Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Systems

F-14B's Weapon System  Topic is solved

Modeling aircraft systems, like electrical stuff, hydraulics, pneumatics? Feel free to ask support.

F-14B's Weapon System

Postby Jetman. » Fri May 03, 2013 6:41 pm

In the cockpit view, on the joystick's weapon-modes, you will find: Off, GUN, SW (Sidewinder [AIM-9]), and SP-PH (Sparrow [AIM-7] - Phoenix [AIM-54]). I was wondering if someone made an attempt to get the Sparrow and Phoenix to work in the same way the AIM-9 works. (Ignoring the fact that AIM-9 is a heat seeker and the AIM-7 and 54 are semi-active and radar guided, respectively.)

I am not an expert, but I would think one would just have to use the the model of the missile and code it so that the AIM-7 and AIM-54 can fire when the target is many miles away. (AIM-9 is short range, AIM-7 medium, and AIM-54 long range.) And in the multiplayer chat, AIM-7 would be FOX1, AIM-9 FOX2, and AIM-54 FOX3. It doesn't seem like a difficult feat, but I am not a coder/modeler. :lol:

Would be cool if those two missiles were implemented into the Weapons System. :wink:

P.S. I can't remember if the F-14 had AIM-120s in the Fuel and Payload menu.
Favorite Aircraft: Pretty much all military aircraft.

FG videos on YouTube! Choose the FlightGear playlist!
http://www.youtube.com/user/ParasiteQueen1

SPECS
8GB RAM 1600Mhz DDR3
AMD A8-5500 Quad @ 3.2Ghz Turbo 3.7Ghz
Zotac GTX 750Ti 2GB GDDR5
Jetman.

Callsign: Jetman
Version: 3.2

Re: F-14B's Weapon System

Postby Thorsten » Fri May 03, 2013 7:35 pm

A Phoenix isn't just a Sidewinder with a different range and callsign - it has a completely different guidance system, a different acceleration, different aerodynamics, is targeted in a different way,...

The maintainer of the F-14b knows these things (and cares for them) and so far no attempt at a realistic modelling of the other missiles has been made - an unrealistic attempt has no real chance of being committed.
Thorsten