Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

Can´t see other planes  Topic is solved

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Can´t see other planes

Postby D-WOLF » Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:23 pm

Hello,
I´ve started playing multiplayer a few days ago - but I can not see any other planes. I am on the multiplayer map, I can hear the other pilots chatting, and I am seen
by them (at least by the ATC), but I can´t see them. I use mpserver03, and I have written 5000 in the in- and out-box, and ticked the AI-Models-Box in Fg-Run. I have read that this is sometimes the case when Fg-Run uses the computername instead of the IP-Adress, so I tried to find my IP-Adress in the internet, but if I use it I can´t even hear the other pilots, and my pilot list is empty.
Do you have any idea what I´m doing wrong?
Thanks for helping
D-WOLF
D-WOLF
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:07 pm

Re: Can´t see other planes

Postby chris_blues » Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:31 pm

Welcome to FlightGear!

Have you tried another server? Some of them don't work so well...
Don't hesitate to let me know if I'm incorrect or just annoying! As long as you do it gently! :)
Debian testing 64bit - Athlon II 2x2.6GHz - 8GB RAM - GeForce GTS 450
Citation II
User avatar
chris_blues
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 1:30 pm
Location: claws of real life
Callsign: chris_blues
Version: GIT
OS: Debian 8 64

Re: Can´t see other planes

Postby D-WOLF » Sun Jan 02, 2011 3:53 pm

Yes, I just tried server 01, and it´s the same problem.
D-WOLF
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:07 pm

Re: Can´t see other planes  

Postby chris_blues » Sun Jan 02, 2011 4:17 pm

I suppose you use fgrun aka FlightGearWizard? I remember, that in most cases the
Code: Select all
--multiplay=in,10,yourhost,5000
is not necessary, but fgrun writes it anyway. It helps to remove the "yourhost" from the in line. like
Code: Select all
--multiplay=in,10,,5000 (yes, no space between the commas)


This is my commandline anyway. It works just fine here...
Code: Select all
--multiplay=out,10,mpserver01.flightgear.org,5000
--callsign=chris_blues


Hope this helps a bit...
Don't hesitate to let me know if I'm incorrect or just annoying! As long as you do it gently! :)
Debian testing 64bit - Athlon II 2x2.6GHz - 8GB RAM - GeForce GTS 450
Citation II
User avatar
chris_blues
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 1:30 pm
Location: claws of real life
Callsign: chris_blues
Version: GIT
OS: Debian 8 64

Re: Can´t see other planes

Postby D-WOLF » Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:56 pm

Yeah, that worked. Strange thing...
Thank you very much.
D-WOLF
D-WOLF
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:07 pm

Re: Can´t see other planes

Postby Ernest1984 » Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:13 am

Hello.

I can't see other planes in multiplayer, i tried to solve it by the method mentioned above but didn't helped...

Image

Check out player list:
Image

Image
Some names even duplicate... :roll: :?:
EPWA-hub: ERJ-195 clsgn: ERNIE
-----------------------------------
Around The World with B1900D!
callsign: AROUNDw - currently suspended till the FG will have a proper look on different locations
User avatar
Ernest1984
 
Posts: 438
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 3:47 pm
Location: Poland / Canada
Callsign: ERNIE
Version: 2.10
OS: Mac OS X 10.8.2

Re: Can´t see other planes

Postby chris_blues » Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:51 pm

According to your pilots list, all these pilots are more than 3000 nm away. You shouldn't see them!

What happens at KSFO? there are always people there...

What parameters do you have set? like --multiplay=...

What method of launching do you use?
Don't hesitate to let me know if I'm incorrect or just annoying! As long as you do it gently! :)
Debian testing 64bit - Athlon II 2x2.6GHz - 8GB RAM - GeForce GTS 450
Citation II
User avatar
chris_blues
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 1:30 pm
Location: claws of real life
Callsign: chris_blues
Version: GIT
OS: Debian 8 64

Re: Can´t see other planes

Postby Groucho » Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:54 pm

Ernest1984 wrote:Hello.

I can't see other planes in multiplayer, i tried to solve it by the method mentioned above but didn't helped...


I had that too and the solution propably is:
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=9856&hilit=+disable

HTH
_____________________________________
Callsign: D-HARP
Flight locations: TNCM, TKPK, EDNY, LOWI
Aircrafts
Helis: EC130, Bo105, UH-1, R22
Twins/Jets: Aerostar, CRJ-200
User avatar
Groucho
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 10:28 am
Location: Airborne Lake Constance/Germany
Callsign: D-HARP
Version: GIT
OS: Kubuntu

Re: Can´t see other planes

Postby Ernest1984 » Fri Jan 07, 2011 3:14 pm

chris_blues wrote:According to your pilots list, all these pilots are more than 3000 nm away. You shouldn't see them!

What happens at KSFO? there are always people there...

What parameters do you have set? like --multiplay=...

What method of launching do you use?


Wherever i am, KSFO, EHAM, EDDF, whatever... I can see pilots on the mpmap, i can see names in the pilot list (sometimes doubled, or tripled), but the distance is always the same for each pilot and it's some freaky couple thousand miles from me. Even if i see on the map that they are on the same airport than i am.
I use FGrun, here you can see my preferences in each box:

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
EPWA-hub: ERJ-195 clsgn: ERNIE
-----------------------------------
Around The World with B1900D!
callsign: AROUNDw - currently suspended till the FG will have a proper look on different locations
User avatar
Ernest1984
 
Posts: 438
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 3:47 pm
Location: Poland / Canada
Callsign: ERNIE
Version: 2.10
OS: Mac OS X 10.8.2

Re: Can´t see other planes

Postby chris_blues » Fri Jan 07, 2011 3:21 pm

I see 3 things, that may be wrong:
1. Try in "features" to check AI-Models. Try first if that helps.
2. Try to erase your IP from the "network"-tab. If that doesn't help either:
3. check against your command-line output in the last tab. your callsign doesn't show up!
Don't hesitate to let me know if I'm incorrect or just annoying! As long as you do it gently! :)
Debian testing 64bit - Athlon II 2x2.6GHz - 8GB RAM - GeForce GTS 450
Citation II
User avatar
chris_blues
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 1:30 pm
Location: claws of real life
Callsign: chris_blues
Version: GIT
OS: Debian 8 64

Re: Can´t see other planes

Postby Groucho » Fri Jan 07, 2011 3:23 pm

Ernest1984 wrote:Image


As I mentioned above: Check the "AI models" box and there you go.
_____________________________________
Callsign: D-HARP
Flight locations: TNCM, TKPK, EDNY, LOWI
Aircrafts
Helis: EC130, Bo105, UH-1, R22
Twins/Jets: Aerostar, CRJ-200
User avatar
Groucho
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 10:28 am
Location: Airborne Lake Constance/Germany
Callsign: D-HARP
Version: GIT
OS: Kubuntu

Re: Can´t see other planes

Postby Ernest1984 » Fri Jan 07, 2011 3:26 pm

OK i'm going to check if it worked.
EPWA-hub: ERJ-195 clsgn: ERNIE
-----------------------------------
Around The World with B1900D!
callsign: AROUNDw - currently suspended till the FG will have a proper look on different locations
User avatar
Ernest1984
 
Posts: 438
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 3:47 pm
Location: Poland / Canada
Callsign: ERNIE
Version: 2.10
OS: Mac OS X 10.8.2

Re: Can´t see other planes

Postby Ernest1984 » Fri Jan 07, 2011 4:25 pm

Is working nice. Great success! :lol:
Thanks Groucho :wink:
EPWA-hub: ERJ-195 clsgn: ERNIE
-----------------------------------
Around The World with B1900D!
callsign: AROUNDw - currently suspended till the FG will have a proper look on different locations
User avatar
Ernest1984
 
Posts: 438
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 3:47 pm
Location: Poland / Canada
Callsign: ERNIE
Version: 2.10
OS: Mac OS X 10.8.2

Re: Can´t see other planes

Postby 439Tiger » Wed Mar 16, 2011 4:08 pm

Hi All,

I read through this post but since I'm running Windows 7 & not Mac the screens are all unfamiliar to me...Monday evening at around 21:00 EST 17:00 GMT I was flying around Québec City then KSFO in a F-4E.

When I was near Québec, FR44 was flying over the St-Laurence, I could see both of us on the map server, he was flying a PBY Catalina so it was very easy for me to chase him down but I never saw him nor do I know if he saw me :?

I then went to KSFO and flew around there and even buzzed the tower :D

Image

Still, I didn't see anybody there either, even though there were a bunch of aircraft in the area on the map server??? I did notice that if I clicked on the arrows beside my call sign at the bottom left it did change my view to the other flyers, I can't remember who but somebody was flying around in a F-14...

This may be a complete noob question, but am I supposed to see the other aircraft in my view, or do I see them only when I select them??? I did see them on my radar though.

My FGRun screen has 5000 for in and out and this is what I can see right now on the map server:
Image
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Re: Can´t see other planes

Postby 439Tiger » Wed Mar 16, 2011 5:18 pm

Never mind it's 17:15GMT and I just saw a B-1 at KSFO a few minutes ago and somebody taking off in an airliner just saw a F-4 FGR2 just blow by them 8)
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Next

Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests