Board index FlightGear Release candidates

2017.2.1

Release candidate testers are encouraged to post their feedback here. Please read the introduction topic for details.
Forum rules
Please read the introduction topic for details.

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby D-ABBA » Sun May 28, 2017 8:02 am

Hi Flyngo and all user
they are using --console or other properties.

For 2017.2.1. on win10 create an .txt file. Take text as follow:

Rem ----------------------------------------------
Rem FGFS 2017.2.1 starten mit launcher und console
Rem FGFS 2017.2.1 start with launcher and console
Rem ----------------------------------------------
"C:\FlightGear 2017.2.1\bin\fgfs.exe" --launcher --console
exit

Save as fgfs FGFS 2017.2.1 mit --launcher --console start.bat however
you want. I create the batchjob at desktop.

After double-clicking, you will first be prompted to choose the data folder of FlightGear 2017.2.1 (only for the first time).
After this, FlightGear starts as usual via launcher and console, like the specified properties.

Running FlightGear you can close the batch cmd. Have fun with your flight.
Note: Once the developers have made the --console entered into launcher
-> Settings
-> Additional Settings --> --console
or
-> General (Show more) Hook --> Show Debugging Console
are in this Version not usable, you can help so ....

Nice to help interested users...
Sincerly
D-ABBA
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby Flyngo » Sun May 28, 2017 10:25 am

So console works now for you? Good. (I didnt want you to open a second instance. :D) Good idea with the bat file.
And yes, that setting in the new launcher does nothing. Also my install of 2017.2.1 has some strange behaviour concerning airplane folders. But when it flies, it flies very nicely.

Greetings from the south to Wetzlar, Ingo
Flyngo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:47 pm
Location: EDDS
Callsign: KC-URG
Version: 2017.2.1

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby D-ABBA » Sun May 28, 2017 11:26 am

AjAj Flyngo,

You wrote:
...Also my install of 2017.2.1 has some strange behaviour concerning airplane folders. But when it flies, it flies very nicely.

Of course you should check the link in the add-ons (launcher 2nd page) under "Additional aircraft locations"

Mmmh. Tell me a little trick.

You install FGFS to C:\Programme\FlightGear 2017.2.1... install like FlightGear-2017.2.1.exe do it.
I install FGFS since win7 like the follow link: C:\FlightGear 2017.2.1
All aircraft folder at the same way placed: C:\FGFS_Aircraft_TortoiseSVN\ ... C:\FGFSFavoritesAircraft ... C:\FGFSmyCustomSceneries .... aso.

So I bypass the rights which the user of windows10 gets pushed. Check out the new approach to installing the next version of FGFS.

Grüsse nach Stuttgart
D-ABBA (Thomas)
PS.: Grausames Englisch was ??
Last edited by D-ABBA on Sun May 28, 2017 5:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby Flyngo » Sun May 28, 2017 4:00 pm

Yeah Thomas, I did something like this (install program in C:, not in the Windows program place, have the whole Documents incl. Gigs of planes and scenery on D:). Worked nicely untill 2017.2.1, but with the new launcher something has changed. Will check your idea putting the Gigs somewhere else; maybe Windows does the "you stupid user are not allowed to change a spying system" routine also with the Doc folder. Will check this when the weather is bad enough again to spend some time inside.

Greets, Ingo ((nicht grausam, durchaus verständliches Pilotenenglisch :wink: ; ich sprech, weil öfters dort, indisches Englisch, das is viel schlimmer;-))
Flyngo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:47 pm
Location: EDDS
Callsign: KC-URG
Version: 2017.2.1

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby D-ABBA » Sun May 28, 2017 4:42 pm

To maintainer ?

Next bug I found.
In all multiplayer channel I will found the follow Text on console:

Multiplayer packet truncated prop id: 10314: sim/multiplay/generic/int[14]

What´s that problem ???

Best wishes
D-ABBA
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby Richard » Sun May 28, 2017 6:22 pm

D-ABBA wrote in Sun May 28, 2017 4:42 pm:Multiplayer packet truncated prop id: 10314: sim/multiplay/generic/int[14]


This message indicates there are too many properties to transmit in a single UDP packet of 1200 bytes[1].

It is something that the aircraft maintainer should be made aware of. I'm aware the both the F-15 and F-14 are likely to produce this error and I'm working to fix these.

--------------
[1] To avoid memory overwrites the packet is truncated at the property stated.
Richard
 
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:17 pm
Version: Git
OS: Win10

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby D-ABBA » Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:20 pm

Hi user and maintainer.

Which terrasync terrain contains the osm2city features? (Street lights by night, railway textures, street textures aso).

What needs to be chosen so that you can enjoy these features?

Please tell me which tiles are affected? (Airfields, cities, landscapes)

Thank you for your support.

D-ABBA

PS .: I am indeed an old hare which affects FlightGear. I would like to be happy with Flightgear as well as the newcomers. :)
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby vanosten » Fri Jun 02, 2017 3:11 pm

D-ABBA wrote in Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:20 pm:Which terrasync terrain contains the osm2city features? (Street lights by night, railway textures, street textures aso).


The short answer: none at the moment. Please have a look at https://forum.flightgear.org/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=32254, espcially the first post of that topic.
Maintaining osm2city. Contributing with ground attack stuff to the OPRF FlightGear military-simulation community.
vanosten
 
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:38 pm
Location: Denmark - but I am Swiss
Callsign: HB-VANO
Version: latest
OS: Win 10 and Ubuntu

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby D-ABBA » Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:41 pm

Hi vanosten.

Find out by myself. Using at the moment the Netherland osm2city at shipol.
Very good performance (43frames/s). Looking great. I hope it goes seamlessly with the normal scenery.
Taken from terramaster and / or terrasync.

Looks very good by night.

Greetings
D-ABBA
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:59 pm

@D-ABBA: it does...

PS: both terramaster and terrasync pull their data from the same place so it all works properly... you can also add terrasync.py and terraFS since they also pull from the same place for the scenery ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5695
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby VisayanAirways » Fri Jun 09, 2017 4:31 am

Downloaded it.... this showed up, wasted 2 hours of my life.. any fix?

Image
Visayan Airways, The FlightGear Airline of the Philippines :)
User avatar
VisayanAirways
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:19 am

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby Thorsten » Fri Jun 09, 2017 5:57 am

It's not really FGs fault but rather comes from Micro$oft - you're missing a Windows service pack that contains the dll.

(my understanding is that this is changed in the nightlies again where the particular bit of code has been re-compiled to get around the dependency - so you need either the service pack or a recent nightly).
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11087
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby VisayanAirways » Fri Jun 09, 2017 9:31 am

I recently wanna come back to FlightGear since FG has a very special place in me (I've been flying FSX and PMDGs for months now)

I am also gonna improve the cockpit of the 747-8 soon with the help of my friend (not an FG-user)

So thank you very much for those solutions as highlighted on the parenthesis, so where can I download the nightly version?
Visayan Airways, The FlightGear Airline of the Philippines :)
User avatar
VisayanAirways
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:19 am

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Jun 11, 2017 4:58 pm

http://download.flightgear.org/builds/nightly/
i'm going to guess that the EXE files are for winwhatever and the DMG files are for macs... linux users would need to build their own or maybe get their nightlies from the PPA if it provides such...

remember, nightlies are bleeding edge and may very well contain bugs... if you run into any, please report them responsibly so they can be fixed... don't do like some folks do and complain while dropping back to an older version and not providing any information to fix the problem ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5695
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: 2017.2.1

Postby Catalanoic » Sun Jun 11, 2017 5:39 pm

"I am also gonna improve the cockpit of the 747-8 soon with the help of my friend (not an FG-user)": This is nice welcomed, 747 need work
User avatar
Catalanoic
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:33 am
Location: Barcelona (LEBL)
Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3
OS: Lubuntu/Windows 7

PreviousNext

Return to Release candidates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest