Board index FlightGear Development Spaceflight

Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Discussion about development and usage of spacecraft

Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Postby GinGin » Thu Sep 05, 2019 8:38 pm

A small tuto on how to set up the Shuttle Dev Version if you which to test the latest changes during two stable release.

1) First, you will need to delete the Space Shuttle Official release ( if installed)
B 737 on the screen as an example.

Image



2) Some software to install in order to download the dev version from a Git Repository ( Windows links)

Git for Windows: https://git-for-windows.github.io/
TortoiseGit: https://tortoisegit.org/



3)Create a file on desktop ( whatever the name, FGSS here)

The link where to copy the git link for the dev repository: https://sourceforge.net/p/fgspaceshuttledev/code/ci/development/tree/?SetFreedomCookie

Image



4) Right click on FGSS, Git Clone, and in URL the previous copied link should appear

Image


Click on Ok, and download should start ( 2 Go-ish)

Image



5)Then, while opening FGSS, you should see a file named " code" including all the Shuttle file.
You can rename it by " SpaceShuttle".

To update it to last version when changes are made in the dev branch, right click on "SpaceShuttle", Tortoise Git and Pull
In remote branch, be sure to have development and not Master.
Then Ok and it will update if new files are available.

You can do that every time you want to check if an update is available

Image

Image

Image



At the end of the download, you can click on Pulled Diff to see the changes

Image


6)Now, you just need to put in the right file and specify in FG where it can find it.
Create a file where you put your non official add on.
Mine is "Repository dev"

Image



Then Copy / Paste the "SpaceShuttle" file in that file, you should have that:

Image


7)Last step, you need to specify that path in the FG Launcher, like that :

Image



8) In aircraft, Shuttle should appear like that, without the mention uninstall or upload in the bottom left ( like the stable one)

Image




A quick test in game, you should see Eileen AP now ( not available yet in stable)

Image
GinGin
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Paris
Callsign: Gingin

Re: Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Postby Vinny002 » Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:17 pm

Hi, GinGin! Oh wow! I love that lady Eileen!! How many software programs do I need? That looks complicated! Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent
Vinny002
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 8:55 pm

Re: Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:30 am

it is not complicated at all... you only need one program... one to pull from the git repository... either that or go for no programs and simply download a snapshot from the repository which you then unarchive into your custom craft directory that you have pointed FG to as described...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5985
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Postby GinGin » Fri Sep 06, 2019 7:07 am

Vinny002 wrote in Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:17 pm:Hi, GinGin! Oh wow! I love that lady Eileen!! How many software programs do I need? That looks complicated! Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent



It is written on step 2 ...
GinGin
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Paris
Callsign: Gingin

Re: Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Postby Gomendio » Tue Nov 12, 2019 7:29 pm

hi there GinGin;_)

The other day took the plunge and erased my current Shuttle version and configured the tortoise to the dev version for the auto updating.
All went flawlessly. A nice touch indeed. Very much appreciated the detailed tut.

But configuring the dev version and activating the velcroed cue cards and Checklists for easy access, noticed that couldn't step through the pages.
Basically that once allocated the pages stayed blank. Any reported issue with the latest dev version?
Gomendio
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 10:03 am

Re: Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Postby GinGin » Wed Nov 13, 2019 6:52 am

Hello.
It works on my side ( but I had some troubles first with wrong arborescence )
Did you change the pages ? Or is it the basic one ?
You can send some screens in Help topic
GinGin
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Paris
Callsign: Gingin

Re: Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Postby Thorsten » Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:29 am

mousewheel?
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11374
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Postby Gomendio » Wed Nov 13, 2019 4:23 pm

The mousewheel didn't work the last night . Made a brand new installation again with tortoise, downloaded the latest dev again and now
the Mouse Wheel works perfectly. The pages can be flicked using the mousewheel.

Many thanks guys
Gomendio
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 10:03 am

Re: Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Postby Vinny002 » Sun Dec 22, 2019 5:19 am

Guys, question for you, how do I get the latest FG space shuttle for FG 2019 since I am having all kinds of trouble getting the developer version of FG space shuttle? Thanks!!

Cheers,
Vincent
Vinny002
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 8:55 pm

Re: Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Postby wlbragg » Sun Dec 22, 2019 6:36 am

1) First, you will need to delete the Space Shuttle Official release ( if installed)

I would just add that it is not mandatory to delete the "official" stable release from the launcher. I Use several versions of various aircraft including the "official" fgaddon catalog release.
One thing that helps me when using multiple releases or versions is to keep them in separate folders so the launcher can sort it out correctly and apply the correct code and resources to the correct version.
For example I have a few versions of AirCrane's and J3Cub's and they are configured in folders as follows...

/mnt/GDrive/Aircraft/Development Aircraft/J3Cub-Datacom/j3Cub
/mnt/GDrive/Aircraft/Development Aircraft/J3Cub-git/j3Cub
/mnt/GDrive/Aircraft/Development Aircraft/J3Cub-svn/j3Cub
/mnt/GDrive/Aircraft/Development Aircraft/AirCrane-git/AirCrane
/mnt/GDrive/Aircraft/Development Aircraft/AirCrane-svn/AirCrane
/mnt/GDrive/Aircraft/Development Aircraft/AirCrane-compositor/AirCrane

You get the idea. This will give you three entries for the J3Cub and three entries for the AirCrane in the qt launcher list as well as a forth one if you installed the "official" fgaddon catalog version. They work seamlessly if you use this method of separation of the folders and naming convention. In fact I also have many other developer version aircraft located in the same file structure one level shallower by their base model's set name, ie;

/mnt/GDrive/Aircraft/Development Aircraft/SpaceShuttle
/mnt/GDrive/Aircraft/Development Aircraft/c172p
/mnt/GDrive/Aircraft/Development Aircraft/c182s
/mnt/GDrive/Aircraft/Development Aircraft/DaSH
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5194
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Postby Thorsten » Sun Dec 22, 2019 6:50 am

Guys, question for you, how do I get the latest FG space shuttle for FG 2019 since I am having all kinds of trouble getting the developer version of FG space shuttle?


If you have trouble getting it, I would advise you not to use it - the devel version is unstable - things may cease to work without further notice from one day to the next, procedures may be required but not documented - essentially you need the skill set to analyze problems and report or revert.

It's not intended for the normal user. Please don't use it as such.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11374
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Postby GinGin » Sun Dec 22, 2019 7:13 am

@Wayne: Nice idea
I will edit it a bit then.
GinGin
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Paris
Callsign: Gingin

Re: Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Postby Vinny002 » Sun Dec 22, 2019 7:28 am

How do I get the stable version of FG space shuttle for FG 2019.1? Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent
Vinny002
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 8:55 pm

Re: Space Shuttle - Setting up a dev version

Postby Thorsten » Sun Dec 22, 2019 9:15 am

It's what the launcher downloads and updates for you, so chances are you already have it.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11374
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am


Return to Spaceflight

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests