Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

LPMA - Madeira  Topic is solved

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

LPMA - Madeira

Postby V12 » Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:57 pm

Please, can someone fix bad terrain on rwy 23 treshold ?
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1226
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: LPMA - Madeira

Postby WoodSTokk » Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:00 pm

It's not possible (in real it is, but its a huge task nobody want do).
But you can recreate it with TerryGear.
I found also that the approach light objects are not there where it should do be.
If you switch to night time, the lights it self are on a different location.
Half of the approach light system is sunk in ground and not visible.
But we all know that Madeira isn't correct. Runway 23 is located on a columned concrete platform with coast and water below.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: LPMA - Madeira

Postby legoboyvdlp » Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:23 pm

Making a runway with concrete pillars is impossible. It's probably easier to instead make the old runway and add the rest of the runway as a 3D object.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6511
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: LPMA - Madeira

Postby WoodSTokk » Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:57 pm

legoboyvdlp wrote in Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:23 pm:Making a runway with concrete pillars is impossible.

If you mean with the tool that we have today (automated tool chain), you are absolutaly correct.
legoboyvdlp wrote in Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:23 pm:It's probably easier to instead make the old runway and add the rest of the runway as a 3D object.

The btg files contains also meshes with vertices, normals and texture coordinates.
The problem is, that the tool chain dotay calculate a terrain mesh out of coords and high. This tools can not build a cave, tunnel or overhang.
The btg file can model it, but not the tools.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: LPMA - Madeira

Postby V12 » Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:59 pm

I know than in FG is impossible make runway on pillar. But should be possible eliminate (flaten) this step :

Image
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1226
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: LPMA - Madeira

Postby WoodSTokk » Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:15 pm

V12 wrote in Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:59 pm:I know than in FG is impossible make runway on pillar. But should be possible eliminate (flaten) this step :

No. The terrain will be calculated out of datas and the datas say the terrain has this high.
This mean, also a recreation of the btg file will look like this.
Sorry for the bad news.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: LPMA - Madeira

Postby V12 » Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:48 pm

Strange, for P3D v3.x or FSX it is possible.

Madeira is island. Really is not possible recalculate only scenery tiles containing island ? It should not cost too much machine time. On the web are many free hgt files, or global mesh (for example http://ninetwopro.com/freemeshx-2-0-rel ... ouncement/)
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1226
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: LPMA - Madeira

Postby legoboyvdlp » Thu Jan 17, 2019 6:07 pm

If I get a chance I'll make you a custom scenery using STRM-3 data from viewfinder panorama with more maxnodes / less error - should help.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6511
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: LPMA - Madeira

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Jan 17, 2019 6:41 pm

@V12: do you think that those two tools use the same data that FG uses to draw the ground scenery? i suspect that in edge cases like this, someone for those two projects has handcrafted something... this is not possible in FG at this time... to do it properly, the elevation data for this section of the land would need to be manually changed, the scenery regenerated, and then the btg would have to be manually adjusted to create the pillars and elevated runway...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5214
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: LPMA - Madeira

Postby V12 » Fri Jan 18, 2019 9:00 am

lego :
Thx in advance.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1226
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: LPMA - Madeira

Postby V12 » Sun Feb 03, 2019 9:25 am

wkitty42 wrote in Thu Jan 17, 2019 6:41 pm:... this is not possible in FG at this time......

Impossibility is reality - big thanks to D-ECHO for his fix of the stupid scenery bug on rwy 23 treshold :

Image

I moved 4 lights between GELO and ROSARIO 20 feets up in the file 2678440.stg, after terrain change was not visible :

Code: Select all
OBJECT_SHARED Models/Effects/light10000.xml -16.800324 32.675658 30.52 0
OBJECT_SHARED Models/Effects/light10000.xml -16.7998964 32.676083 35.84 0
OBJECT_SHARED Models/Effects/light10000.xml -16.7994396 32.6764595 45.44 0
OBJECT_SHARED Models/Effects/light10000.xml -16.7989922 32.6768219 41.11 0
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1226
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: LPMA - Madeira

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sun Feb 03, 2019 11:10 am

Yes, but you do not have the pillars, do you? That is what is impossible, not fixing the elevation bug.


Hopefully the updates can go in TerraSync, since Madeira is an island.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6511
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: LPMA - Madeira

Postby V12 » Sun Feb 03, 2019 11:16 am

OK, pillars is not problem. I know that it is not possible. But wkitty42 in his post didn't wrote about pillars...
In any case, flattened terrain around rwy 23 treshold is big step forward.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1226
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: LPMA - Madeira

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Feb 03, 2019 6:43 pm

my comment "handcrafting something" does lend itself to having pillars and roadway on top of them...

have you seen what craft do at EGLL (i think) when they roll up to the pedestrian crossover they are supposed to go underneath? ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5214
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: LPMA - Madeira

Postby Catalanoic » Sun Feb 03, 2019 7:35 pm

something like the taxiways over a bridge in Frankfurt and Munich
User avatar
Catalanoic
 
Posts: 1052
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:33 am
Location: Barcelona (LEBL)
Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3
OS: Lubuntu/Windows 7

Next

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alex H and 1 guest