Board index FlightGear Development Spaceflight

Shuttle launch problems

Discussion about development and usage of spacecraft

Re: Shuttle launch problems

Postby Thorsten » Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:39 am

Well, this should work automatically... I can't really tell you the solution to a problem I can't reproduce in the first place, you'll have to experiment on your own unfortunately.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10529
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Shuttle launch problems

Postby Abdullah Radwan » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:10 pm

I am having the same problem again. I can't launch from the same position again. Every time I need to change my position to launch, even without downloading any scenery, just water! Should I re-install FlightGear again?
User avatar
Abdullah Radwan
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:42 am
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Shuttle launch problems

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:44 pm

That sounds more like you don't have scenery.

Do you have scenery installed for the place you want to launch from? Do you use TerraMaster or TerraSync?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6520
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Shuttle launch problems

Postby Thorsten » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:52 pm

If something sometimes works and sometimes not, it would seem some factor which you're not thinking of right now has changed in addition to the factors you are thinking of - that you need to find out.

(Welcome to the wonderful world of debugging... I get that a few times per week...)
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10529
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Shuttle launch problems

Postby Abdullah Radwan » Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:09 pm

I didn't install any scenery. I didn't download any scenery from the website. I don't use TerraMaster or TerraSync. Just fresh FlightGear with Shuttle.

It doesn't 'work sometimes and sometimes not'. It doesn't work at all. Every time I choose a location and launch from it, I can't use it again. I must choose another location or having this weird problem. It didn't work from the beginning.
User avatar
Abdullah Radwan
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:42 am
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Shuttle launch problems

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:39 pm

That means that you do not have any scenery for the region. FlightGear only comes with one small area of scenery around Honolulu: to get more, you must download it. You can enable automatic scenery download in the launcher to automatically download scenery.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6520
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Shuttle launch problems

Postby Thorsten » Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:38 pm

It doesn't 'work sometimes and sometimes not'. It doesn't work at all.


Um...sorry:

I've got the same issue

(...)
I've fixed the issue by running FlightGear from the command prompt (...)It works now without any problems.

(...)
I am having the same problem again with 2018.3.1

(...)
It works!


It sure sounds like it sometimes works and sometimes not.

@legoboyvdlp: You can launch from the water, that's no problem - the pad will magically float, I've done that a few times by mistake.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10529
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Shuttle launch problems

Postby Abdullah Radwan » Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:48 pm

Well, it doesn't. All of my reports were 'incorrect', as I just open the simulator, try to launch and when it launches I report it works. I wasn't smart enough to test again :(

I am so sorry for writing in such a language.

Anyway, the shuttle works in all modes except launch, so I can still enjoy it skipping the first 8 minutes of ascent. Thanks for the whole team for providing such a great shuttle with a detailed manual.

I hope I'll find a solution to this strange problem.
User avatar
Abdullah Radwan
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:42 am
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Shuttle launch problems

Postby eatdirt » Wed May 01, 2019 10:18 pm

For the launch issues, I am just posting here for the record, that I got the same problems that were just triggered by a plugged joystick.

If you joystick is not perfectly trimmed to "zero", that's adding enough vectoring to mess the launch. Check in the menu File->Joystick Configuration that the "Elevons", "Ailerons" entries report "0".

Cheers,
Chris.
eatdirt
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:06 pm

Re: Shuttle launch problems

Postby GinGin » Sat May 04, 2019 10:26 am

Nice catch.
I put some significant Deadzone to avoid bad surprise
GinGin
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Paris
Callsign: Gingin

Previous

Return to Spaceflight

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest