Board index FlightGear Development New features

how to create a carrier AI scenario

Discussion and requests for new features. Please note that FlightGear developers are volunteers and may or may not be able to consider these requests.

how to create a carrier AI scenario

Postby lomar » Sun May 07, 2017 10:14 pm

hello,
i've been trying to create a new carrier AI scenario for me.
i'm trying to write the .xml, but i don't know how to make it show up at that AI gui, and therefore i cannot enable it. How can i do this?
any help will be greatly appreciated.
regards
lomar
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:38 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Callsign: lomar
Version: nightly
OS: win 10

Re: how to create a carrier AI scenario

Postby wlbragg » Sun May 07, 2017 10:17 pm

Look in fgdata/AI/, there is where the xml that loads the scenario resides and is picked up by the GUI.
Kansas and Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA, 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i7/GeForce RTX 2070/Max-Q
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 7588
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 12:31 am
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/RTX 2070

Re: how to create a carrier AI scenario

Postby lomar » Sun May 07, 2017 10:35 pm

Look in fgdata/AI/, there is where the xml that loads the scenario resides and is picked up by the GUI.

i've already placed my xml there, but it didn't appear in the gui.
lomar
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:38 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Callsign: lomar
Version: nightly
OS: win 10

Re: how to create a carrier AI scenario

Postby wlbragg » Sun May 07, 2017 10:59 pm

Can you post the xml here?
Kansas and Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA, 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i7/GeForce RTX 2070/Max-Q
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 7588
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 12:31 am
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/RTX 2070

Re: how to create a carrier AI scenario

Postby lomar » Mon May 08, 2017 12:43 am

Can you post the xml here?

sure!

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>

<!--
    Copyright License:  GPL
    Usable with FlightGear
    Property of Gerard Robin
    but  the Fresnel Lens Optical Landing System which is copied from the Nimitz Model
    by Vivian Meazza
-->

  <PropertyList>
     <scenario>
      <entry>
         <type>carrier</type>
         <name>Sao Paulo</name>
         <pennant-number>A12</pennant-number>
         <TACAN-channel-ID>026X</TACAN-channel-ID>
         <model>Models/Geometry/Foch/Saopaulo.xml</model>
         <latitude>-43.120651</latitude>
         <longitude>-23.171295/longitude>
         <speed>10</speed>
         <heading>100</heading>
         <rudder>0</rudder>
         <turn-radius-ft>3000</turn-radius-ft>


         <parking-pos>
            <name>cat-1</name>
            <heading-offset-deg>0</heading-offset-deg>
            <x-offset-m>-72</x-offset-m>
            <y-offset-m>-6.86674</y-offset-m>
            <z-offset-m>14.27</z-offset-m>
         </parking-pos>
         <parking-pos>
            <name>cat-2</name>
            <heading-offset-deg>-4.55</heading-offset-deg>
            <x-offset-m>27</x-offset-m>
            <y-offset-m>-18.3</y-offset-m>
            <z-offset-m>14.27</z-offset-m>
         </parking-pos>
         <parking-pos>
            <name>park-1</name>
            <heading-offset-deg>30</heading-offset-deg>
            <x-offset-m>112.841</x-offset-m>
            <y-offset-m>-8</y-offset-m>
            <z-offset-m>14.27</z-offset-m>
         </parking-pos>
         <parking-pos>
            <name>park-2</name>
            <heading-offset-deg>300</heading-offset-deg>
            <x-offset-m>38</x-offset-m>
            <y-offset-m>13.5</y-offset-m>
            <z-offset-m>14.27</z-offset-m>
         </parking-pos>
                        <parking-pos>
                            <name>wires</name>
                            <heading-offset-deg>-8</heading-offset-deg>
                            <x-offset-m>59.9102</x-offset-m>
                            <y-offset-m>-3.12509</y-offset-m>
                            <z-offset-m>14.27</z-offset-m>
         </parking-pos>
      </entry>

    </scenario>

  </PropertyList>
lomar
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:38 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Callsign: lomar
Version: nightly
OS: win 10

Re: how to create a carrier AI scenario

Postby wlbragg » Mon May 08, 2017 12:58 am

Code: Select all
<longitude>-23.171295/longitude>

Missing < on closing longitude?

I'm really tuned into these syntax mistakes at the moment. I'm working on some sound stuff and keep doing the same thing. :lol:
Kansas and Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA, 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i7/GeForce RTX 2070/Max-Q
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 7588
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 12:31 am
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/RTX 2070

Re: how to create a carrier AI scenario

Postby lomar » Mon May 08, 2017 1:49 am

wow! i wouldn't've spotted that(i suppose bc i'm a leal n00b at coding)
THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! IT WORKED!!
also, i discovered that the lat/lon i put there were mismatched, and i passed a long time searching the boat in the wrong place.
i think i really need to pay more attention when writing a piece of code LOL
lomar
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:38 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Callsign: lomar
Version: nightly
OS: win 10

Re: how to create a carrier AI scenario

Postby Johan G » Wed May 10, 2017 3:16 am

An extra pair of eyeballs can often help spot the silliest of mistakes. ;) :)
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Some YouTube videos
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 6629
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 2020.3.4
OS: Windows 10, 64 bit

Re: how to create a carrier AI scenario

Postby lomar » Wed May 10, 2017 3:43 am

also, there's another thing i would like to ask, but i would need to show it on screenshots(that i'm unable to take right now so it may take a little while until i can show up with this question)
lomar
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:38 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Callsign: lomar
Version: nightly
OS: win 10


Return to New features

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests