Board index FlightGear Release candidates

Grass in FG

Release candidate testers are encouraged to post their feedback here. Please read the introduction topic for details.
Forum rules
Please read the introduction topic for details.

Grass in FG

Postby Foxtrot15 » Tue Jan 26, 2016 10:58 am

Hi,

I read somewhere in the wiki that 3.6 has 3d grass. Interestingly, neither 3.6, 3.7 nor 16.0 has 3d grass with rendering maxed out.

Did I read wrongly?
Foxtrot15
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 5:01 am
Location: Singapore
Callsign: Ice-99
Version: 2016.1.0
OS: OS X

Re: Grass in FG

Postby Thorsten » Tue Jan 26, 2016 11:11 am

You have to uncomment the lines for volumetric grass in the materials file. I didn't find a way to make it look good with Rembrandt or default on, so I didn't simply want to spoil things for non-ALS users.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 12072
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Grass in FG

Postby Hooray » Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:00 pm

sounds like materials.xml might benefit from supporting XML conditions, or does it already ?
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12399
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Grass in FG

Postby Thorsten » Tue Jan 26, 2016 3:03 pm

They do, but random vegetation is an effect declared on top of that and effects do not support the standard conditions (they do support predicates). Since grass runs over what is in essence the normal tree effect, disabling it when Rembrandt is running kills all the trees.

I suppose with enough determination it can be hacked into something that actually switches, but then it's also a performance-critical thing,...
Thorsten
 
Posts: 12072
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Grass in FG

Postby TheEagle » Fri Aug 13, 2021 7:10 pm

Thorsten wrote in Tue Jan 26, 2016 11:11 am:You have to uncomment the lines for volumetric grass in the materials file. I didn't find a way to make it look good with Rembrandt or default on, so I didn't simply want to spoil things for non-ALS users.

Which materials.xml file ?
User avatar
TheEagle
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Sat May 01, 2021 2:27 pm
Location: France
Callsign: F-EAGLE
IRC name: none
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Ubuntu Studio 20.04

Re: Grass in FG

Postby wlbragg » Fri Aug 13, 2021 7:21 pm

No longer needed, in the shader settings you need "Wind Effects" enabled and "Overlay" enabled and a graphics card that supports geometry shaders.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6222
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Grass in FG

Postby wlbragg » Fri Aug 13, 2021 7:22 pm

I'm not sure which all helicopters support it, but for sure the AirCrane supports grass rotor wash as well to help test if it is working for you.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6222
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480


Return to Release candidates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest