Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Placing objects with UFO

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: Placing objects with UFO

Postby flywisher » Fri Nov 02, 2018 8:16 pm

(SOLVED)
VicMar, xDraconian, I get to wear the Dunce cap today.

I just caught on that the models download as compressed tar archives (*.tgz). FG sees *.ac, *.xml, etc files for models. The archives need to be UNPACKED for FG to see them ("Duh"). When I did that, it worked just fine, right in FG's own Models folders, just like always.

It's hard to diagnose strange problems when experienced people fail to notice they made stupid mistakes.

Sorry about that. And, thanks guys.
flywisher
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 2:37 am
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Callsign: flywisher
OS: XP, Vista, Mint

Re: Placing objects with UFO

Postby VicMar » Fri Nov 02, 2018 8:33 pm

That was an easy mistake to make. Well done for spotting it.

We've all worn that dunces cap at some time in the past and there are new tricks being included for us to trip over in almost every new version of FG.

Cheers,

Vic
Time flies like an arrow
Fruit flies like a banana
User avatar
VicMar
 
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 5:53 pm
Location: Lancing. UK (EGKA)
Callsign: VicMar
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: OS X 10.12.6

Previous

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests