Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

ALS procedural lights in scenery

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

ALS procedural lights in scenery

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sat Jan 19, 2019 1:42 pm

Hi,
I've been attempting to put some procedural lights on an excellent approach light set by "CH":
Image

They stay stubbornly dark.


Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<PropertyList>
  <name>procedural-light-approach</name>
  <inherits-from>Effects/procedural-light</inherits-from>
  <parameters>
    <light_color_base_r type="float">1.000</light_color_base_r>
    <light_color_base_g type="float">1.000</light_color_base_g>
    <light_color_base_b type="float">1.000</light_color_base_b>
    <light_color_center_r type="float">1.0</light_color_center_r>
    <light_color_center_g type="float">1.0</light_color_center_g>
    <light_color_center_b type="float">1.0</light_color_center_b>
    <intensity_scale type="float">1.0</intensity_scale>
    <is_directional type="bool">false</is_directional>
    <is_strobe type="bool">false</is_strobe>
  </parameters>
</PropertyList>


Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<PropertyList>
 <path>SSALR_APP_Glideslope.ac</path>
  <effect>
    <inherits-from>procedural-light-approach</inherits-from>
    <object-name>procedural_light</object-name>
    <object-name>procedural_light.001</object-name>
    <object-name>procedural_light.002</object-name>
  </effect>
</PropertyList>


Image

The squares are the quads used for the lights...

What am I missing?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6506
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: ALS procedural lights in scenery

Postby Thorsten » Sat Jan 19, 2019 6:22 pm

Are your quads oriented the right way? I guess since the shader wants to orient the quad towards the viewer, pre-orienting them wrongly will potentially give bad results.

Otherwise this should work just like for lights on aircraft, so copy/paste and modify will likely bring you there quickly.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10501
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: ALS procedural lights in scenery

Postby wlbragg » Sat Jan 19, 2019 7:53 pm

The xml with the call for the .ac and the effect assignment in the models I have set up have the following section...

Code: Select all
<animation>
        <object-name>procedural_light</object-name>
        <type>scale</type>
        <x-offset>0.08</x-offset>
        <y-offset>0.17</y-offset>
        <z-offset>0.08</z-offset>
    </animation>


as in...

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>

<PropertyList>

    <path>procedural_light.ac</path>
    <nopreview/>

    <effect>
        <inherits-from>procedural-light-cw-light-ac-voltage</inherits-from>
        <object-name>procedural_light</object-name>
    </effect>

    <animation>
        <object-name>procedural_light</object-name>
        <type>scale</type>
        <x-offset>0.08</x-offset>
        <y-offset>0.17</y-offset>
        <z-offset>0.08</z-offset>
    </animation>

</PropertyList>


I don't see that in you snippets?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4546
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: ALS procedural lights in scenery

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sat Jan 19, 2019 8:23 pm

I flipped the right quad, and added a scale object - didn't work, unfortunately :( All three are still dark.

Image
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6506
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: ALS procedural lights in scenery

Postby wlbragg » Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:43 pm

Sorry, I wasn't paying attention and didn't even notice that was simply a "scale" animation.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4546
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: ALS procedural lights in scenery

Postby wlbragg » Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:50 pm

I know this is the basics but the other part I don't see is calling the object...
Code: Select all
<model>
      <name>proc_light_cw-light-ac-voltage</name>
      <path>Effects/procedural_light_cw-light-ac-voltage.xml</path>
      <offsets>
          <x-m>-12.485</x-m>
          <y-m>  0.076</y-m>
          <z-m> -0.421</z-m>
      </offsets>
      <condition>
          <and>
            <or>
              <equals>
                <property>/fdm/jsbsim/systems/cws/ac-voltage</property>
                <value>1</value>
              </equals>
              <equals>
                <property>/fdm/jsbsim/systems/cws/cw-test</property>
                <value>1</value>
              </equals>
            </or>
            <greater-than>
                <property>/sim/rendering/shaders/model</property>
                <value>1</value>
            </greater-than>
          </and>
      </condition>
    </model>
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4546
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: ALS procedural lights in scenery

Postby wlbragg » Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:53 pm

The fact that we're seeing the quads means you must be calling them, so then it is left up to the effect and that looks correct to me.
Have you double checked all the paths?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4546
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: ALS procedural lights in scenery

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 10:47 pm

when i was playing with adding lights to the AI craft, i saw this at times... it was always a path problem...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5211
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5


Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest