Board index FlightGear Development Weather

AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Everything related to weather simulation, visuals should be discussed in the shader subforum.

AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon May 20, 2019 6:31 pm

This is now ready for testing:

https://github.com/legoboyvdlp/aloftWx/ ... /v0.9-beta

To install, download the files and put in a folder.

Then, install wgrib2 (not GPL or compatiable afaik so cannot distribute) - for windows:
ftp://ftp.cpc.ncep.noaa.gov/wd51we/wgrib2/Windows_64/ (for 64 bit)
or
ftp://ftp.cpc.ncep.noaa.gov/wd51we/wgrib2/Windows_7 (untested, may work for 32 bit)

Then, finally copy local_weather.nas to FGDATA/Nasal/local_weather (be sure to back up!) and copy aloft.xml to FGDATA/Protocol.
Add these to the command line:
Code: Select all
--generic=socket,out,1,localhost,5550,udp,aloft
--generic=socket,in,1,localhost,5553,udp,aloft


I will not show instructions as to how to use it to see if it is self-explanatory or I have to add some documentation / guides :)

And this is not a final release - I hope to eventually predict your heading and add nodes farther ahead.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby wkitty42 » Mon May 20, 2019 10:49 pm

is there a linux flavor of wgrib2?
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9123
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby Isaak » Mon May 20, 2019 10:57 pm

Great work, I'll test!
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: Hamme, Belgium
Pronouns: he, him
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: next
OS: Windows 10

Re: AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue May 21, 2019 12:27 am

Wkitty, I'm sure there is somewhere, not so sure where though, sorry.
This seems to have information about compiling: https://www.cpc.ncep.noaa.gov/products/ ... tions.html
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby Isaak » Tue May 21, 2019 9:14 am

Ok, I'm testing at the moment, got the grib thing working and after some fiddling downloaded a cycle. Then I pressed 'Load downloaded file', this seems to work. Then I pressed 'Parse loaded .grib2 file', but the bar gets stuck at 50%. When I press 'Connect to FG', nothing happens. Can you help me out?

Image
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: Hamme, Belgium
Pronouns: he, him
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: next
OS: Windows 10

Re: AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue May 21, 2019 9:23 am

I think that's a bug. It's meant to go to 100%, not 50%.

Connect to FG automatically receives data from FlightGear and opens the connection so it can parse the grib file and send the data back. It will listen to the latitude and longitude properties and re-parse every time the rounded value changes from one interval of 0.50 to the other (e.g. from 11.5N to 12N it changes at 11.75N and that triggers the script to parse data and send it to flightgear

Do you see any output in the console window?
If it's successfully running you should see some messages with the command line and output of wgrib2.

Even if you don't (are Release builds different to Debug builds?) you should see "adding aloft point for X, Y" in the flightgear console (X and Y being the latitude and longitude)
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby Isaak » Tue May 21, 2019 9:34 am

Do I have to start wgrib2.exe too? Because when I start it (Win10 64 bit), I briefly see a command window, but it disappears before I can read what 's written in it.
In the FG console I don't see any aloft outputs.
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: Hamme, Belgium
Pronouns: he, him
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: next
OS: Windows 10

Re: AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby V12 » Tue May 21, 2019 10:04 am

wkitty42 wrote in Mon May 20, 2019 10:49 pm:is there a linux flavor of wgrib2?

You can try wine. It should works.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
V12
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue May 21, 2019 10:25 am

Isaak wrote in Tue May 21, 2019 9:34 am:Do I have to start wgrib2.exe too? Because when I start it (Win10 64 bit), I briefly see a command window, but it disappears before I can read what 's written in it.
In the FG console I don't see any aloft outputs.


No, you shouldn't need wgrib2.exe as the app will open wgrib2 automatically.

Did you set up the ports in the options window and use:

Code: Select all
--generic=socket,out,1,localhost,5550,udp,aloft
--generic=socket,in,1,localhost,5553,udp,aloft


(changing ports to match)?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby Isaak » Tue May 21, 2019 10:51 am

Ok, I assumed the ports were configured right out of the box, but it seems 5554 and 5553 are used instead of 5550 and 5553. Now when I press connect to FG the program closes, but I don't seem to get the real world aloft winds.

The parsing bar still hangs at 50%

Just to be sure: I've selected 'live weather' and 'aloft waypoints' in the advanced weather menu. Are these the right settings?
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: Hamme, Belgium
Pronouns: he, him
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: next
OS: Windows 10

Re: AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue May 21, 2019 11:15 am

The program certainly shouldn't close. Maybe that's a bug. To confirm, you did add the path to wgrib2 (not to the .exe but to the directory) to the file? And was there any error message?

Regardless, I've fixed the bug with the progress bar (and I will also set the default ports correctly) and will make a new release.

You want to use aloft waypoint interpolated - so I think thats the right one, yes. It will use both live weather and aloft winds.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby Isaak » Tue May 21, 2019 11:22 am

When I use aloft waypoint interpolated I get a warning in FG: "wind model not supported, aborting."

After clicking on 'Connect to FG', I was able to quickly make a screenshot of the console window of aloftWx.exe, before it closed (about half a second later):
Image
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: Hamme, Belgium
Pronouns: he, him
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: next
OS: Windows 10

Re: AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby Isaak » Tue May 21, 2019 11:23 am

Ok, just now I see that it is in Dutch. The text reads:
Unprocessed exception: system.formatexception: the format of the inputstring is wrong.
at system.number.parsedouble(String value, Numbers...)
at Aloftwx...
--- end of stacktracing from previous location where the exception occured ---
...
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: Hamme, Belgium
Pronouns: he, him
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: next
OS: Windows 10

Re: AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue May 21, 2019 11:27 am

Ok - thanks - I'll try and fix that.

As for wind model not supported maybe Thorsten will know why; I don't. You are using live METAR?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: AloftWx v0.9 Beta released

Postby Isaak » Tue May 21, 2019 11:29 am

Maybe it abborts because no data is fed into it yet? I always use aloft waypoints because I had that error maybe 4-5 years ago for interpolated so assumed this was not implemented for live weather. (so I think this has nothing to do with your aloft wind program :) )
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: Hamme, Belgium
Pronouns: he, him
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: next
OS: Windows 10

Next

Return to Weather

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron