Board index FlightGear Release candidates 2.10

Mac 2.10 RC2 - Different menus

This is the archive of topics about the 2.10 release candidates.

Mac 2.10 RC2 - Different menus

Postby tk_jkg » Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:23 pm

Depending on you have 2.8 installed u get different menu types.

1. With a totally fresh install you get mac-style menu.
2. When installed over 2.8 you get FG-style menus.
tk_jkg
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 1:48 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-ToM
Version: 2.12.1
OS: Mac OS X

Re: Mac 2.10 RC2 - Different menus

Postby zakalawe » Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:14 am

Right, this is because it's preference setting, and depending on if you get the old preferences file or a new one you'll see different behaviour. Delete your autosave.xml in ~/Library/Application Support/FlightGear to get the default behaviour in each case.
zakalawe
 
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:48 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Callsign: G-ZKLW
Version: next
OS: Mac

Re: Mac 2.10 RC2 - Different menus

Postby tk_jkg » Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:33 am

OK, i did know that but i think this is not a good behavior. I think many FG users out there dont know how to fix these thing. And to have a program that behave differently depending on if you have the old version or not is not good.

The easiest fix must be to but back the option to set menu style in the FG-launcher.
I do prefer the FG-style, other prefer the mac-version.
tk_jkg
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 1:48 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-ToM
Version: 2.12.1
OS: Mac OS X

Re: Mac 2.10 RC2 - Different menus

Postby tk_jkg » Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:51 am

Do i read between your lines that we should not report this as un issue/bug?
tk_jkg
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 1:48 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-ToM
Version: 2.12.1
OS: Mac OS X

Re: Mac 2.10 RC2 - Different menus

Postby zakalawe » Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:09 pm

Personally I think too many options are bad, and everyone on Mac should use proper Mac menus like Apple intended :)

The 'old versions behave differently' issue is not ideal, but not a showstopper for me, either way users get a working menu system.
zakalawe
 
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:48 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Callsign: G-ZKLW
Version: next
OS: Mac

Re: Mac 2.10 RC2 - Different menus

Postby Neilson » Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:04 pm

just curious, FG 2.10RC2

I put the mouse curser at the top of the screen then the new menu slides down, now when i click on it (anywhere on the menu) Flightgear freezes until i click on a menu option.

This was in 2.8 and 2.10 RC1 RC2, is this normal or has been pick up by someone?

I know the old menu does not do this.

I agree whit this
Personally I think too many options are bad, and everyone on Mac should use proper Mac menus like Apple intended
User avatar
Neilson
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:17 pm
Location: Rochester UK EGTO
Callsign: Neilson
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Mac

Re: Mac 2.10 RC2 - Different menus

Postby zakalawe » Sat Feb 16, 2013 8:09 am

The freezing behaviour is not ideal, but very awkward to fix (like, a week of work). Since in general, if you're using the menu, you're on the ground or in stable flight, I haven't found it to be a real problem, just slightly ugly.
zakalawe
 
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:48 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Callsign: G-ZKLW
Version: next
OS: Mac

Re: Mac 2.10 RC2 - Different menus

Postby Neilson » Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:00 pm

Got ya, not the time now for that, thank you for the reply.
User avatar
Neilson
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:17 pm
Location: Rochester UK EGTO
Callsign: Neilson
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Mac


Return to 2.10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest