Board index FlightGear Development Spaceflight

Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Discussion about development and usage of spacecraft

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby eatdirt » Tue Apr 16, 2019 6:40 am

For the scenario , you had to use iss one with the same mission config file than you used when you saved


Well, this is exactly what I am doing, mission file untouched compared to when I had the crash and

Code: Select all
fgfs --aircraft=SpaceShuttle-ISS


and the resume menu afterwards. ISS 500km away :-/


Edit: I tried 3 other save snaphots, anterior the one at 600ft. One at 1500fts was also putting ISS miles away, but the 2 remaning worked. The only 2 working were however out of the proximity zone, one at 12km and the other 30km.

Also, I want to mention that really close to ISS, I have also observed some jumpings, but by something like a meter or so while I was at 20-30 meters, so not really annoying, but the thing pops out from time to time.
eatdirt
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:06 pm

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby eatdirt » Thu Apr 25, 2019 9:21 pm

Hi there,
It seems that we have still a few flipped normals at the mission specialist controls, that's for last git snapshot of the Shuttle and FG 2019.1.1

Image

on the left, Z/X sense
FLT CTRL
and the 3 ADI switches below.

Cheers,
Chris.
eatdirt
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:06 pm

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby wlbragg » Fri Apr 26, 2019 4:06 am

Thanks Chris, I'll take a look.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4987
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby eatdirt » Tue Apr 30, 2019 12:42 pm

Hi there,
I am reporting a very weird bug for the launch that seems to be linked to the scenery used!?!?

I have started a scenario with this command (no additional .fgfsrc file present):

Code: Select all
 fgfs  --aircraft=SpaceShuttle-launch --lat=28.6274 --lon=-80.6209 --heading=90 --disable-terrasync --fg-scenery=/usr/share/games/flightgear-extra/CustomScenery --timeofday=morning


Within the directory
/usr/share/games/flightgear-extra/CustomScenery
I have the scenery of Florida designed by Lego, that's all.

Then this is what happens afterwards: failed launch

The shuttle starts in the wrong direction, with a serious tilt angle, that does not end well, of course. Now the funny thing is that if I remove the option "--fg-scenery=" from the command line, the launch works fine. Even weirder, if I add the world scenery (that I downloaded on my harddrive within WorldScenery) with this new extra line:

Code: Select all
 fgfs  --aircraft=SpaceShuttle-launch --lat=28.6274 --lon=-80.6209 --heading=90 --disable-terrasync --fg-scenery=/usr/share/games/flightgear-extra/CustomScenery:/usr/share/games/flightgear-extra/WorldScenery --timeofday=morning


the launch works fine :?:


And finally, to be even more confusing, in one of my tries to nail down that bug, I started with the buggy command line options, and waited a few minutes doing other things IRL, then came back and started a lunch: it worked :!: :?:

I don't know how this is even possible that the scenery interferes with the AP guidance at lunch, but it seems to be the case. I'll do more tests to get more insights, but I have read on the help thread people having difficulties at launch as well, and maybe, having custom scenery seems to play a role :-/

Cheers,
Chris.
eatdirt
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:06 pm

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby Thorsten » Tue Apr 30, 2019 4:40 pm

Then this is what happens afterwards: failed launch


I'm just getting a 'video can't be played because file is corrupt'.

So I kind of believe it didn't work, but I can't comment any further.

Actually. Lego's scenery works fine for me, I've been launching from it a lot, but my pet theory is that dependent on system specs, if the loading queue is too full with other models the pad doesn't get placed in time for the Shuttle to be ON the pad, so it gets placed on the ground and the pad around it, which then gets to reall bad ground interaction problems once the contact points move past the pad surface.

Though I don't seem to be able to test this in any way.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11189
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby GinGin » Tue Apr 30, 2019 4:55 pm

@Chris: What was the inclination target at Launch ? ( Near 28 ° ?)
GinGin
 
Posts: 802
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Paris
Callsign: Gingin

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby eatdirt » Tue Apr 30, 2019 7:06 pm

the inclination target at Launch ? ( Near 28 ° ?)


No, it was the default with the current launch guidance, 51.64 degrees. When it works, the Shuttle actually goes the other direction. Thorsten may have found the correct explanation though, I'll report if I have something new about it. Never had that before!

EDIT: Bloody hell, I've found it, that's so stupid... My joystick was slightly trimmed on the elevons, by not much, like 0.01 and fluctuating a bit. Enough to screw everything, and that was working sometimes just because it might fluctuate down enough by the right amount to be safe... Sorry for the noise :oops: I have been testing crazy things since 2 days....
eatdirt
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:06 pm

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby wlbragg » Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:43 pm

@eatdirt, I pushed a fix to flip the bad normals. There was some misaligned mesh (switch base) to the right in the non-detailed mesh I adjusted as well.

Thanks for bringing it to my attention, let me know if you notice any more.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4987
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri May 10, 2019 6:01 pm

Image

Would this be an error in the effects or is something wierd on my side? Notice how the SRB flame is coming from the main engines!
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7164
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby Thorsten » Fri May 10, 2019 6:06 pm

Looks as far as I can see not that way on GinGin's High-Energy TAL (the screenshot seems to show the broad flame pattern you'd expect from two distinct emitters).

Doesn't look that way for me either.

So either it's something you did, or a regression in FG effects.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11189
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri May 10, 2019 6:21 pm

I also spawned inside the launch pad...
Maybe that affected something to do with effects. But I'll look out for it on the next flight to see...
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7164
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby GinGin » Sun May 12, 2019 7:13 pm

Yes,
It works ok on my side, 2018.3 and Dev version ( not the last one with body flap)
GinGin
 
Posts: 802
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Paris
Callsign: Gingin

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby enrogue » Sun May 12, 2019 9:02 pm

I see the single booster flame on my Kaby Lake NUC (Intel HD Graphics 620, running Ubuntu) - I also have an issue with the Vostok (the boosters are centred rather than on the side of the core) - I'll try & get some screenshots tomorrow
User avatar
enrogue
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 6:40 pm
Location: London (UK)
Callsign: enrogue
OS: OS X, Ubuntu

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby Thorsten » Mon May 13, 2019 4:38 am

Since this works fine on 2018.3, the FG version is more interesting than the graphics card - it quickly starts to looks like a core regression.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11189
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Space Shuttle - Bugfixes

Postby wlbragg » Mon May 13, 2019 5:32 am

I just launched and it appears to be working fine on my computer with a relatively current build of fgdata and Shuttle (next 2019.2).
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4987
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

PreviousNext

Return to Spaceflight

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest