Board index FlightGear Release candidates

ALS: Terrain goes black

Release candidate testers are encouraged to post their feedback here. Please read the introduction topic for details.
Forum rules
Please read the introduction topic for details.

ALS: Terrain goes black

Postby Bug Bunny » Sat Aug 08, 2015 3:40 pm

I've opened a new topic for Thorsten, I will follow this quote and post my results after testing.

Afterthought:

We need to organize that, sort genuine bugs from things you find odd and establish a flow of information. An ever-growing list of mixed issues will not lead anywhere.

Since rendering is my department, I'd like to focus on understanding this part. Well, ALS in particular. Please open a new thread for the terrain-goes-black thing, reporting the following information.

* start FG with --log-level=warn (this will print shader compilation errors directly to the console, so you see them when they occur and don't need to examine the log file)

* go to the default airport (say KSFO)

* start the sim with ALS on but lowest quality level for all shaders

-> are there any compilation errors, if so, which?

* set transition all the way to max. quality

-> do you see the terrain go black?

* set landmass all the way to max. quality

-> do you see the terrain go black, if so, do you see a compilation error to the console, if so, what is it?

If you didn't see the black terrain, repeat the exercise where you first observed this

-> do you see the terrain go black, if so, do you see a compilation error to the console, if so, what is it? What is the location (lat, lon)?
Bug Bunny
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Ukraine
Version: 3.6.0RC
OS: Windows 7

Re: ALS: Terrain goes black

Postby Bug Bunny » Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:31 pm

Testing on KSFO airport:
* start the sim with ALS on but lowest quality level for all shaders
-> are there any compilation errors, if so, which?

YES
Code: Select all
opengl:4:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Viewer\fg_os_osgviewer.cxx:193:glLinkProgram "" FAILED
opengl:4:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Viewer\fg_os_osgviewer.cxx:193:Program "" infolog:
Vertex shader(s) failed to link, fragment shader(s) failed to link.
Vertex link error: INVALID_OPERATION.
ERROR: 0:57: error(#248) Function already has a body: main
ERROR: error(#273) 1 compilation errors.  No code generated

fragment link error: INVALID_OPERATION.
ERROR: 0:81: error(#248) Function already has a body: main
ERROR: error(#273) 1 compilation errors.  No code generated

following

osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!


* set transition all the way to max. quality
-> do you see the terrain go black?

NO
* set landmass all the way to max. quality
-> do you see the terrain go black, if so, do you see a compilation error to the console, if so, what is it?

NO, no errors
If you didn't see the black terrain, repeat the exercise where you first observed this
-> do you see the terrain go black, if so, do you see a compilation error to the console, if so, what is it? What is the location (lat, lon)?

Testing at UKON airport, 3000 ft
Error at start if you look around (all MIN, changing TRANSITION and LANDMASS does not produce any errors and no black tiles):
Code: Select all
glLinkProgram "" FAILED

Program "" infolog:
Vertex shader(s) failed to link, fragment shader(s) failed to link.
Vertex link error: INVALID_OPERATION.
ERROR: 0:57: error(#248) Function already has a body: main
ERROR: error(#273) 1 compilation errors.  No code generated

fragment link error: INVALID_OPERATION.
ERROR: 0:81: error(#248) Function already has a body: main
ERROR: error(#273) 1 compilation errors.  No code generated
Bug Bunny
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Ukraine
Version: 3.6.0RC
OS: Windows 7


Return to Release candidates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests