Board index FlightGear Development New features

Simple FG GUI front-end for Linux

Discussion and requests for new features. Please note that FlightGear developers are volunteers and may or may not be able to consider these requests.

Simple FG GUI front-end for Linux

Postby erobo » Mon Nov 02, 2009 12:54 pm

Hello,

I wrote some time ago a simple GUI front-end for FlightGear. It was written in Python and it takes slightly different approach than any other such application known to me - it combines a simple GUI which allows you to select a plane, airport, runway, park position or scenario with text window where you can write more advanced command line options that will be passed to FlightGear. I know, it sounds like crazy idea, but I have found it to be quite convenient solution (at least for me :) ).

Be aware that I'm a complete amateur when it comes to programming. That is why I can't guarantee this software will meet you expectations regarding usability or even run on your system. I tested it on Debian and got reports that it run on Ubuntu. Having said that I presenting it here in hope it will be useful for some of you anyway.

Regards,
Robert

UPDATE:
The software can now be downloaded at this address: http://sites.google.com/site/erobosprojects/flightgear/add-ons/fgo
Last edited by erobo on Wed Aug 25, 2010 9:25 am, edited 8 times in total.
erobo

Re: Simple FG GUI front-end for Linux

Postby martin » Mon Nov 02, 2009 7:20 pm

Hi Robert,

erobo wrote:I wrote some time ago a simple GUI front-end for FlightGear. It was written in Python and it takes slightly different approach than any other such application known to me - it combines a simple GUI which allows you to select a plane, airport, runway, park position or scenario with text window where you can write more advanced command line options that will be passed to FlightGear.