Board index FlightGear Release candidates 2.8

FG 2.8.0-RC1

This is the archive of topics about the 2.8 release candidates.

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby Gijs » Sat Jul 07, 2012 10:24 am

scighera wrote in Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:30 pm:I'm not able to start FG in my home airport LIME: FG arrives at loading the scenery and it stuck there on the "splash image" for so long that I give up.

What happens if you rename the Objects folder (eg. to Objects2), so FlightGear won't try to load the models and signs?

I'm able to start in Frankfurt EDDF (Rembrandt off) at some 15-20 fps against 30-35 fps wih FG2.6

2.8.0 has some new shaders and stuff like the random buildings. Try switching those off as well for a fair comparison.

UFO: when you clicck the typical red/white/blue cartesian axis doesn't show up

Console output please.
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9381
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby fredb » Sat Jul 07, 2012 10:34 am

Please check that the path in the first fgrun panel are correct
User avatar
fredb
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 10:41 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby scighera » Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:38 pm

Gijs wrote in Sat Jul 07, 2012 10:24 am:
scighera wrote in Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:30 pm:I'm not able to start FG in my home airport LIME: FG arrives at loading the scenery and it stuck there on the "splash image" for so long that I give up.

What happens if you rename the Objects folder (eg. to Objects2), so FlightGear won't try to load the models and signs?.


Indeed I tried to remove all Objects of e00n40/e09n45/3105258.stg ! The result is that FG run but loads the tile e00n40/e09n45/3105258 ONLY .... the other tiles aren't loaded.
Gijs wrote in Sat Jul 07, 2012 10:24 am:
I'm able to start in Frankfurt EDDF (Rembrandt off) at some 15-20 fps against 30-35 fps wih FG2.6

2.8.0 has some new shaders and stuff like the random buildings. Try switching those off as well for a fair comparison.


ok, will check ... but the 1st thing I noted is that the fps killer is the real weather (mainly when it's raining !!!)
By the way "random bldg's" has never been used by me (always unchecked)

Gijs wrote in Sat Jul 07, 2012 10:24 am:
UFO: when you clicck the typical red/white/blue cartesian axis doesn't show up

Console output please

Typical console output seems ok .... note that console output string include roll deg and pitch !!

The " Path: Aircraft/ufo/Models/cursor.ac" is correct, and the file cursor.ac is there ...

Code: Select all
------------------------ Selected Object -------------------------

Path:         Aircraft/ufo/Models/cursor.ac
Latitude:     45.66883246 deg
Longitude:    9.69169159 deg
Altitude ASL: 235.7090 m (773.3236 ft)
Heading:      0.0 deg
Pitch:        0.0 deg
Roll:        -0.0 deg

------------------------------------------------------------------


# e000n40/e009n45/3105258.stg
OBJECT_SHARED Aircraft/ufo/Models/cursor.ac 9.69169159 45.66883246 235.7090 0.0
0.0 -0.0

------------------------------------------------------------------


ADDITIONAL HINT:

The above applies only to "terrain" with Corine as made by Sealbach (see : http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=15033&hilit=corine+italy

If I use terrasync LIME loads correctly, and FG works correctly: so I do understand that FG 2.8.0 has something that is incompatible with the "terrain" (and may be some additional bldg's I have placed in LIME) I normally use ...
As a matter of fact the LIME rwy and taxiways layout, as present in terrasync, is a mess, definitely wrong (the taxiways are beneath the rwy !!). I sent the revised layout to Martin some 3 years ago ... which makes me frustrated :(
Last edited by scighera on Sat Jul 07, 2012 6:42 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Callsign: I-SCIG
The hangar: http://digilander.libero.it/scighera_fg/index.html
The "happy motorbiker" - http://web.tiscali.it/kclub
User avatar
scighera
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:29 am
Location: LIME-Bergamo-Italy
Callsign: scighera
Version: 2dot6
OS: Windows 7

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby scighera » Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:48 pm

fredb wrote in Sat Jul 07, 2012 10:34 am:Please check that the path in the first fgrun panel are correct


I suppose the paths are correct: I tested the following airport, with buildings added by myself:
LOWI
LIMW
LIDT
LIDA
LIRJ
LIRN
LIML

FG works nice in all these airports: I am experiencing problems only in tile 3105258.stg.

I tried also to place some bldg's of LIME elsewhere ... and FG run smoothly.

By the way the whole start-up conditions are:

Code: Select all
C:/Program Files/FlightGear/bin/Win32/fgfs.exe
  --fg-root=C:/Program Files/FlightGear/data
  --fg-scenery=C:/0 _ ARCHIVIO/99-fgdata/data/Scenery;C:/Program Files/FlightGear/data/Scenery;C:/Program Files/FlightGear/scenery
  --fg-aircraft=C:/Program Files/FlightGear/data/Aircraft
  --airport=LIME
  --aircraft=ufo
  --parkpos=ParkGA01
  --control=joystick
  --disable-random-objects
  --enable-auto-coordination
  --enable-horizon-effect
  --enable-ai-models
  --disable-ai-traffic
  --enable-real-weather-fetch
  --enable-clouds3d
  --prop:/sim/frame-rate-throttle-hz=60
  --prop:/sim/menubar/autovisibility/enabled=1
  --geometry=800x600
  --bpp=32
  --callsign=I-SCIG
  --multiplay=out,10,mpmap01.flightgear.org,5000
  --multiplay=in,10,Paolo-PC,10
  --ai-scenario=steam_train_demo
  --generic=socket,out,10,localhost,16661,udp,fgcom

Callsign: I-SCIG
The hangar: http://digilander.libero.it/scighera_fg/index.html
The "happy motorbiker" - http://web.tiscali.it/kclub
User avatar
scighera
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:29 am
Location: LIME-Bergamo-Italy
Callsign: scighera
Version: 2dot6
OS: Windows 7

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby Gijs » Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:48 am

scighera wrote in Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:38 pm:Indeed I tried to remove all Objects of e00n40/e09n45/3105258.stg ! The result is that FG run but loads the tile e00n40/e09n45/3105258 ONLY .... the other tiles aren't loaded.

That's why I asked to rename the entire objects folder. If a scenery tile loads when there are no objects, a logical conclusion would be that the problem is in the objects, not the terrain. Renaming the objects folder (disabling objects), we can see whether that is true (all tiles should load then).
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9381
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby scighera » Sun Jul 08, 2012 2:41 pm

Gjis ... If I rename the objects folder e009n45 to XXXXe009n45 it seems that I'm able to load all tiles.

Note that with normal Objects folder name IF I APPROACH LIME FROM EAST everything is fine !!!!!!!!!!
With normal ojects folder name, I may enter FG in Milano Linate (LIML) .... but FG load just the surrounding tiles .... then, going north, is "nothing" absolutely nothing up to the Jutland ... past which I don't know

more and more discouraged :evil:

ciao, Paolo
Callsign: I-SCIG
The hangar: http://digilander.libero.it/scighera_fg/index.html
The "happy motorbiker" - http://web.tiscali.it/kclub
User avatar
scighera
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:29 am
Location: LIME-Bergamo-Italy
Callsign: scighera
Version: 2dot6
OS: Windows 7

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby prince.muga » Fri Jul 13, 2012 2:06 pm

whats with the FG.2.8.0-RC2?

(stupid question)
"Just remember, if you crash because of weather, your funeral will be held on a sunny day."

- Layton A. Bennett

F-16 THE BEST :D

EAF-013
User avatar
prince.muga
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 9:20 am
Callsign: Carrier,EAF13
Version: latest
OS: Windows 7

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby curt » Fri Jul 13, 2012 3:00 pm

There are no stupid questions. :-) But overly generic questions might not return the answers you were hoping for. Should we try to answer the literal meaning of your question as worded? Should we try to imagine something specific you are referring to? ----> :-) :-) :-) (smiley faces)

I am hoping to roll out RC3 for windows later today which should include 32/64 support and all the latest rembrandt and vinson and lighting tweaks. I pinged Tat on a mac release candidate, but haven't heard back from him yet. Linux folks can easily compile from git/source, otherwise I have been pondering some sort of tarball build that may or may not work on any other linux box and would be less optimal than a native deb/rpm type package for each specific distro.
curt
Administrator
 
Posts: 1174
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Previous

Return to 2.8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest