Board index FlightGear Development New features

Red Griffin ATC - Speaking ATC addon for Flightgear

Discussion and requests for new features. Please note that FlightGear developers are volunteers and may or may not be able to consider these requests.

Re: Red Griffin ATC - Speaking ATC addon for Flightgear

Postby fervi » Tue Feb 23, 2021 5:10 pm

Red Griffin ATC already have support for large/military jets. You can take a look at the settings dialog, aircraft type. Setting the proper aircraft type is very important in Red Griffin ATC. You may consider to leave this setting to "auto" and let Red Griffin ATC determine your aircraft type accordingly.


Yep, What I mean is that (I think so when I used to play MSFS2002 and watched different videos :P) that if a plane is heavy (has a lot of weight) you add "Heavy" to Callsign. For example - "LOT 001 Heavy, climb to altitude ...", and when it burns fuel and the weight drops, then you can switch to normal terminology.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heavy_(aeronautics)
fervi
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 10:17 pm

Re: Red Griffin ATC - Speaking ATC addon for Flightgear

Postby RedGriffin » Tue Feb 23, 2021 5:37 pm

Hooray wrote in Tue Feb 23, 2021 5:09 pm:So you may want to use the Nasal console to see what a dump returns.

As far as I can tell, by using debug.dump, airport.taxiways is empty 99.9% of the times. I tried with KNUQ and it simply returns an array of "taxiways strings".
Despite of that, you would need interconnections of taxiways in order to determine the proper route from apron to runway. And, as far as I can tell, these information is stored in the <airport ICAO code>.groundnet.xml and are not available in nasal.
airport.taxiways object in nasal provides only:

    id: Name of taxiway.
    lat: Latitude of the taxiway.
    lon: Longitude of the taxiway.
    heading: Heading of the taxiway.
    length: Length of the taxiway in metres.
    width: Width of the taxiway in metres.
    surface: Taxiway surface type.

and, in case taxiways would be available in airportinfo, the information are not enough in order to compute a valid route as they lack of any information on how they are connected one to each other.
Red Griffin - IK0TOJ
Author and developer of Red Griffin ATC (Wiki) - Enjoy my Youtube Channel
User avatar
RedGriffin
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 7:04 pm
Location: Perugia, Italy
Callsign: IK0TOJ
Version: 2020.4 git
OS: Linux Fedora 33

Re: Red Griffin ATC - Speaking ATC addon for Flightgear

Postby Hooray » Tue Feb 23, 2021 5:55 pm

Just to be clear about it, while the screen shot I posted dates back to around ~2012, it did definitely parse/process and create the corresponding Canvas taxiway chart in Nasal space - that was one of the reasons why it was so extremely slow, and disabled at the time - in fact, we used KNUQ as the test case to optimize the Canvas system.

So, while I haven't been following FlightGear core development recently, I do think that the underlying infrastructure still is in place - and James' comments also indicate just that (I believe he wrote most of the original FGPositioned APIs, which Tom susequently ported to use CppBind instead).

That being said, at the time, we discontinued the taxiway layer due to its runtime cost (it being processed in Nasal space), and instead suggested to expose the Canvas element base class (sc::Element) to scripting space, so that new layers (Canvas elements) could be directly prototyped in scripting space using property rules. I don't know if any of that materialized or not, but Stuart seems to have used the Canvas system to create rather sophisticated avionics (see the FG1000).

And given your use-case here, the underlying APIs would obviously remain useful regardless of any specific application.
In fact, at some point, a handful of core devs were contemplating to make shapefiles directly accessible to Nasal/Canvas space.

Again, if in doubt, check back with Zakalawe above, since he wrote most of the original navdb related code.

In the meantime, you could also use the Nasal console to run a MapStructure dialog with taxiways enabled, and open KNUQ: https://wiki.flightgear.org/Canvas_Snip ... o_a_Canvas

EDIT: I just checked $FG_ROOT/gui/dialogs/airports.xml doing just that, and here's what I am getting (without having any terrasync/scenery installed):
Image

(And I am really sure that this stuff is processed in scripting space, because I used to code up that stuff back then)
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12090
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Red Griffin ATC - Speaking ATC addon for Flightgear

Postby Andrew12345 » Tue Feb 23, 2021 7:23 pm

Thanks man! This really helped I was trying to figure that out!
Andrew12345
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 3:12 am

Re: Red Griffin ATC - Speaking ATC addon for Flightgear

Postby Michat » Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:08 pm

Good Evening.
Just reporting that both users, Hormax and Miguel, have told me that when flying the C-172 they receive an incorrect speed vector, higher than the nominal speed, impossible to reach with that plane. Speed 190 (no unit).
Testing airport was GCLP.

Thanks
User avatar
Michat
 
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 6:24 pm
Location: Spain
Version: 191b
OS: GNewSense

Re: Red Griffin ATC - Speaking ATC addon for Flightgear

Postby RedGriffin » Wed Feb 24, 2021 10:16 am

Michat wrote in Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:08 pm:Good Evening.
Just reporting that both users, Hormax and Miguel, have told me that when flying the C-172 they receive an incorrect speed vector, higher than the nominal speed, impossible to reach with that plane. Speed 190 (no unit).
Testing airport was GCLP.

Hello there,
did you properly set aircraft type in settings dialog? Please read here: https://wiki.flightgear.org/Red_Griffin ... nal_Values

As you can see 190 knots is used for large/military jet and special military only.
You can leave aircraft type set to "auto" and have Red Griffin ATC automatically determine your aircraft type. And it works perfectly with C172P (which is a small single engine aircraft)

Kind regards.
Red Griffin - IK0TOJ
Author and developer of Red Griffin ATC (Wiki) - Enjoy my Youtube Channel
User avatar
RedGriffin
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 7:04 pm
Location: Perugia, Italy
Callsign: IK0TOJ
Version: 2020.4 git
OS: Linux Fedora 33

Re: Red Griffin ATC - Speaking ATC addon for Flightgear

Postby Michat » Wed Feb 24, 2021 7:05 pm

Roger, that makes sense. Will check it.

Thank you.
User avatar
Michat
 
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 6:24 pm
Location: Spain
Version: 191b
OS: GNewSense

Previous

Return to New features

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest