Board index FlightGear Release candidates 2.8

FG 2.8.0-RC1

This is the archive of topics about the 2.8 release candidates.

FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby mr_no » Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:42 pm

Installed only win32 version after win64 version was missing files (fgrun).
Noticed some bugs from 2.6 fixed. Thats good! One of those is ground flickering when generic is on. Now I can see the dots on the surface. Nice... But the ground sometimes still flickers though rarely.

Water seems different than in 2.6. Less effects I assume. I guess this is optimized?

I can see no aircraft model in the preview model window!

"Random buildings" is very friendly and my system handles it on 1.5 smoothly.
This is only quarter of available but quite sufficient IMHO.
I LOVE this effect. It really feels like being in or above a city.
One thing I noticed is that I didn't crash into buildings. There should be collision enabled with buildings and maybe even with trees.

Tested with rembrandt on.
It's very heavy on my system and all I want is a shadow under the airplane.
I don't need a shadow in the cockpit and on the fuselage, ONLY under the airplane.
This should be an option if possible. Anyhow my system can't handle it.

I had two crashes with "not enough space". This happended when changing weather settings (no rembrandt).
I think I have OpenGL out of memory warnings as well.

I have 4GB RAM Memory with ATI Radeon HD 5450 -2815 MB.
Mosquito-XE JT-5B-autogyro Extra-300s STOL-Ch701
User avatar
mr_no
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 2:20 pm

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby Figaro » Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:47 pm

mr_no wrote in Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:42 pm:...I can see no aircraft model in the preview model window!...


In FGRun there will be a small tick box in the upper right hand corner on the Aircraft Selection Page, it should say "Model Preview" or similar. Make sure there IS a tick if you would like to see a preview of a model.


Cheers,
Sam.
User avatar
Figaro
 
Posts: 1262
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:23 pm
Callsign: 4L-FIG
OS: Elementary 5.0 Juno

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby mr_no » Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:49 pm

Thanks that worked. Good option! It saves time.
Mosquito-XE JT-5B-autogyro Extra-300s STOL-Ch701
User avatar
mr_no
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 2:20 pm

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby mr_no » Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:01 am

One more thing: "Random buildings" don't show textures when rembrandt is on.

There should be an optimization option for "Random buildings" and Trees for the distance where drawing of buildings/trees stops. This way we can optimize drawing much better.
Mosquito-XE JT-5B-autogyro Extra-300s STOL-Ch701
User avatar
mr_no
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 2:20 pm

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby fredb » Wed Jul 04, 2012 6:02 pm

mr_no wrote in Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:42 pm:I have 4GB RAM Memory with ATI Radeon HD 5450 -2815 MB.


This card is too weak for rembrandt rendering. People should favor at least HD x7xx ATI series
User avatar
fredb
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 10:41 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby Hooray » Wed Jul 04, 2012 7:36 pm

mr_no wrote in Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:42 pm:One thing I noticed is that I didn't crash into buildings. There should be collision enabled with buildings and maybe even with trees.


see the FAQ: collision detection doesn't work too well with such shader based features
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11317
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby wrench11062 » Thu Jul 05, 2012 1:04 am

Hello,
I was having lots of new problems when I upgraded a video card (Nvida8400gs1024mbddr3 to AMD/ATI XFX Radeon HD 6700 1GB DDR5).
Freezes, crashes, about 5 blue deaths screens. :(.
I downloaded this pre-release and had already reset the new vid card to defaults. Installed and fired it up.
It was like night and day. I could not have wished for more. All problems that I had experienced, dissapeared. Wonderful graphics, smooth ops and only at out of the
box settings with Flightgear 2.8 pre-release and the AMD card. Noticed different selection procedures, but none that bother me, some real neat and common sense.
I have only about 5hrs using this new version, and its NICCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCE :).
To all who who did this and contributed, I say THANK you!!.
So now where is that hyd. jack... so I can put my lower part of my mouth back up.
Prime example of what happens when you put a monkey in a capsule full of buttons and switches...Now, wheres that damn banana?...
User avatar
wrench11062
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 1:55 am
Location: Los Angeles Ca. 1 nm east of KLAX 24R
Callsign: Tchaser/CrshLdr
Version: Git 64Bit
OS: Win7 64bit

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby scighera » Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:33 am

mr_no wrote in Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:42 pm: .....
......
Tested with rembrandt on.

.......
.


I don't see any shadow ... and ... how is Rembrandt switched on ????
Callsign: I-SCIG
The hangar: http://digilander.libero.it/scighera_fg/index.html
The "happy motorbiker" - http://web.tiscali.it/kclub
User avatar
scighera
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:29 am
Location: LIME-Bergamo-Italy
Callsign: scighera
Version: 2dot6
OS: Windows 7

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby Gijs » Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:42 am

It's "hidden" (no big "enable Rembrandt" switch) on purpose, because Rembrandt is still very experimental and most aircraft are not yet ready for it.

http://wiki.flightgear.org/Project_Remb ... _Rembrandt
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9362
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby scighera » Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:30 am

Gijs wrote in Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:42 am:It's "hidden" (no big "enable Rembrandt" switch) on purpose, because Rembrandt is still very experimental and most aircraft are not yet ready for it.

http://wiki.flightgear.org/Project_Remb ... _Rembrandt


Sorry Gijs .... but rembrandt is quite demanding, not only to the computer, but tu users as me :oops:

I put in the GUI, via Advanced > Properties :
"
--prop:/sim/rendering/rembrandt/enabled=true
"

And gotfron the console the following
Code: Select all
Usage: fgfs [ option ... ]

General Options:
   --help, -h                   Show the most relevant command line options
   --verbose, -v                Show all command line options when combined
                                with --help or -h
   --fg-root=path               Specify the root data path
   --fg-scenery=path            Specify the scenery path(s);
                                Defaults to $FG_ROOT/Scenery
   --fg-aircraft=path           Specify additional aircraft directory path(s)
   --language=code              Select the language for this session

Aircraft:
   --aircraft=name              Select an aircraft profile as defined by a top
                                level <name>-set.xml
   --show-aircraft              Print a list of the currently available
                                aircraft types

   --min-status={alpha,beta,early-production,production}
                                Allows you to define a minimum status level
                                (=development status) for all listed aircraft

Initial Position and Orientation:
   --airport=ID                 Specify starting position relative to an
                                airport
   --runway=rwy_no              Specify starting runway (must also specify an
                                airport)
   --carrier=[name|ID]          Specify starting position on an AI carrier

For a complete list of options use --help --verbose
Hit a key to continue...


and Fg stuck dead :cry:
Callsign: I-SCIG
The hangar: http://digilander.libero.it/scighera_fg/index.html
The "happy motorbiker" - http://web.tiscali.it/kclub
User avatar
scighera
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:29 am
Location: LIME-Bergamo-Italy
Callsign: scighera
Version: 2dot6
OS: Windows 7

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby Soitanen » Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:54 am

I'm using third method of enabling Rembrandt. In fgdata folder found preferences.xml file, in it found "<rembrandt>" section and change <enabled> to true.
Boeing 737-300. Reworked cockpit, FDM, autopilot and much more. WIP.
Boeing 737-800. WIP. Canvas PFD and ND.
Antonov An-24B. Made from scratch. Very good FDM. 3D model by Adrian. WIP.
Project Russia (some cities, based on OSM with custom objects).
Soitanen
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:50 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Version: git
OS: Linux Mint 17

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby i4dnf » Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:24 pm

scighera wrote in Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:30 am:
Sorry Gijs .... but rembrandt is quite demanding, not only to the computer, but tu users as me :oops:

I put in the GUI, via Advanced > Properties :
"
--prop:/sim/rendering/rembrandt/enabled=true
"


Remove the --prop: part form that entry in the Advanced->Properties screen. the --prop: part is added automaticaly by FGRun.
i4dnf
Retired
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:17 am
Location: LRBS
Callsign: YR-I4D
Version: GIT
OS: Gentoo Linux ~amd64

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby scighera » Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:30 pm

i4dnf wrote in Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:24 pm:Remove the --prop: part form that entry in the Advanced->Properties screen. the --prop: part is added automaticaly by FGRun.


Thanks, now rembrandt works.

But i do have quite a problem with FG 2.8.0 - RC1

My hardware:
- Computer: DELL Precision T1600
- Processor: Intel Xeon 3.1 Ghz
- RAM: 8 GB
- OS: Windows 7 (x64)
- Graphic Card:Nvidia Quadro 600 (Dedicated memory: 1 GB; Total Memory 4 GB)


NOTE: I'm using the terrain of Italy made by Sealbach !

The problems are:
1) FG doesn't quit; I have to force it to close from the console; then the typical windows message appears: "FGRun doesn't respond ... "

2) I'm not able to start FG in my home airport LIME: FG arrives at loading the scenery and it stuck there on the "splash image" for so long that I give up.
the console report the following msg's:
Code: Select all
Gate 6doesn't seem to have routes associated with it.
Multiplayer mode active!
Could not find at least one of the following objects for animation: 'pilot'
Animated jetways ... initialized

Image "C:/Program Files (x86)/FlightGear2.8R1/data/Textures.high/Terrain/snow3.dds"
uses compressed textures which cannot be supported on some systems.
Please decompress this texture for improved portability.
Image "C:/Program Files (x86)/FlightGear2.8R1/data/Textures.high/Terrain/transition1.dds"
uses compressed textures which cannot be supported on some systems.
Please decompress this texture for improved portability.
Image "C:/Program Files (x86)/FlightGear2.8R1/data/Textures.high/Terrain/grass12.dds"
uses compressed textures which cannot be supported on some systems.
Please decompress this texture for improved portability.
C:/0 _ ARCHIVIO/99-fgdata/data/Scenery/Objects/e000n40/e009n45/3105258.stg:
Failed to load OBJECT_SHARED 'Models/Airport/jetway-747-ba.xml'
C:/0 _ ARCHIVIO/99-fgdata/data/Scenery/Objects/e000n40/e009n45/3105258.stg:
Failed to load OBJECT_SHARED 'Models/Airport/jetway-747-ba.xml'
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @R3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @R3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @R3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @R3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @R3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @R3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @R3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @R3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @R3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @R3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @R3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: unsupported glyph '3'
OBJECT_SIGN: unsupported glyph '3'
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: ignoring unknown command `@ur'
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: ignoring unknown command `@ur'
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @R3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @R3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @L3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
OBJECT_SIGN: Wrong size for @Y3. Allowed values are 1 to 3
C:/0 _ ARCHIVIO/99-fgdata/data/Scenery/Objects/e000n40/e009n45/3105258.stg:
Failed to load OBJECT_SHARED 'Models/Airport/Vehicles/Trailer/Container_trailer/container_trailr_4line_parking.ac'
C:/0 _ ARCHIVIO/99-fgdata/data/Scenery/Objects/e000n40/e009n45/3105258.stg:
Failed to load OBJECT_SHARED 'Models/Aircraft/asw20.ac'
C:/0 _ ARCHIVIO/99-fgdata/data/Scenery/Objects/e000n40/e009n45/3105258.stg:
Failed to load OBJECT_SHARED 'Models/Power/HV2_Pylon_36m.xml'


Naturally FG 2.6 was quittting regularly and loading my LIME :(

3) I'm able to start in Frankfurt EDDF (Rembrandt off) at some 15-20 fps against 30-35 fps wih FG2.6

4) UFO: when you clicck the typical red/white/blue cartesian axis doesn't show up
Callsign: I-SCIG
The hangar: http://digilander.libero.it/scighera_fg/index.html
The "happy motorbiker" - http://web.tiscali.it/kclub
User avatar
scighera
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:29 am
Location: LIME-Bergamo-Italy
Callsign: scighera
Version: 2dot6
OS: Windows 7

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC2

Postby curt » Fri Jul 06, 2012 3:20 pm

I have just uploaded 2.8.0-RC2 -- it shouldn't be a whole lot different from RC1, I'm mostly working on the administrative part of the process, streamlining and scripting a bit.

What is new is all the 2.8.0 (pre-release) aircraft are uploaded and available for testing with the release candidates. You can always get the pre-release aircraft out of "git", but they are also now available in standard .zip packaging and will be updated periodically. Part of the work I've been doing recently has been to streamline this part of the process. One issue we had in the 2.6.0 release is that when we were ready to release, we didn't have any of the 2.6 aircraft packaged or uploaded or distributed to the mirror system. This time around they will already be there and ready to go, and any last minute individual aircraft tweaks will be quick to repackage and upload.

http://www.flightgear.org/download/
curt
Administrator
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: FG 2.8.0-RC1

Postby scighera » Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:27 am

The new release 2.8.0-RC2 gives me the same problems of RC1

I discovered that FG stays stuck (at "loading scenery") also in LIMC Milano Malpensa; so it seems that I do not have access to my airport LIME, and the ones that I most use (LILV and LIMC).

I'm quite discouraged :roll:

I can enter in LIML (Milano Linate) but then FG doesn't load the tile containing LIME and LILV; on the contrary, if I enter in Ghedi and reach LIME from east ... it works

Definitely a strange behaviour !!!
Callsign: I-SCIG
The hangar: http://digilander.libero.it/scighera_fg/index.html
The "happy motorbiker" - http://web.tiscali.it/kclub
User avatar
scighera
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:29 am
Location: LIME-Bergamo-Italy
Callsign: scighera
Version: 2dot6
OS: Windows 7

Next

Return to 2.8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest