Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Moving an airport

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Moving an airport

Postby SurferTim » Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:57 pm

Greetings! I need to move an airport. I use Saba (TNCS) a lot, but the airport is in the wrong location. It is about 50 meters too far southwest, putting the approach end of rwy12 behind a cliff. I searched the wikis and found a couple solutions that didn't work. Maybe somebody here can help me.

I downloaded WorldEditor, and the program seems to work fine. I loaded Saba (TNCS), selected ALL and dragged the airport 50 meters northeast, saved, and exported the dat file to TNCS.dat. I opened the file with a text editor, and sure enough, the locations of all the objects had changed to the northeast

Following the instructions in a wiki, I created the folder /flightgear//Scenery/NavData/apt/ in my flightgear install and copied the TNCS.dat file there. The changes do not show in my flightgear program. The airport is still in the wrong location. I even made a new apt.dat.gz file with the changed data, but still nothing.

How do I move the airport?

Edit: Here is a screenshot of my DHC6 on the runway sitting on the "12", but the server shows me out in a field.
Image
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: N2ST/Pirate
Version: 2018-3-1
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Moving an airport

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:09 pm

You need to regenerate the scenery with TerraGear toolchain to see it in FlightGear - see http://wiki.flightgear.org/TerraGear
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6652
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Moving an airport

Postby SurferTim » Wed Apr 10, 2019 12:57 am

legoboyvdlp wrote in Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:09 pm:You need to regenerate the scenery with TerraGear toolchain to see it in FlightGear - see http://wiki.flightgear.org/TerraGear

Thanks! I'll try that.
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: N2ST/Pirate
Version: 2018-3-1
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Moving an airport

Postby D-ECHO » Wed Apr 10, 2019 12:25 pm

You can also try this custom scenery:https://gitlab.com/decho/caribbean that I generated because i had the same problem :)
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Moving an airport

Postby SurferTim » Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:42 pm

Thanks, D-ECHO. I downloaded your files, and will try that if I can't get a shapefile server.

It appears the mapserver.flightgear.org server is not answering the helm. The elevation download is great! Is there a new shapefile server url?
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: N2ST/Pirate
Version: 2018-3-1
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Moving an airport

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Apr 10, 2019 3:35 pm

The server is down. You need to get shapefiles from other sources - e.g. CORINE 2006 for Europe.
Link to that:
https://www.eea.europa.eu/data-and-maps ... -version-3

(not too sure where to get them from for non-europe - sorry)
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6652
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Moving an airport

Postby SurferTim » Fri Apr 12, 2019 1:51 pm

So there is no way to generate a new airport in the Caribbean?
WED works good.
TerraGear and TerraGear GUI start ok. Downloads the datum files in a flash, and they show up in the directory. However, it won't connect to any of the shape file servers.

Is it something I am doing wrong that you can see? I am trying to rebuild the island of Saba (TNCS).
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: N2ST/Pirate
Version: 2018-3-1
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Moving an airport

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri Apr 12, 2019 2:56 pm

Yep - the shapefile servers are down.

I'm making a tutorial for Windows but it should also work for ubuntu...

alternatively just install the scenery that D-ECHO made ;)
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6652
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Moving an airport

Postby SurferTim » Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:57 pm

legoboyvdlp wrote in Fri Apr 12, 2019 2:56 pm:Yep - the shapefile servers are down.

Are the shapefile servers a temporary or permanent "down"?
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: N2ST/Pirate
Version: 2018-3-1
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Moving an airport

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:01 pm

they are down to restricted access due to some ""people"" trying to rape all the data out of it instead of asking for a copy nicely... the rape ate tones of resources and bandwidth so the owner/operator took it offline... IIUC, there is an agreement in place and one can use the data with the docker terragear stuff... more information is available via query on the mailing list... i'm only relaying this little bit and my understanding of this little bit...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5330
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Moving an airport

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:19 pm

I think apart from that there was some hardware failure causing loss of data but yep thats pretty much it. :(
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6652
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Moving an airport

Postby SurferTim » Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:28 pm

Sounds like it is a permanent down unless you know somebody.

I'll try the scenery mailing list. Thanks for that tip.
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: N2ST/Pirate
Version: 2018-3-1
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Moving an airport

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:42 pm

i didn't say "scenery mailing list"... the dev mailing list ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5330
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Moving an airport

Postby SurferTim » Sat Apr 13, 2019 7:58 pm

wkitty42 wrote in Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:42 pm:i didn't say "scenery mailing list"... the dev mailing list ;)

I got an answer on that mailing list. The shapefile servers are down and will not come back up.
Always happy to hear from someone interested in scenery creation. Unfortunately, the owner of that shapefile service has taken it down permanently.

You have a few options:

- Generate new shapefiles - viewtopic.php?f=5&t=35618

- Reproduce the original shapefiles via FGBlenderTools - viewtopic.php?f=5&t=34736

Good luck with your project Tim.

Scott
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: N2ST/Pirate
Version: 2018-3-1
OS: Ubuntu 18.04


Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest