Board index FlightGear Development New features

Centralized Dual Control

Discussion and requests for new features. Please note that FlightGear developers are volunteers and may or may not be able to consider these requests.

Centralized Dual Control

Postby p7810456 » Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:29 am

I want to see if it is possible to add a centralized dual control system rather than one that is per aircraft. This will allow all aircraft with 2 seats to have dual control support, like the one in FSX. One way (in my opinion) is to send the data on different ports through the multiplayer network and use the generic protocol to make it change switches, yoke, etc. I am willing to help since I have some experience in C/C++ but i do not know where to start and I do not know the whole architecture of Flightgear. Thanks for any replies! :D
When you see pigs fly it means Windows has become open source!
p7810456

Re: Centralized Dual Control

Postby Thorsten » Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:58 am

The Space Shuttle has a couple of hundred switches in the cockpit, the ASK-13 has pretty much none and just flight controls.

The Space Shuttle has an internal state comprised of thousands (!) of properties and Nasal variables, the ASK-13 essentially has no internal state.

Why do you think a centralized system is a good idea when the challenges are so vastly different?

Don't get me wrong, having a common system that manages all that efficiently would be great to have (just like a common save/resume system) - I just don't think that's possible without an unholy amount of work because the way aircraft represent their internal state may vary a lot.
Thorsten

Re: Centralized Dual Control

Postby Hooray » Tue Jun 20, 2017 7:11 pm

Yeah, unfortunately Thorsten hit the nail on the head - it's a fairly ambitious undertaking, and one that involves more work than people may think.