Board index FlightGear Support 3rd Party Repositories

What next?

What next?

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:08 pm

Ok, I have pulled the latest fgdata with submodules! And I have init and update 14bis to 767-300 in *just* 7 hours! So if I finetune the fdm of eg the 14bis or something, then how do I get my commit into Github?

Also, do I need a sourceforge account or anything? In github windows program, it asked for a git.sf.net password, I put in my github password, it seemed to work.

Finally, I now see in github win program a change, which says xdjfnfhfjdjdjfjtjf06 commit in red and the same -06 but with -dirty added to the end. Like red is 123 and green is 123-dirty. What is it?!
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: What next?

Postby IAHM-COL » Tue Jun 02, 2015 6:40 pm

Hi Lego

I will be back at you on this topic a bit later
But for now

1. As I said before: Hold the urge of modifying the Aircrafts directly over FGDATA!
(if you have already modified some aircraft over FGDATA) consider reupdating the aircraft to clean up

Code: Select all
git submodule deinit Aircraft/example
git submodule init Aircraft/example
git submodule update Aircraft/example


2. Clone the aircraft you want to modify from FGMEMBERS somewhere else in your computer
(maybe a FG-dev directory?)

Code: Select all
git clone {repourl}


The repo in the dev directory is a normal repo
Commit to it. Push into FGMEMBERs repository. [You are an FGMEMBER already!]

Anything committed to the FGMEMBERS repository will be fetched back to your FGDATA next with submodules!

That's how it is supposed to work.

If you modify your Aircrafts over FGDATA you may endup with a dirty tree faster than the speed of the blackbird.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it? Probably not, because if they don’t recognise their freedoms, they’ll let their freedoms fall
User avatar
IAHM-COL
Retired
 
Posts: 4057
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:40 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Callsign: HK-424D or ICAO4243
Version: 3.7-git
OS: Linux

Re: What next?

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:37 pm

Ok, thanks! But the 737-300 -dirty thingy? IDK what that is! I did not modify ONE file in ONE PLANE!!! :?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: What next?

Postby IAHM-COL » Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:42 pm

I am not sure what it means. But before we enter in "Diagnosis mode"
lets just try to update it again

enter the FGDATA next with submodules


Code: Select all
git pull  #this to update FGDATA!
git submodule deinit Aircraft/737-300
git submodule init Aircraft/737-300
git submodule update Aircraft/737-300


Does that clean your 737-300?
If not, we need to diagnose what's the problem
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it? Probably not, because if they don’t recognise their freedoms, they’ll let their freedoms fall
User avatar
IAHM-COL
Retired
 
Posts: 4057
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:40 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Callsign: HK-424D or ICAO4243
Version: 3.7-git
OS: Linux

Re: What next?

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Jun 03, 2015 2:02 am

Remind me in your PM! I am near bed, so cant do tonight!
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: What next?

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Jun 03, 2015 1:16 pm

Isreal, I am downloading VHXX scenery now, It requires changing fgdata.

How would I use addons like VHXX and Bombable which you change fgdata in using fgdata with submodules?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: What next?

Postby IAHM-COL » Wed Jun 03, 2015 3:23 pm

you can change FGDATA
And either stash or commit locally


Not a prob.

You should not change the submodules (Aircraft/*) directly on FGDATA,
But on FGMEMBERS.

That's all.
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it? Probably not, because if they don’t recognise their freedoms, they’ll let their freedoms fall
User avatar
IAHM-COL
Retired
 
Posts: 4057
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:40 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Callsign: HK-424D or ICAO4243
Version: 3.7-git
OS: Linux

Re: What next?

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Jun 03, 2015 8:24 pm

You mean, commit and not push, or stash? I think I will go with stash, if I figure out how.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: What next?

Postby IAHM-COL » Wed Jun 03, 2015 8:40 pm

stash is beautiful way to keep a "private" version not pushed (or commited)

the point is, you could potentially commit and push into the FGDATA next with submodules repository, but changes to FGDATA are better trying to be pushed upstream (over the FGDATA next, from the devel-cores.... if possible)

If your changes on FGDATA can be shared, I mean (ie, it is not a private hack, and respect the GPL spirit).


For changes on FGDATA that are private (for one's install only), if you have a git repository, then Stash works great

https://git-scm.com/book/en/v1/Git-Tools-Stashing

Briefly


1. Make changes as needed

2. Before updating your repo (with pull) do the stash

Code: Select all
git stash


3. Update your repo

Code: Select all
git pull


4. Re-apply your stashed changes again

Code: Select all
git stash apply


Notes:


1, Stash will only save uncommitted work on your repo. If you comitted locally it will not stash.
If you commit, but it creates merge conflict, then the conflict will need to be resolved (tipically a manual labor) --thus stash is better for local modifications. Commit is the way to go if your intent is to push elsewhere

2. If you need to re-stash it will create a list of pass stashes

Code: Select all
git stash list

Shows your list

3. git stash apply will apply your latest stash, but you can apply older stashed with modification of the apply command. Read the FM :)

===

Best,
IH-COL
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it? Probably not, because if they don’t recognise their freedoms, they’ll let their freedoms fall
User avatar
IAHM-COL
Retired
 
Posts: 4057
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:40 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Callsign: HK-424D or ICAO4243
Version: 3.7-git
OS: Linux


Return to 3rd Party Repositories

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests