Board index FlightGear Development New features

OpenIG Lights

Discussion and requests for new features. Please note that FlightGear developers are volunteers and may or may not be able to consider these requests.

OpenIG Lights

Postby Milo » Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:59 am

Hi all,

I know that I am venturing in a sloppery slope but I was working on the lights for the the 738 and wondered if there was an alternative to the actual light rendreing on FGFS.
I googled a bit and fell over OpenIG.
I am not a coder at all and it would take too long for me, like trying to implant the light effects on FGFS.
Here is a youtube of how it looks like.

I know that there are people around who could enjoy trying...
GVX0250 _ FGFS v.Git _ Win10_ Asus N76V, RAM8GB, CPU: i7 2.4
Milo

Callsign: GAX0250
Version: Git

Re: OpenIG Lights

Postby Richard » Mon Dec 21, 2015 12:09 pm

This is the link : http://openig.compro.net/

I've worked with Compro on a simulator update and these guys know what they're doing. I think I've seen a commercial version of this IG running.

I'm finding it hard to believe that they've released this as OpenSource.

I'm gradually drifting towards the opinion that maybe it's time to look at changing the scenery tools to generate standard format models.
Richard

Version: Git

Postby Michat » Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:59 pm

When FG moved to OSG I did expect to have these advantages at once, but the time shows that still we haven't it. I think coming from A to B is not so easy as I thought.

Having those lights effects in FG should be fantastic.

Any idea about FPS impact using this techno-log-IA?
Michat

Version: 191b

Postby Thorsten » Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:00 pm

Without any details, it looks like it's doing what Rembrandt in FG is doing.