Board index FlightGear Media Challenges

STUNT Challenge (finished): Fly through a hangar!

Screenshot and video challenges. Send in your nicest media!

STUNT Challenge (finished): Fly through a hangar!

Postby Oscar » Fri May 27, 2011 11:51 pm

NEW Challenge: Fly through a hangar!



It was hard to decide who won last week's challenge. Fmg did a great job landing on that tiny tower. Still, other entries were amazingly done as well!

This week's challenge: fly through any hangar, with any aircraft :) Leave your videos and screenshots here!

Have fun!
Last edited by Oscar on Fri Sep 23, 2011 4:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Oscar
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 1:12 pm
Location: The Netherlands
OS: Mac OS X

Re: NEW Stunt Challenge: Fly through a hangar!

Postby 439Tiger » Sat May 28, 2011 4:06 am

Ok... So how do you get the damn doors to open??? :evil: I tried clicking on them and it doesn't work.

I'm using the GIT version...
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Re: NEW Stunt Challenge: Fly through a hangar!

Postby Pat70 » Sat May 28, 2011 6:27 am

Hi,

@Tiger/Bob,
Well, depends where you re flying, in KSFO the main Hangar has clickable door even if you might have to click few times it works fine for me under 2.0 and a git snapshot
At Moffet (KNUQ) you have a hangar with the 2 doors already open...at least partially :) thats the challenge i think.
Did it with the Sikorsky ..S76C need to work on vid and then i ll post it...i plan it with UH1 too
cheers
Pat
Pat (Pat 70 on the forum...) sometimes as Pat2 on the Laptop
Member of the FG Rotor Flying Club http://fgrc.tk/
Pat70
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:13 am
Location: Fr
Callsign: Pat
Version: 2
OS: MAcOSX 10.5

Re: NEW Stunt Challenge: Fly through a hangar!

Postby fmg » Sat May 28, 2011 8:39 am

Hi,

it's a bit old, but for fly through a hangar I have this:



See topic:
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=12145

enjoy

Be warned: it's the whole flight without music!
My first movie. The next one will be shorter.

f-)
User avatar
fmg
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 5:13 pm
Location: EDDI
Callsign: fotomas
Version: 2
OS: Mac OS X 10.6.8

Re: NEW Stunt Challenge: Fly through a hangar!

Postby 439Tiger » Sat May 28, 2011 2:46 pm

Pat70 wrote in Sat May 28, 2011 6:27 am:Hi,

@Tiger/Bob,
Well, depends where you re flying, in KSFO the main Hangar has clickable door even if you might have to click few times it works fine for me under 2.0 and a git snapshot
At Moffet (KNUQ) you have a hangar with the 2 doors already open...at least partially :) thats the challenge i think.
Did it with the Sikorsky ..S76C need to work on vid and then i ll post it...i plan it with UH1 too
cheers
Pat


Salut Pat,

At Moffet, KNUQ the doors are completely closed in the GIT version, I tried clicking on both sides of the hangar and nothing happens :?

I need to get the doors fully opened before I attempt my stunt, I plan on it being a high sub-sonic knife edge pass :twisted:
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Re: NEW Stunt Challenge: Fly through a hangar!

Postby Pat70 » Sat May 28, 2011 4:58 pm

Hi Bob,
Ok, we were not speaking of the same Hangar :)
i usually fly throu the little one who is static but with both doors partially opened (that should always be the case)
For the big big large hangar :) i can open doors on 2.0 and on a GIT snapshot for Mac but its slow and for me really FPS killer !
you can see if doors are clickable, just take any basic A/C (it works with UH1 at least) and press CTRL c to see the "hot spots" the doors should appear with yellow lines..then should be clickable else something wrong in your GIT , may be download again that area if its possible
Good luck...good Stunt :mrgreen:
by the way your last landing in the movie was already a stunt one :D just add the hangar around !
Cheers
Pat (Pat 70 on the forum...) sometimes as Pat2 on the Laptop
Member of the FG Rotor Flying Club http://fgrc.tk/
Pat70
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:13 am
Location: Fr
Callsign: Pat
Version: 2
OS: MAcOSX 10.5

Re: NEW Stunt Challenge: Fly through a hangar!

Postby 439Tiger » Sat May 28, 2011 11:10 pm

:P

EDIT:

I did get the hangars to open, I had to remove that scenery tile and re-install it to do it though :evil:

But in my first try with my trusty Twotter I did this take: 8)



Needless to say I replayed and recorded it in every possible angle and will make a little movie with it :D
Last edited by 439Tiger on Sun May 29, 2011 2:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Re: NEW Stunt Challenge: Fly through a hangar!

Postby Oscar » Sat May 28, 2011 11:14 pm

Great :) Awesome stuff guys! Keep it coming :wink:
User avatar
Oscar
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 1:12 pm
Location: The Netherlands
OS: Mac OS X

Re: NEW Stunt Challenge: Fly through a hangar!

Postby Sweetgrapes » Sun May 29, 2011 6:51 am

Flying through a hangar is actually really easy. Just don`t think that the plane is not going to fit through.
Oscar, I challenge you to fly through the KSFO hangar.
"A bird can`t damage an engine, but an engine can damage a bird."
User avatar
Sweetgrapes
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 8:27 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Callsign: Wingtip or MIA0049
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

Re: NEW Stunt Challenge: Fly through a hangar!

Postby shadow » Sun May 29, 2011 9:03 am

Wingtipped wrote in Sun May 29, 2011 6:51 am:Flying through a hangar is actually really easy. Just don`t think that the plane is not going to fit through.
Oscar, I challenge you to fly through the KSFO hangar.


Where's the hard part?
F-16 is the way
shadow
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:02 am
Callsign: shadow

Re: NEW Stunt Challenge: Fly through a hangar!

Postby Mcayon » Sun May 29, 2011 9:20 am

I got two questions: Does it have to be the KNUQ hangar? and... What other hangars can you fly through than the KNUQ and the KSFO hangar?
Mcayon
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 10:34 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-SJE
Version: GIT
OS: Mac OS X

Re: NEW Stunt Challenge: Fly through a hangar!

Postby Oscar » Sun May 29, 2011 12:32 pm

Wingtipped wrote in Sun May 29, 2011 6:51 am:Flying through a hangar is actually really easy. Just don`t think that the plane is not going to fit through.
Oscar, I challenge you to fly through the KSFO hangar.
Sure :wink: It'll be in the next video.
Mcayon wrote in Sun May 29, 2011 9:20 am:I got two questions: Does it have to be the KNUQ hangar? and... What other hangars can you fly through than the KNUQ and the KSFO hangar?
No, it can be any hangar. I wasn't very clear about that, but any hangar is fine :) And sorry, I don't really know many other hangars to fly through...
User avatar
Oscar
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 1:12 pm
Location: The Netherlands
OS: Mac OS X

Re: NEW Stunt Challenge: Fly through a hangar!

Postby Alant » Sun May 29, 2011 2:58 pm

I once landed in a hangar - For real !

It was many years ago as a young air cadet and it was the last flight of the day in a Slingsby Sedburg glider. I was the trainee/co-pilot.

Rather than push the thing back accross the airfield the officer said "hang on" and we went straight for the apron and through the doors.

Seburgs only had one wheel and nose and tail skids. The nose skid was more like a ski and the thing stopped very quickly if you pushed the stick forward.

My log book says 17/7/65, RAF Tangmere, which was a month after my first solo in a Slingsby Cadet MkIII.

Alan
Alant
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

Stunt Challenge

Postby fmg » Sun May 29, 2011 7:27 pm

Now there was another windy day at KSFO. So now I can offer also a video for the KSFO tower landing (though this has now changed to the Fly trough a hangar challenge).
Unfortunately the tower guys have placed some nasty sticks on their roof in the new version, to prevent people from landing there. ;-) But this don't bother the Storch. OK - it's not the most elegant landing, I have had better, but the machine is in the right place.



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYh5hFI6lIA

f-)
User avatar
fmg
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 5:13 pm
Location: EDDI
Callsign: fotomas
Version: 2
OS: Mac OS X 10.6.8

Re: NEW Stunt Challenge: Fly through a hangar!

Postby Oscar » Sun May 29, 2011 7:45 pm

Alant wrote in Sun May 29, 2011 2:58 pm:I once landed in a hangar - For real !

...
That's a great story! I like it :) (I should also make a thumbs-up image I guess...)
fmg wrote in Sun May 29, 2011 7:27 pm:Now there was another windy day at KSFO. So now I can offer also a video for the KSFO tower landing ... OK - it's not the most elegant landing, I have had better, but the machine is in the right place.
Looks great! Good quality video :wink:
User avatar
Oscar
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 1:12 pm
Location: The Netherlands
OS: Mac OS X

Next

Return to Challenges

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests