Board index FlightGear Release candidates

FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Release candidate testers are encouraged to post their feedback here. Please read the introduction topic for details.
Forum rules
Please read the introduction topic for details.

FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:14 pm

Hi guys,
I have noticed for over a week that TerraSync fails to work. It simply spins 'downloading scenery' around and around.
Will be filing over on sourceforge.

Simply load with TerraSync on latest FGDATA and a build from a week ago (installing fresh one now), and it refuses to do anything.
What is funny is that prop/sim/terrasync/svn-server shows "" (unspecified)
Server is gone-a-bit-bursar.com -- can't copy/paste from property browser.

The server which scenery.flightgear.org/svn-server shows is http://geoscope.ucsd.edu:8080/terrascen ... Scenery/...
Testing now with latest 3.7
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6846
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:18 pm

Right, installing flightgear again does not help.
rsync-server is scenery.flightgear.org::scenery [sic - :: is not a typing error]
use-svn and use-builtin-svn are true.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6846
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby wlbragg » Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:25 pm

I confirm this. My fresh Debian install can not get terrasync data, it is broken. It's been this way for quite some time, any install I have using 3.6-3.7 isn't working as far as terrasync is concerned. I'm not sure why more users aren't noticing this?

Refer to this also http://forum.flightgear.org/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=27230
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4754
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:27 pm

Well, we have moved servers of course.
But the issue is, latest builds seem not to have been told about the new server!!!!!
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6846
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby wlbragg » Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:29 pm

legoboyvdlp wrote in Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:27 pm:Well, we have moved servers of course.
But the issue is, latest builds seem not to have been told about the new server!!!!!

It there a way to set that manually without touching the code? I saw a command line arg to use and tried it but am uncertain it is the correct format or data path.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4754
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:32 pm

pommesschranke wrote in Sat Sep 19, 2015 7:47 pm:you have to make sure that Terrasync/Flightgear/Terramaster is using the correct server. NOT the code.google.com which will go offline soon.

get the correct url for your SVN server from here:
http://scenery.flightgear.org/svn-server

check for scenery updates here:
http://scenery.flightgear.org
or here:
http://scenery.flightgear.org/websvn/rs ... 2F&isdir=1

try:
--prop:/sim/terrasync/svn-server=........


Is this it? I will try it right now!
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6846
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:34 pm

Right, adding that to my command line (in FGRUN) changes the property svn-server to 'http://geoscope.ucsd.edu:8080/terrascenery/trunk/data/Scenery/', but there is no change.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6846
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:35 pm

Thank goodness I installed scenery for the USA Tour beforehand...
Now I cannot fly to anywhere with nice scenery except where I already had it installed.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6846
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby massima » Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:59 pm

The right path was suggested by pommesschranke and it is stored here:

Code: Select all
http://scenery.flightgear.org/svn-server


it is:

Code: Select all
http://foxtrot.mgras.net:8080/terrascenery/trunk/data/Scenery/


Very simple
User avatar
massima
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 6:48 pm
Location: Italy
Callsign: M-AXX
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: debian testing

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby elgaton » Mon Sep 21, 2015 5:29 pm

legoboyvdlp wrote in Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:27 pm:But the issue is, latest builds seem not to have been told about the new server!!!!!

It's not a build issue (the new server selection mechanism was introduced in commit 6683092bb216604914b6e0b42733b7ec9876af2c, in April). I have checked both servers manually: both respond, although geoscope.ucsd.edu takes a long time to do so. Are there any error messages in the FlightGear log? Most importantly, what happens if you access http://geoscope.ucsd.edu:8080/terrascen ... a/Scenery/ with a Web browser - do you notice a high latency or does the site not open at all? If it's a high latency problem, I'll send an enhancement request to the bug tracker.

The --prop:/sim/terrasync/svn-server=... switch mentioned by pommesschranke should work - append the SVN server URL provided by massima and you should be good to go.
NIATCA 2nd admin, regular ATC at LIPX and creator of the LIPX custom scenery
elgaton
 
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:58 pm
Callsign: I-ELGA/LIPX_TW
Version: Git
OS: Windows + Arch Linux

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby simbambim » Mon Sep 21, 2015 7:36 pm

what happens if you access http://geoscope.ucsd.edu:8080/terrascen ... a/Scenery/ with a Web browser

The connection has timed out.
Fly on VATSIM and die.
simbambim
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 5:41 pm
Version: 3.2

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby elgaton » Mon Sep 21, 2015 7:49 pm

Timeout as well for me now.

@legoboyvdlp: feel free to file an enhancement request - the problem is, if the server chosen by http://scenery.flightgear.org/svn-server fails, FG currently has no "fallback" mechanism (i.e. it does not choose another, probably good, server).
NIATCA 2nd admin, regular ATC at LIPX and creator of the LIPX custom scenery
elgaton
 
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:58 pm
Callsign: I-ELGA/LIPX_TW
Version: Git
OS: Windows + Arch Linux

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby wlbragg » Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:24 pm

Code: Select all
--prop:/sim/terrasync/svn-server=http://foxtrot.mgras.net:8080/terrascenery/trunk/data/Scenery/

This fixed it for me. The other suggested URL didn't work.

Thank you
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4754
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby wlbragg » Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:35 pm

elgaton wrote in Mon Sep 21, 2015 5:29 pm:
legoboyvdlp wrote in Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:27 pm:But the issue is, latest builds seem not to have been told about the new server!!!!!

It's not a build issue (the new server selection mechanism was introduced in commit 6683092bb216604914b6e0b42733b7ec9876af2c, in April). I have checked both servers manually: both respond, although geoscope.ucsd.edu takes a long time to do so. Are there any error messages in the FlightGear log?

See https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/63093453/fg/log.txt for flight log errors.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4754
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: FG3.7 TerraSync Issue

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Sep 21, 2015 10:00 pm

Actually, no console errors.
Strange...
Does take a long time to open.
So, betting on that.
I put the server that scenery.flightgear.org gave me.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6846
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Next

Return to Release candidates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests