to help people to use a plugin that I've developed for a popular 3D modelling application - I had similar questions when I was looking for a modelling application and discovered that Blender is both well recommended and well supported - this plugin is my little corner to support it as well :D

Just doing my bit to try and stop the discussion going too far off track 8)
Last edited by majic79 on Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
majic79
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 8:40 pm
Callsign: majic79
Version: 2_4_0
OS: GNU/Linux

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby gooneybird » Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:05 pm

LesterBoffo wrote in Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:58 pm:Sorry for hi-jacking this, just wanted to know more about 2.6 before committing to another 3D program.


You should give it a go, I'm finding 2.5/6 a lot easier than previous versions, I could not get my head around them with all that small print :(

Metasequoia, That brings back memories of win 95/8 and a program called FMS (I think) :lol:

Sorry about the hijack continuation majic79 :wink:
gooneybird
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:57 pm

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby majic79 » Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:48 pm

The nicest thing about blender is that the GUI is pretty much fully customiseable - both in terms of layout as well as picking colour schemes to suit your eyes and working environment

Anyway - back on track - can you give that a try now Emmanuel? Tweaked the export routine to pull in rotation and translation factors - think I may need to add scaling factors as testing your .blend file seemed to put one of your drawing faces in the wrong orientation (and I can't see why)

Bedtime for me, but that mod should cover most things. I'll work out if I need to do anything with delta_ properties or if I can use matrix_local as the base for the export (which is another, imperfect, option)
majic79
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 8:40 pm
Callsign: majic79
Version: 2_4_0
OS: GNU/Linux

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby helijah » Thu Oct 27, 2011 10:18 pm

Wow ! It's very better :)

the wheels are very small: (

And of course still no texture:)

Here is an improved version with the file texture for your test. Thanks

http://helijah.free.fr/blender/mb5.tar.gz

Oh, one little remark. Once exported, impossible to import :(

Regards. Emmanuel
Some planes (and other) for FlightGear
http://helijah.free.fr
and
http://embaranger.free.fr
User avatar
helijah
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:35 pm
Location: Chartres (France)
Callsign: helijah
IRC name: helijah
Version: GIT
OS: GNU/Linux

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby LesterBoffo » Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:34 am

gooneybird wrote in Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:05 pm:
LesterBoffo wrote in Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:58 pm:Sorry for hi-jacking this, just wanted to know more about 2.6 before committing to another 3D program.


You should give it a go, I'm finding 2.5/6 a lot easier than previous versions, I could not get my head around them with all that small print :(

Metasequoia, That brings back memories of win 95/8 and a program called FMS (I think) :lol:

Sorry about the hijack continuation majic79 :wink:


Well yes, I still have a lot of my fms original models in .mqo from my old FMS making days. And it exports to .cob which both Blender and Truespace open.
User avatar
LesterBoffo
 
Posts: 2104
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:02 pm
Location: Western USA
Callsign: LesBof
Version: 2016.1
OS: WinXP 32 bit

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby LesterBoffo » Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:45 am

Well Emmanuel the MB5 exported .ac file isn't causing any problems when opened in either AC3D or Blender on my machine?
User avatar
LesterBoffo
 
Posts: 2104
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:02 pm
Location: Western USA
Callsign: LesBof
Version: 2016.1
OS: WinXP 32 bit

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby gooneybird » Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:56 pm

LesterBoffo wrote in Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:34 am:Well yes, I still have a lot of my fms original models in .mqo from my old FMS making days. And it exports to .cob which both Blender and Truespace open.


Do you have any models that could be useful as AI aircraft, I used a few FMS models in FlightGear in the past to populate my own airspace, here's a small selection:
Image
gooneybird
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:57 pm

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby dr1 » Mon Nov 21, 2011 6:26 pm

any word on the status of the UV/Image exporting?
dr1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby majic79 » Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:49 pm

Sorry - been very busy with personal things, not managed to get much further than when I last updated this - I managed to get a basic UV mapping system working, but it doesn't copy the images to the same location as the .ac file (next job - not a biggy, just lack of time)
majic79
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 8:40 pm
Callsign: majic79
Version: 2_4_0
OS: GNU/Linux

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby helijah » Wed Nov 23, 2011 8:44 pm

LesterBoffo wrote in Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:45 am:Well Emmanuel the MB5 exported .ac file isn't causing any problems when opened in either AC3D or Blender on my machine?


I use the import scipt of Magic79, but the export script of _run_. and after I edit the .ac file to remove all "/.. /" in the paths of textures

Regards. Emmanuel
Some planes (and other) for FlightGear
http://helijah.free.fr
and
http://embaranger.free.fr
User avatar
helijah
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:35 pm
Location: Chartres (France)
Callsign: helijah
IRC name: helijah
Version: GIT
OS: GNU/Linux

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby agor » Wed Dec 14, 2011 8:01 am

Ok, i tried this:
Empty project, add Mesh -> Cube, export to ac3.
It doesn't export. I am using Blender 2.6 for Linux.
(And i can't figure out how to attach the image, sorry for that.

Cheers.
agor
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:14 am

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby majic79 » Thu Dec 29, 2011 11:31 pm

sorry for the slow updates - having been wrapped up with work and pressures on the run up to xmas - I've been a bit out of touch.

Sadly a busy month ahead of me and only a few days to relax, I may be able to spend some more time refining these scripts

How is it not exporting? 2.6 changed some user interface features, so I need to modify some of what I'm doing to make it work (I thought I had it all licked, but I guess I missed something)

Oh, it looks like I need to add some scaling to make some of the import/export work properly as well (it works, but it doesn't scale, so it's not perfect)
majic79
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 8:40 pm
Callsign: majic79
Version: 2_4_0
OS: GNU/Linux

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby helijah » Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:17 am

majic79 wrote in Thu Dec 29, 2011 11:31 pm:sorry for the slow updates - having been wrapped up with work and pressures on the run up to xmas - I've been a bit out of touch.


No problem majic79, your work is already enormous. Oh ! and in fact, happy new year !

Regards. Emmanuel
Some planes (and other) for FlightGear
http://helijah.free.fr
and
http://embaranger.free.fr
User avatar
helijah
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:35 pm
Location: Chartres (France)
Callsign: helijah
IRC name: helijah
Version: GIT
OS: GNU/Linux

Re: Blender 2.6 AC3D importer

Postby agor » Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:46 pm

No worries majic79.
I traced it down, the problem was that i was using a modified version of blender that supports yafaray.
I tested it with blender 2.61 and it exports fine.
But when I exported an aircraft model i created for flightgear, it comes out upside down :lol: .
Maybe it has to do with the blender version...
Happy new year and keep up the good work.
agor
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:14 am

PreviousNext

Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests