Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby oly2b » Thu May 18, 2023 4:54 pm

Any reason why the my recent compiled tiles are smaller than what I used to compilied previously

Before 8192 x 4096 = 16,385 KB
Now 1024 x 512 = 256 KB

julia -t 14 photoscenary.jl -p D:\fgp_Julia --route EGSH.xml -s 4 -r 10 --over 1 -d 0


I run the routine again and get the same sized tiles.

Code: Select all
Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.19045.2965]
(c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

H:\fgp_Julia\Photoscenary-main>julia -t 14 photoscenary.jl  -p D:\fgp_Julia --route EGSH.xml -s 4 -r 10 --over 1 -d 0
The actiual Julia is 1.7.2 The current version is correct in order to obtain the best performances

Photoscenary.jl ver: 0.3.0 date: Testing 20210618 System prerequisite test


Photoscenery generator by Julia compilator,
Program for uploading Orthophotos files

Version: ImageMagick 7.1.0-32 Q16-HDRI x64 a2b2c08:20220430 https://imagemagick.org
Copyright: (C) 1999 ImageMagick Studio LLC
License: https://imagemagick.org/script/license.php
Features: Cipher DPC HDRI Modules OpenCL OpenMP(2.0)
Delegates (built-in): bzlib cairo flif freetype gslib heic jng jp2 jpeg jxl lcms lqr lzma openexr pangocairo png ps raqm raw rsvg tiff webp xml zip zlib
Compiler: Visual Studio 2022 (193131107)

ImageMagic is operative!

Map server select id: 1 name: ESRI GIS: https://www.esri.com/en-us/about/about-esri/overview (Arcgis)
Load Route step 1.0 coordinates lat: 52.6769 lon: 1.2845 distance: 0.0
Load Route step 2.0 coordinates lat: 52.6369 lon: 1.7253 distance: 16.3
Load Route step 3.0 coordinates lat: 52.3708 lon: 1.7539 distance: 16.0
Load Route step 4.0 coordinates lat: 52.2247 lon: 1.6025 distance: 10.4
Load Route step 5.0 coordinates lat: 52.1033 lon: 1.6333 distance: 7.4
Load Route step 6.1 coordinates lat: 51.9759 lon: 1.3905 distance: 11.8
Load Route step 7.0 coordinates lat: 51.8484 lon: 1.1476 distance: 23.7
Load Route step 8.1 coordinates lat: 51.7099 lon: 0.9216 distance: 11.8
Load Route step 9.0 coordinates lat: 51.5714 lon: 0.6956 distance: 23.7
Load Route step 10.1 coordinates lat: 51.4729 lon: 1.0711 distance: 15.3
Load Route step 11.0 coordinates lat: 51.3744 lon: 1.4467 distance: 30.6
Load Route step 12.0 coordinates lat: 51.212 lon: 1.3894 distance: 10.0
Load Route step 13.0 coordinates lat: 51.1233 lon: 1.2973 distance: 6.4
Load Route step 14.1 coordinates lat: 51.042 lon: 1.6258 distance: 13.4
Load Route step 15.0 coordinates lat: 50.9606 lon: 1.9542 distance: 26.7
Load Route step 16.1 coordinates lat: 51.0 lon: 2.2513 distance: 11.5
Load Route step 17.0 coordinates lat: 51.0393 lon: 2.5484 distance: 23.0

Create the Tile Database
updateFilesListTypeDDS: find n. 15 dir with errors
Found 0 .DDS tiles. The overall size of the files is: 0.0 MB

---------- Route step 1 on 17 ----------

Start the elaboration n. 1 for 25 tiles the Area deg is latLL: 52.500 lonLL: 1.000 latUR: 52.900 lonUR: 1.800 Batch size: 25 Width 8192 | 4 to 8192 | 4 pix Cycle: 0
The images path is: D:\fgp_Julia\Orthophotos

Time:      1 elab:      0 (  Inf|  NaN) Tiles:    4 on   25 res   21 err    0 Th: 10 path: ../e000n50/e001n52/2974642.dds  Dist:   7.4 pix:  8192 MB/s: 0.00 MB dw:    0.0 (Skip)
oly2b
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:55 am
Location: UK
Callsign: G-OLYB
Version: 2020.1
OS: Windows

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby wkitty42 » Thu May 18, 2023 8:24 pm

your log notes 0 (zero) .DDS files located and the last line shown says that tile was skipped...
did you move or lose some .DDS files?
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9148
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby oly2b » Fri May 19, 2023 2:13 pm

I already run the routine and grabbed the tiles so run again without moving/renaming they are skipped.

Running it again today and currently the first tile generated is now back to normal size expected16,385 KB
oly2b
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:55 am
Location: UK
Callsign: G-OLYB
Version: 2020.1
OS: Windows

new 0.4.0 version for Julia 18 or 19

Postby abassign » Tue May 30, 2023 6:04 pm

This version is being developed to update the previous one from 2021. The reason for the update is due to the fact that the
latest versions of Julia (18 and 19) no longer use certain libraries, so when someone updates Julia, they find that the
compilation no longer succeeds. That’s why I modified some pieces of code, especially the code in the TilesDatabase.jl module,
followed by the Route.jl and photoscenary.jl modules, in order to make the database management library (deprecated JuliaDB)
compatible with DataFrames.jl, which is now the standard library for non-SQL databases in Julia. The downloadImage() module
has also been modified, leveraging the powerful Images library with the download() method. This resolves potential download
issues with errors in the length of files present using the old GET method.
https://github.com/abassign/Photoscenary
The version introduces some modifications that involve a different download approach for the PNG image files released by photo-realistic image distribution websites.

WARNING: However, I suspect that in the latest version of FGFS (NEXT, 2023-05-30), there might be an issue with the proper display of orthophotos. I would appreciate if someone could try updating their FGFS version to verify if the program works correctly for them. Additionally, I recommend saving the old program (for example, by simply renaming its folder) so that you can revert back if version 0.4.0 doesn't function properly.

I was unable to carry out the checks regarding the malfunctions reported due to the problem I previously reported. I understand that it is frustrating not being able to directly solve the problems. In the meantime, you can also seek assistance on the Julia Photoscenary community or online discussion forums, where you may find other people who have encountered the same problem or who have ideas on how to solve it.
Developer of the program https://wiki.flightgear.org/Julia_photoscenery_generator
FDM developer of the G91R1B aircraft https://wiki.flightgear.org/FIAT_G91R1B
JSBSim collaborator
abassign
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:09 pm
Location: Italy (living 5 Km from airport LIME)
Callsign: I-BASSY
Version: 2020.4
OS: Ubuntu 20.10

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby lomar » Sun Aug 27, 2023 11:48 pm

hi,
so, i tried installing Julia, Imagemacick and photoscenary.jl from scratch, and tried to follow Manuel Aceña's youtube tutorial, but i'm getting the following error: ERROR: LoadError: ArgumentError: Package CSV does not have Parsers in its dependencies:

What can i do to solve this?

edit: tried different versions of julia (both 32 and 64 bit). For some reason it only works on version 1.9.0. Any other version gave out the error message.
lomar
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:38 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Callsign: lomar
Version: nightly
OS: win 10

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby miguel » Mon Aug 28, 2023 2:50 pm

Hello Lomar.
Just yesterday I reloaded the new julia packages for win 10, and everything worked correctly.
Attentive to the link julia tells us Flightgear 2020.3.18.0 updates.
Regards: miguel
miguel
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby lomar » Mon Aug 28, 2023 4:50 pm

now i'm stuck in another thing:
it doesn't download anything, but doesn't show any error messages. The last lines shown at the terminal are the fllowing with a timer counting endlessly:

Search and test the DDS/PNG files in path: C:\Users\felip
Execute update images files, find n. 0 DDS files: 0 PNG files: 0 with size: 0 Mb Time: 45.5
lomar
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:38 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Callsign: lomar
Version: nightly
OS: win 10

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby miguel » Tue Aug 29, 2023 3:32 pm

Tell me the procedure you have followed to find out if you have any errors.

Flightgear version: Operating System
greetings. miguel
miguel
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby lomar » Tue Aug 29, 2023 10:20 pm

anyway, i could finally download something, i think i have sorted out the things after reading the wiki and this forum thread.
It was a matter of waiting. it took about 400-500 seconds to start downloading, even using the multi-threading options (i don't know if this waiting time is normal tough).
i'm running on windows 10 and the latest FG nightly. I found that using the -ICAO command was the easiest for me. ATM i'm experimenting with 8k resolution and it seems to be working fine.
another thing worth mentioning is that the program saves the files in a folder called "photoscenery" when FG looks for a "orthophotos" one, and i had to rename it in order to use the images in the sim.
lomar
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:38 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Callsign: lomar
Version: nightly
OS: win 10

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby miguel » Wed Aug 30, 2023 2:55 pm

I'm glad.
that's the right thing to do
miguel
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby Cyber_Gamer » Wed Sep 27, 2023 3:45 pm

I have an issue where the script just stops in the middle of a longer compiling session and it does not resume it just hangs there.

Here's a demonstration:
Image

I use these arguments and I have already tried many different combinations of arguments:
Code: Select all
julia -t 10 photoscenary.jl -s 4 -r 10 --route "{route_name}.xml" -p "{my path}"


For shorter sessions works perfect and it also works great when running alongside flightgear for generating scenery while flying.
Windows 10 Pro, Ryzen 9 4900HS, RTX2060 Max-Q, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Cyber_Gamer
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2023 11:40 am
Callsign: cyber
OS: Windows

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby chrisblobster » Mon Oct 09, 2023 11:55 am

Hi all, my first post to Flightgear forums in a very long time - I've been cranking out photoscenery since I first read about this generator, and am impressed with it - well done to abassign for your work on this, excellent stuff! I'm only having a couple of issues with it - when I run it I can only generate a few dozen to a couple hundred DDS tiles before it seems to get killed. I'm on an Ubuntu derivative Linux with a Ryzen 9 5900x based system with 32GB RAM - my command line is "julia -t 16 photoscenary.jl -r 600 -s 4 -i NZMC --attemps 4". The photoscenery looks great, but I get a few spots where there is black - they seem to cluster in some areas but not others, and I'm unsure if the DDS is black, or is missing. It looks like this...

Image

...does anyone have some ideas about how I can fill those empty tiles? Again, amazing work on this scenery generator - I look forward to seeing how it develops :D

...and here is what it looks like on my 4K RTX 3060Ti driven monitor with -s=4 scenery in an area where no missing tiles are seen...

Image

Kind regards,
Chris W, NZCH.
System Spec: Ryzen 9 5900x, 32GB RAM, RTX 3060Ti, 4TB Gen4 NVMe storage, 4K Philips 32" monitor
Flightgear: version 2020.4.0 nightly. v2.0 Bluray worldwide scenery pack installed, plus 20GB photo scenery (South Island of New Zealand)
User avatar
chrisblobster
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2020 11:22 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Linux

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby merspieler » Mon Oct 09, 2023 1:28 pm

First, open the .dds textures in an image viewer or editor, such as gimp to look at the bare texture
Make a backup copy of the tile, then redownload it.
Compare the two textures.
If the spots are at the same place (textures are identical) then it's probably an issue with the source of the images, try another source.
If the spots are at different places, ig. you've found an issue. I know I did have these kinda issues in the past with my own script.
Happened when there was a problem with the download and I didn't retry.
Nia (you&, she/her)

Please use gender neutral terms when referring to a group of people!

Be the change you wish to see in the world, be an ally to all!

Join the official matrix space
merspieler
 
Posts: 2241
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:43 am
Location: Wish to be in YBCS
Pronouns: you&, she/her
Callsign: you&, she/her
IRC name: merspieler
Version: next
OS: NixOS

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby abassign » Tue Oct 10, 2023 4:46 pm

Hello everyone, I apologize if I've only rarely participated in the forum lately. Every now and then, when Julia gets updated, I check the compatibility of the code I wrote about two years ago. I tested it with Julia 1.10 (which hasn't been released yet but is in beta) and found that the code is compatible, except for the message: "LoadError: UndefVarError: @everywhere not defined" which appears only upon the code's installation. I'm not sure if this issue is related to the beta version. I'll keep an eye on this. In the meantime, I'm really happy to see so many friends using the program, and I hope it makes flying with FGFS more realistic and fun. If anyone has new ideas, you can write to me here or, even better, on GitHub. If time allows, I'll try to accommodate your requests.
Developer of the program https://wiki.flightgear.org/Julia_photoscenery_generator
FDM developer of the G91R1B aircraft https://wiki.flightgear.org/FIAT_G91R1B
JSBSim collaborator
abassign
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:09 pm
Location: Italy (living 5 Km from airport LIME)
Callsign: I-BASSY
Version: 2020.4
OS: Ubuntu 20.10

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby Catalanoic » Wed Oct 11, 2023 12:56 pm

Hi! I'm using FG nightly 2020.4 (from last week or so) in win10 to check HDR and Photoscenery features, btw amazing work, best for VFR! About time to definitely thrash out MSFS or even xplane.. the only issue is I don't get the 'in-sim' top menu, it seems it disappeared, maybe from my settings or arguments on FG or I forgot something:
--telnet=5000
--compositor=Compositor/HDR/hdr
--graphics-preset=medium-quality

Sorry for the non-topic
User avatar
Catalanoic
 
Posts: 1099
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 1:33 am
Location: Barcelona (LEBL)
Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3
OS: Lubuntu/Windows 7

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron