Board index FlightGear Development New features

Proposal/Development For Standalone ATC

Discussion and requests for new features. Please note that FlightGear developers are volunteers and may or may not be able to consider these requests.

Proposal/Development For Standalone ATC

Postby Ozgur » Tue Mar 16, 2010 12:54 am

Hi all,

I know, when you'll see the post subject you'll slap your head and say "aaah those newbies...". Might be, but just wanted to tell all, after my trials and errors with FG ATC, ATC2, and ATC-ML, just scratched my head and what' FG's missing from the Vatsim bro's. I'm not a geek about c but i have some background in different Basic* applications. Since portability is an important issue in FG, i'm proposing to start a new standalone atc with better graphics and better sector information. And, indeed i started playing around with some FG data structures and i must admit, i screwed for XDR communications over the multiplayer network...Ok, i was checking the ATC stuff and i was able to relay the atc data to a small udp client and wrap them. So what i'm thinking to do is a FG dependent software which also interfaces with fgcom (yeessssss, i managed to do that also :) and provides better usability...

I must say this.I LOVE flightgear, though there might rise some thoughts why to compare FG with Vatsim stuff and commercial products...Nothing to do and also this kind of thoughts were considered before on the mailing list (e.g. using vatsim network) but there were some legal issues as far as i remember.

So, i can spare 8 to 12 hours (actually more but to be sure) per week to go on with this stuff...
In this aspect, i'm just asking for small help about DAFIF file format used. I mean what are the fields existing in DAFIF apt.dat and nav.dat. I Googled but couldn't find anything...At least if you can point out where this data is handled in FG (SimGear?) i can try to make my way out...