Board index FlightGear Development Spaceflight

Space Shuttle

Discussion about development and usage of spacecraft

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby Thorsten » Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:29 pm

Okay, when I export to *.ac and try it, it actually moves over. I'll still leave it to you to push the *.ac export - I'm somewhat worried about having not the same exporter.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10950
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby wlbragg » Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:33 pm

I'll still leave it to you to push the *.ac export

OK

Were your displays still jet black?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4875
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby wlbragg » Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:49 pm

I think I figured it out. I will do the rest of the displays while I am at it and then push.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4875
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby Thorsten » Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:57 pm

Were your displays still jet black?


There's an material animation to make it emissive to get it to light up - and a background to make it a bit different from black. I've done the first but not the second. My main concern is to figure out just what needs to be instanced how in Richard's display framework to generalize it - seems I misunderstood how this works, it appears more complicated than I guessed.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10950
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby wlbragg » Fri Dec 11, 2015 7:08 pm

OK, I pushed the .ac and blend. All MDU's should be available.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4875
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby wlbragg » Fri Dec 11, 2015 7:17 pm

I think I know why I am confused, DisplayL1 was UV mapped to a transparent texture, the rest were mapped to a black rectangle on the text-legend texture (except R1 which wasn't mapped to anything). At the same time I was doing this, I guess you have been trying to figure out the lighting to the MDU's and even L1 was mucked up. After I pushed R1 it was different than L1 (because it didn't have any of the XML defined lighting assigned to it). So I thought I was doing the blend definitions wrong.
I think (hope) it is all correct now and can be sorted out in the XML.
I tested my push and assigned to DisplayC2, which worked.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4875
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby Richard » Fri Dec 11, 2015 7:36 pm

wlbragg wrote in Fri Dec 11, 2015 7:17 pm:I think I know why I am confused, DisplayL1 was UV mapped to a transparent texture, the rest were mapped to a black rectangle on the text-legend texture (except R1 which wasn't mapped to anything). At the same time I was doing this, I guess you have been trying to figure out the lighting to the MDU's and even L1 was mucked up. After I pushed R1 it was different than L1 (because it didn't have any of the XML defined lighting assigned to it). So I thought I was doing the blend definitions wrong.
I think (hope) it is all correct now and can be sorted out in the XML.
I tested my push and assigned to DisplayC2, which worked.


ISTR that on one the original .ac files I fixed this each time after export because I couldn't get Blender to map these correctly.

I've been through the Nasal now and I've got a plan for turning it all into an object that we can instantiate multiple versions of (one for each screen) - I'm still not totally up to speed with the way it's all going to work; so the first step is to change the Nasal so we can have what we've got now on multiple screens and then figure out the next step.

However to do this I think it's best if I take control of PFD_main when it's convenient - as otherwise I suspect there'll be merge conflicts aplenty. Will discuss via email.
Richard
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:17 pm
Version: Git
OS: Win10

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby Thorsten » Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:34 am

Okay, you have control over PFD_main.nas (and company).
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10950
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby Thorsten » Sat Dec 12, 2015 6:30 pm

Been busy some with the S-band antennas. We now have routines to check which ground station has line of sight with the Shuttle, and which antenna would handle the traffic based on the Shuttle's current attitude.

I'll have to repeat the exercise for the TDRS uplinks. If anyone has data on the actual position of the TRDS network, let me know, otherwise I'll just insert some numbers (all I know is that they're in geosync orbit). Then we can aim to Ku-band antenna automatically at an actual target.

Admittedly it's a bit of fooling around as we don't actually have a mission control to talk to, so determining whether we have currently a valid link to mission control is a bit moot. Though, maybe someone eventually wants to fly the Shuttle over MP and do ATC, so it might come in handy...
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10950
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby wlbragg » Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:57 pm

Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4875
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby Thorsten » Sun Dec 13, 2015 7:40 am

Thanks, yes - it does.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10950
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby wlbragg » Sun Dec 13, 2015 8:25 am

I just pushed 2nd pass at RCS indicator lights. Also cleaned up SpaceShuttle-set.xml tabs, the entire file. After this commit it should be a little easier to see changes.

I had a conflict but I am pretty sure it was only the addition of "communications.nas".
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4875
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby wlbragg » Sun Dec 13, 2015 9:04 am

What is the best animation to use for a three way toggle switch, ie: up, middle down?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4875
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby Thorsten » Sun Dec 13, 2015 9:54 am

Rotation? That's what I'd try first at least.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10950
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Space Shuttle

Postby Richard » Sun Dec 13, 2015 10:20 am

wlbragg wrote in Sun Dec 13, 2015 9:04 am:What is the best animation to use for a three way toggle switch, ie: up, middle down?


I've tried a few and settled on the knob animation; that way you can click and move the mouse to move the switch; which I think is better than clicking multiple times. A two position switch probably works better with just s pick animation - compare say the left generator switch with the refuelling switch.

I do prefer the way that the knob animation combines the pick and rotate; it's one less definition to get right.

Code: Select all
    <animation>
        <type>knob</type>
        <object-name>fuel-slipway-switch</object-name>
        <property>sim/model/f15/controls/fuel/refuel-probe-switch</property>
        <factor>-35</factor>
        <offset-deg>35</offset-deg>
        <center>
            <x-m>-5.55754</x-m>
            <y-m>-0.44201</y-m>
            <z-m>0.6583</z-m>
        </center>
        <axis>
            <x>0</x>
            <y>1</y>
            <z>0</z>
        </axis>

        <action>
            <binding>
                <command>property-adjust</command>
                <property>sim/model/f15/controls/fuel/refuel-probe-switch</property>
                <factor>1</factor>
                <min>0</min>
                <max>2</max>
                <wrap>false</wrap>
            </binding>
        </action>
    </animation>
Richard
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:17 pm
Version: Git
OS: Win10

PreviousNext

Return to Spaceflight

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest