Board index FlightGear Development Canvas

Improving screen text visibility

Canvas is FlightGear's new fully scriptable 2D drawing system that will allow you to easily create new instruments, HUDs and even GUI dialogs and custom GUI widgets, without having to write C++ code and without having to rebuild FlightGear.

Re: Improving screen text visibility

Postby Talkless » Mon Mar 23, 2015 7:20 pm

tigert wrote in Mon Nov 10, 2014 6:30 am:How about using the "Solarized" palette for these messages? http://ethanschoonover.com/solarized


Thanks for the input, here how it looks "Solarized":
Image

There are (at least) two problems:
  • Text could have margin so that it would not touch edges of background.
  • Transparend Canvas window is on top of other windows and blocks user input.

I've pushed changes to my FGData fork.
Talkless
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:05 pm
Callsign: TLS
Version: git master
OS: Linux

Re: Improving screen text visibility

Postby Hooray » Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:18 pm

if there are any Canvas-level issues to make this work, please file a bug report or feature request.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11437
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Improving screen text visibility

Postby Talkless » Mon Apr 06, 2015 2:08 pm

Hooray wrote in Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:18 pm:if there are any Canvas-level issues to make this work, please file a bug report or feature request.


I've fixed input-capturing issue by adding:
Code: Select all
me._canvasWindow.setBool("capture-events", 0);


Now, for implementing text padding I have to do research, maybe it's also avaibleble...
Talkless
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:05 pm
Callsign: TLS
Version: git master
OS: Linux

Re: Improving screen text visibility

Postby Talkless » Mon Apr 06, 2015 2:30 pm

Ok, that was simple... setPadding() is available, so, current status (I can now click Excecute button, and text has padding).

Image
Talkless
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:05 pm
Callsign: TLS
Version: git master
OS: Linux

Re: Improving screen text visibility

Postby Talkless » Mon Apr 06, 2015 5:49 pm

Next, I'll try to "fix" duplicate messages we see in tutorial system.

Currently, it looks like this:

Image

I guess I could simply prolong lifetime of original line (with simple refactoring) instead of displaying duplicate, achieving it without Nasal interface change.

If anyone has any suggestions, input is quite welcome :!: .
Talkless
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:05 pm
Callsign: TLS
Version: git master
OS: Linux

Previous

Return to Canvas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest