Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Systems

Select correct frequency for ILS

Modeling aircraft systems, like electrical stuff, hydraulics, pneumatics? Feel free to ask support.

Select correct frequency for ILS

Postby Hyde » Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:56 pm

@James,

I posted to mailing list but in case of you haven't seen, post here too.

When I use following function

airportinfo(KSFO).runways[28R].ils.frequency/100

I get 110.75 instead of 111.70.
110.75 is a LDA frequency.
How can I get ILS frequency or can't you ignore the LDA frequency?

And in the map ILS arrow tail mark of 28R is also wrong.

Can you fix it?
Hyde
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:09 pm
Location: Peachtree city, GA
Callsign: N407DS
Version: GIT
OS: Fedora 25

Re: Select correct frequency for ILS

Postby Hyde » Sat Jun 25, 2016 9:04 pm

I tentatively delete the KSFL 38R LDA data from nav.dat.
Now 28R ILS works fine and MAP indication also becomes correct.

Hope it will be fixed as well as ILS enable/disable feature for the runway which has same frequency of ILS.
Hyde
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:09 pm
Location: Peachtree city, GA
Callsign: N407DS
Version: GIT
OS: Fedora 25

Re: Select correct frequency for ILS

Postby Clive2670 » Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:10 pm

I find that it is nice to use ILS approach and autoland "to get a feel" for the approach and airport before trying to "make a pigs ear" of a landing myself!!! As "Hyde" said it would be nice if "the pilot" had the choice to "turn off" the opposite ILS to prevent conflicts and prevent the plane from trying to do an about turn on itself just before landing!!! I'm NOT a programmer, I'll maybe get my head chewed off for saying this but, surely it can't take too many extra line of program data to execute a fairly simple option to turn on or off the "not required" ILS either at the start of the flight, maybe build it into the route manager or on the main menu somewhere? Before all the programmers tear my head off and s**t down my neck let me get my armour out please!!!!
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Select correct frequency for ILS

Postby Thorsten » Tue Aug 23, 2016 5:57 am

It's a ten liner aircraft side to advise the systems to ignore a signal and compute offsets relative to the last reliable position instead when on the last bit of the approach. It's apparently highly non-trivial to sort this out scenery side.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11106
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Select correct frequency for ILS

Postby Clive2670 » Tue Aug 23, 2016 5:05 pm

Thorsten wrote in Tue Aug 23, 2016 5:57 am:It's a ten liner aircraft side to advise the systems to ignore a signal and compute offsets relative to the last reliable position instead when on the last bit of the approach. It's apparently highly non-trivial to sort this out scenery side.

Thanks Thorsten, Will this code change/update be considered for the next release of 2016 (****.4.1) maybe?
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Select correct frequency for ILS

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Aug 23, 2016 5:26 pm

i think by "aircraft side" he means that each aircraft that can auto-land and has this problem needs to handle the fix themselves... so whomever it is that is maintaining said craft should look into this and implement the fix...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5700
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Select correct frequency for ILS

Postby Clive2670 » Tue Aug 23, 2016 5:34 pm

wkitty42 wrote in Tue Aug 23, 2016 5:26 pm:i think by "aircraft side" he means that each aircraft that can auto-land and has this problem needs to handle the fix themselves... so whomever it is that is maintaining said craft should look into this and implement the fix...

Oh ok sorry misunderstood!! Is the F/G 777 range "managed" by the F/G team?
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Select correct frequency for ILS

Postby Thorsten » Tue Aug 23, 2016 6:11 pm

Depends on what you mean by 'the FG team'. Not by the core developers, each aircraft has one or more maintainers.

It's a hack of course what I'm suggesting and by rights it ought to be fixed FG-side, but that doesn't seem trivial and hasn't happened in years, so at some point it seems foolish to wait for the optimal solution if you have a viable within reach.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11106
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Select correct frequency for ILS

Postby Clive2670 » Wed Aug 24, 2016 4:42 pm

Thorsten wrote in Tue Aug 23, 2016 6:11 pm:Depends on what you mean by 'the FG team'. Not by the core developers, each aircraft has one or more maintainers.

It's a hack of course what I'm suggesting and by rights it ought to be fixed FG-side, but that doesn't seem trivial and hasn't happened in years, so at some point it seems foolish to wait for the optimal solution if you have a viable within reach.

Fair point Thorsten.......I have noticed now by "flicking around" the forum and reading various comments, that this, as you say has been rearing it's ugly head for years now, I has in fact now found several airports with either single ILS or I just fly in and try from the opposite direction!!! and sometimes this "fools" the system and it lands fine!!! Saves me having to try and "hack" the code....because believe me when I say I am not a programmer, the closest thing to a programmer I am, is what I learnt at school some 35 years ago using BASIC!!! Now that's showing my age!!!!
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit


Return to Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest