Board index FlightGear Support Tools OpenRadar

Considerations for ATCs... discussion or recommendation..

OpenRadar is a standalone radar screen which connects to the FlightGear multiplayer servers. It is currently being developed.

Considerations for ATCs... discussion or recommendation..

Postby Lydiot » Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:33 pm

So I just wanted to throw this out there for you to consider. Before you read on, realize that I'm relatively new to this which is both a good thing and a drawback (for me).

- Not all pilots have well functioning hardware/software. This results in glitches that sometimes have no clear, easy or quick solutions.

- Not all pilots know how to pilot their planes (or software) succefully even if they work without glitches. They may need guidance and/or practice to get to that point.

- Not all pilots know how to follow specific instructions because of terminology etc, despite being able to pilot their planes and have working hardware/software.

The reason I'm bringing this up is in some threads I've read I've seen the comment that there is simply often an imbalance between ATCs and pilots in some areas. At KFSO for example you can have a million newbies and one poor ATC that gives up after 20 minutes, whereas at other locations you can have three ATCs in close viscinity and only one plane. Well, if the goal is to get more pilots flying better then we don't want to turn the prospective players away from the community.

Now, there are different ways to talk to people. There's a difference between asking "Can I help you?" and "Do you have any idea what you are doing?". One is helpful and the other is confrontational. And so I want to simply call on ATCs to be sensitive to the above since I think that is true. And to give a personal example I'll just recount a recent flight in my next post.
Lydiot

Re: Considerations for ATCs... discussion or recommendation.

Postby Lydiot » Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:40 pm