Board index FlightGear Development Spaceflight

White terrain patches above a certain distance

Discussion about development and usage of spacecraft

White terrain patches above a certain distance

Postby eatdirt » Wed May 01, 2019 12:44 pm

Split off from Space Shuttle - Help

Hello there,
I was trying to get some descent scenery for the X-15 and follow the X-15 story on the FG website, pushing up the various max-vis up to 500km. But I am getting some white terrain patches above a certain distance, as if the ground were covered with snow, any clues to what it is and how to fix it?

Image

Thanks,
Cheers,
Chris.
Last edited by eatdirt on Wed May 01, 2019 3:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
eatdirt
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:06 pm

Re: Space Shuttle - Help

Postby Thorsten » Wed May 01, 2019 1:16 pm

But I am getting some white terrain patches above a certain distance, as if the ground was covered by snow, any clues to what it is and how to fix it?


That's because the ground in the distance is covered in snow, because the shader code doesn't do Earth curvature corrections for the snow calculations, which makes it think that the snowline is getting lower with distance.

So you really can't have a low snowline for these ops, you have to push it up quite a bit.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10693
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Space Shuttle - Help

Postby eatdirt » Wed May 01, 2019 3:04 pm

That was really snow then :) Thanks Thorsten!

Editing
Code: Select all
/environment/snow-level-m=100000


does the job, beautiful! This variable cannot be passed by command line, it seems that it gets reset afterwards to the default 5000m ish thing, but editing in the console is fine.

Grand canyon in the back:

Image

Overshoot Edwards :)

Image
eatdirt
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:06 pm

Re: Space Shuttle - Help

Postby Gijs » Fri May 03, 2019 1:11 pm

eatdirt wrote in Wed May 01, 2019 3:04 pm:This variable cannot be passed by command line, it seems that it gets reset afterwards to the default 5000m ish thing, but editing in the console is fine.

Try setting /environment/params/metar-updates-snow-level to false.
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9362
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: White terrain patches above a certain distance

Postby eatdirt » Sun May 05, 2019 1:54 pm

Thanks, that does the job!!
eatdirt
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:06 pm


Return to Spaceflight

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest