Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Improvement of the some airports

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Improvement of the some airports

Postby V12 » Sun Feb 17, 2019 5:56 pm

I was bored with empty concrete places on some FGFS airports and created buildings and other stuff :

Old Quito (SEQU) structure :

Image

Good known Queenstown (NZQN) :

Image

Auckland (NZAA) buildings and some other stuff :

Image

And my son's Adam creation - Bogota Eldorado (SKBO) :

Image

Jetways for nice developed EGLL :

Image

Image
Static Concorde near 27L treshold included :)

All layouts are very basic and not perfect builded only with shared FGFS objects. In all cases, better than empty places. You can download that creations from my git - https://github.com/BAWV12?tab=repositories
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Improvement of the some airports

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:18 pm

Nice work, will it be on TerraSync?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7007
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Improvement of the some airports

Postby V12 » Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:25 pm

Sometime probably yes, but not atonce. Because all that airports have bad surfaces and groundnets - You can see taxiing planes over grass and another strange things.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Improvement of the some airports

Postby Catalanoic » Sun Feb 17, 2019 7:39 pm

Submit it, groundnets and surfaces will be upgraded over time
User avatar
Catalanoic
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:33 am
Location: Barcelona (LEBL)
Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3
OS: Lubuntu/Windows 7

Re: Improvement of the some airports

Postby V12 » Sun Feb 17, 2019 7:55 pm

OK, I will check sceneries on fresh installed FG, I'm not sure about Adam's Bogota.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Improvement of the some airports

Postby V12 » Tue Feb 19, 2019 5:25 pm

LZIB, NZQN, NZAA, SEQU and SKBO imported to Terrasync.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Improvement of the some airports

Postby Catalanoic » Tue Feb 19, 2019 7:37 pm

Thanks V12 to contribute in scenery. Need more hands no matter the level or type of contribution :)
User avatar
Catalanoic
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:33 am
Location: Barcelona (LEBL)
Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3
OS: Lubuntu/Windows 7

Re: Improvement of the some airports

Postby V12 » Wed Feb 20, 2019 5:03 am

What happened with very nice Bogota airport developed 5 or 6 years ago ? It was very nice modeled terminal, engine test facility and nice taxiways - some pictures here viewtopic.php?p=197924#p197924
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Improvement of the some airports

Postby V12 » Thu Feb 28, 2019 2:11 pm

I submitted improved airports on terrasync. But terrasync ignored elevation changes and all objects with modified elevation are badly placed. I will try fix it.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Improvement of the some airports

Postby V12 » Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:39 pm

After some hours and billions clicks I fixed all bad height offsets. I never upload any objects to terrasync ! It is absolutly stupid, when I manualy set elevation of the models, but that idiotic interface recalculate elevation and all my work is screwed ! Why algorith doesn't compare elevation of the imported objects with DEM terrain elevation and calculate offset automaticaly ??? It is unbelievable stupid bug.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Improvement of the some airports

Postby ludomotico » Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:30 pm

If I remember correctly, any elevation you submit to terrasync is plainly ignored. You can submit an (optional) offset above ground, and the final elevation inserted into the database is calculated according to the DEM terrain elevation... of the official world scenery. If you are using a custom scenery, elevations and offsets may be different.

This is explained in the submission form (that red text) and its links: https://scenery.flightgear.org/app.php? ... assiveform
User avatar
ludomotico
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:01 pm
Version: git
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: Improvement of the some airports

Postby V12 » Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:49 pm

Yes, I know. I found it. But I believed that algorithm will be smart enough and use terrain elevation with recalculated offset. It is unbelievable stupid solution. When I have custom terrain, I need my own elevation. When I don't have custom terrain and I need change elevation, import tool MUST ACCEPT my imported parameters, because Terrasync don't know nothing about my plans. But has enough impudence to change that important parameter. Someone should add checkbox "Accept custom elevation" to the mass import dialog and change that idiotic algorithm.

I am not willing to continue with submitting things to the terrasync while someone solve that stupidity.
Last edited by V12 on Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Improvement of the some airports

Postby WoodSTokk » Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:53 pm

V12 wrote in Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:49 pm:Yes, I know. I found it. But I believed that algorithm will be smart enough and recalculate elevation. It is unbelievable stupid solution. When I have custom terrain, I need my own elevation. When I don't have custom terrain and I need change elevation, import tool MUST ACCEPT my imported parameters, because Terrasync don't know nothing about my plans. But has enough impudence to change that important parameter. Someone should add checkbox "Accept custom elevation" to the mass import dialog.


The server doesn't know that you have a custom scenery. If you want the right high, the new or custom scenery should be on the server first so that the server can take the rigth scenery in acount.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: Improvement of the some airports

Postby V12 » Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:54 pm

That is right. TS know nothing about my custom scenery, but doesn't use my own elevation. This is core of the problem.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Improvement of the some airports

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Mar 01, 2019 6:51 pm

the other half of that problem, that maybe you are not recognizing, V12, is that those objects are/can be used elsewhere and those other locations will have different elevations... leave out your additional elevation work which will 1) make it easier on you, 2) allow those objects to be used elsewhere with different elevations, and 3) allow those objects to continue to be used when new world scenery is built...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5644
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Next

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests