Board index FlightGear Release candidates

3.7 no smoke

Release candidate testers are encouraged to post their feedback here. Please read the introduction topic for details.
Forum rules
Please read the introduction topic for details.

3.7 no smoke

Postby Foxtrot15 » Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:15 am

Hi I just noticed that the latest releases of 3.7 do not show smoke particles at all, so all the smoke from the CAP-10B or JA-37 do not show anymore. The steam catapults on carriers also do not show steam. I did verify that smoke particles under rendering is selected.

Anyone with the same problem?
Foxtrot15
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 5:01 am
Location: Singapore
Callsign: Ice-99
Version: 2016.1.0
OS: OS X

Re: 3.7 no smoke

Postby Necolatis » Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:18 am

Yes, seems particle effects are broken in 3.7. This was mentioned on the devel list also I believe.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1907
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: 3.7 no smoke

Postby Foxtrot15 » Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:35 am

How did it get broken? I did remember that earlier versions of 3.7 had smoke, but the few recent ones don't
Foxtrot15
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 5:01 am
Location: Singapore
Callsign: Ice-99
Version: 2016.1.0
OS: OS X

Re: 3.7 no smoke

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Jan 02, 2016 2:27 am

how did it get broken? there's a lot of work going on in the core code... it doesn't take but one typo to break something... in the case of the current changes, a lot of stuff is being moved out of the global declarations files... this should help to instantiate certain core tasks only when they are needed instead of them being instantiated all the time even when not needed... i'm not sure but this may be part of the work towards the HLA flavor of the sim... HLA being that different tasks are run by separate programs which all talk to a central controller unit... that will make the GUI interface (not the menu as some are want to call it) rendering one separate module while all the other stuff like AI craft and weather and such are in other modules which all talk to a central module... think of it like a central server with various clients getting and giving information while the GUI interface simply renders what it is told is available to render...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5428
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: 3.7 no smoke

Postby dtlan201 » Sat Jan 02, 2016 4:27 am

Me, too. Also, the performance in this release is really bad , I got 8-9 fps instead of 20-22 fps (with previous last 3.7)
dtlan201
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 3:49 am
Callsign: MIA0774
Version: 3.7
OS: Windows 7

Re: 3.7 no smoke

Postby Patten » Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:45 am

Hi,
+1
- No smoke for aircraft which should have (from the exhaust-pipe, wheels, aerobatics).
- FG crash after "a while", with AI-Traffic checked (ON). Whatever the aircraft.


:D
Patten
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 8:43 am
Location: Lyon France
Callsign: Patten
Version: 2018.2.0
OS: LinuxMint18.3 Sylvia


Return to Release candidates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest