Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Created Quadcopter Model

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Created Quadcopter Model

Postby sancak232 » Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:43 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new here. I have a quadcopter model at Matlab/Simulink. I can simulate in the FlightGear. But i just test flightgear and simulink connection so i dont try proper aircraft. So i finish my all work but i cannot find quadcopter model for Flightgear system to simulate.

Is there any prepared model for quadcopter to illusturate with Flightgear(I cannot find, please help me).
Or i have to create my model and import Flightgear system?

Thx.
sancak232
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:32 pm

Re: Created Quadcopter Model

Postby S&J » Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:50 pm

Try the Scorpion, although it has 4 rotors these are in a 2 counter rotating configuration.
S&J
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2020 6:31 pm

Re: Created Quadcopter Model

Postby sancak232 » Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:36 am

S&J wrote in Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:50 pm:Try the Scorpion, although it has 4 rotors these are in a 2 counter rotating configuration.


I dont know about scorpion. If u have a link that has a created model, please sent me. have nice day.
sancak232
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:32 pm

Re: Created Quadcopter Model

Postby D-ECHO » Thu Sep 17, 2020 11:45 am

Hi sancak,

do you mean a 3d model for a quadcopter? in theory, you can use any freely available 3d model e.g. from blendswap or similar, as long as you can convert it to .ac, the format FG uses (using blender or so)
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 2111
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Created Quadcopter Model

Postby S&J » Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:12 pm

Sorry my mistake I thought you wanted an fdm
S&J
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2020 6:31 pm

Re: Created Quadcopter Model

Postby sancak232 » Fri Sep 18, 2020 12:52 pm

D-ECHO wrote in Thu Sep 17, 2020 11:45 am:Hi sancak,

do you mean a 3d model for a quadcopter? in theory, you can use any freely available 3d model e.g. from blendswap or similar, as long as you can convert it to .ac, the format FG uses (using blender or so)


I just need quadcopter 3D image. I already have quadcopter model and control system from Matlab/Simulink which is connected to the Flightgear. I can run Simulink with fixed-wing aircraft without problem. The flying aircraft must be quadcopter not fixed-wing.

If i get quadcopter .ac file, after that what should i do. Im really newbie at this point sorry :(
sancak232
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:32 pm

Re: Created Quadcopter Model

Postby D-ECHO » Fri Sep 18, 2020 3:34 pm

I'm afraid someone more accustom to simulink in FlightGear needs to help you out there, I have never used it.
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 2111
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Created Quadcopter Model

Postby Gijs » Mon Sep 21, 2020 10:04 am

sancak232 wrote in Fri Sep 18, 2020 12:52 pm:If i get quadcopter .ac file, after that what should i do. Im really newbie at this point sorry :(

You can create a minimal aircraft setup as follows.

  1. Create a folder for your aircraft, for example "MyQuadcopter".
  2. Place the .ac folder in this folder (or a sub Models/ folder if you prefer to keep things organized).
  3. Create a MyQuadcopter-set.xml file in this folder with the following contents:
    Code: Select all
    <?xml version="1.0"?>

    <PropertyList>
       <sim>
          <description>Your Quadcopter Name</description>
          <flight-model>ufo</flight-model>
       </sim>
       
       <model>
          <path>Aircraft/MyQuadcopter/path-to-your-model.ac</path>
       </model>
    </PropertyList>
  4. Launch FlightGear like you'd normally do but with --aircraft=MyQuadcopter (this must match the part before -set.xml in the filename). Note that I've included the UFO fdm, so you can also launch it in FlightGear without running Simulink.
Please feel free to ask if you cannot get it operational.

Gijs
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9444
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Created Quadcopter Model

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Sep 21, 2020 1:47 pm

Gijs wrote in Mon Sep 21, 2020 10:04 am:
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>

<PropertyList>
   <sim>
      <description>Your Quadcopter Name</description>
      <flight-model>ufo</flight-model>
   </sim>


won't that flight-model be different since the OP is using an external simulink control?
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6551
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Created Quadcopter Model

Postby Gijs » Mon Sep 21, 2020 4:34 pm

Yes, but he'll override that through his command line anyway. By defining the ufo flight model as a default, the model can be launched in FlightGear without running Simulink (else FlightGear defaults to JSBSim and crashes as it cannot find a matching aero file). Great for testing whether the model shows up correctly for example.
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9444
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Created Quadcopter Model

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Sep 22, 2020 2:37 pm

excellent point(s)! :mrgreen:
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6551
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5


Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests