Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

X-Plane Gateway  Topic is solved

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby Catalanoic » Mon Oct 08, 2018 7:05 pm

The Web Airport Generator doesnt work. The last step, downloading the file, fails with 404 error, unable to download the file
PS: It was the wrong file, the code dont accept 3d data, 2D worked fine
User avatar
Catalanoic
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:33 am
Location: Barcelona (LEBL)
Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3
OS: Lubuntu/Windows 7

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby Ivan-Pekar » Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:15 pm

pb321, I have followed all the steps exactly up to 8, when there are 'No matches for USMM'. What happened?
Also, in step 5, do i paste the btg.gz file straight into terrain, or do I have to go to e80n60\e072n62?

Thanks,
Ivan
Ivan-Pekar
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:57 pm

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby pb321 » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:16 am

Perhaps a better way to document step 2:

2. Add the same subfolder structure as in your terrasync folder:
MyFGScenery\objects\e080n60\e072n62
MyFGScenery\terrain\e080n60\e072n62 (your btz.gz file is to be pasted within this subfolder)


Hopefully I have the correct coordinate subfolders for your USMM airport. If not, just substitute the correct subfolder names for those I've indicated.
pb321
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:08 pm
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby Ivan-Pekar » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:38 pm

Ok, thank you, pb321. Hopefully it will indeed work. I'll ask if there are any more issues. Thank you for your help.

Ivan
Ivan-Pekar
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:57 pm

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby Ivan-Pekar » Thu Oct 25, 2018 7:52 pm

Unfortunately, there are still 'No matches for USMM'. There is alos no folder e072n62 inside e080n60. What happened?

Thank you
Ivan-Pekar
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:57 pm

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby pb321 » Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:34 am

I checked the coordinates of USMM and found we are placing things in the wrong folders. According to what I found tonight, USMM's coordinates are: N65°28.93' / E72°41.90' , so I think the subfolders should be, \e070n60\e073n65\. To be honest, I may not have the folders correct. Please check FG documentation to see how it works for your part of the world.

If you've successfully created USMM.btg.gz, it should be pasted in "MyFGScenery\terrain\e070n60\e073n65\" . Get this working first--any objects available in Terrasync can be copied later. Then add c:\MyFGScenery (or equivalent, depending on your drive setup) in FlightGear Add-ons, Additional Scenery Folders. Make sure it is at the top of the list.
pb321
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:08 pm
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby Ivan-Pekar » Fri Oct 26, 2018 11:35 am

Thank you, pb321. I have attached a link for a video where I try to search for USMM in FlightGear, please could you watch it and let me know if anything is wrong?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QbRJo86EXME

Thanks
Ivan-Pekar
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:57 pm

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby pb321 » Fri Oct 26, 2018 9:19 pm

Ivan, everything I see in the video looks correct, except that it does NOT confirm that the following has been done:

c:/Documents/FGScenery must be added to FlightGear in "Add-ons", "Additional Scenery Folders"

AND

make sure this scenery folder is at the top of the "Additional scenery folders"


If these things are done, things should work.
pb321
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:08 pm
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby WoodSTokk » Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:19 am

pb321 wrote in Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:34 am:I checked the coordinates of USMM and found we are placing things in the wrong folders. According to what I found tonight, USMM's coordinates are: N65°28.93' / E72°41.90' , so I think the subfolders should be, \e070n60\e073n65\. To be honest, I may not have the folders correct. Please check FG documentation to see how it works for your part of the world.


No. The correct subdirectory should be /e070n60/e072n65/.
https://skyvector.com/?ll=65.4823494773 ... 301&zoom=1

Thats odd. The airport is on skyvector but without navaids.
If i enter 'nadym' in the searchbox from the launcher, only a NDM is found, but no airport.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby Ivan-Pekar » Sat Oct 27, 2018 2:26 pm

pb321, I have indeed got my directory in Add-ons and at the top of the list.

This is another video for another of my airports, USMU. I have shown all the steps.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ov74yU2jCpE
(sorry about the engine noise in the background)

WoodSTokk, I have now have the correct subdirectory, yet still there is no airport.

Thanks
Ivan-Pekar
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:57 pm

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby pb321 » Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:57 pm

I'm wondering if your Flightgear installation is somehow a problem.

There are others who are much more knowledgeable than I am about FlightGear, but if it was me, I think I'd try going to C:/Users/USERNAME/AppData/Roaming/ and delete the folder named flightgear.org. Restart FlightGear and see if that solves the problem. You'll have to set up your add-ons again and some other settings.

If that doesn't work, clear the cache again, then uninstall and reinstall FlightGear. See if that resolves the problem. (I know it's a pain to have to do this, but it might be worth a try). Beyond that, I don't know what else to suggest.
pb321
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:08 pm
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby xDraconian » Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:27 pm

Neither USMM nor USMU exist within the apt.dat file. That's why you don't find them in the airport search.
Your videos are showing that you have terrain for USMM and USMU, but you don't have the airport definitions.
xDraconian
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:53 am
Version: Git
OS: Linux Mint

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby WoodSTokk » Sun Oct 28, 2018 12:14 am

xDraconian is right. The launcher and also FG will look up the apt.dat file and that two airports are not included.
If you have the btg file also incuded in the right xml file, you can start near that airport and fly over it and you should see it.
But there is another problem.
Because the airport wasn't existing at the time as the senery was build, there is no hole in the ground where the airport is placed.
This means, that the airport will be mixed with the terrain on that location.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby pb321 » Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:03 am

So would it make sense to extract the apt.dat.gz found in FG/data/airports/ , then add the apt.dat info from World Editor for the two airports, then create a new apt.dat.gz? (...for local use only but would it allow positioning an aircraft at the airports from within FlightGear? Or would it create other problems? To get Metar data, could the airports be added to the metar.dat.gz in a similar manner?
Would the "mix" of airport and terrain that you refer to, WoodSTokk, be the same or worse than what you would see when using the online Web Airport Generator with airports that are already in FlightGear's apt.dat.gz file?
pb321
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:08 pm
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby WoodSTokk » Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:38 am

pb321 wrote in Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:03 am:So would it make sense to extract the apt.dat.gz found in FG/data/airports/ , then add the apt.dat info from World Editor for the two airports, then create a new apt.dat.gz? (...for local use only but would it allow positioning an aircraft at the airports from within FlightGear? Or would it create other problems? To get Metar data, could the airports be added to the metar.dat.gz in a similar manner?

Sorry, i'm not a developer of FG. I only know that the apt.dat file include more than the airport. It includes all data about runways, LOC, GS, DME and more with exact identification, location, direction and frequencies. But i dont know how the file format looks like.
pb321 wrote in Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:03 am:Would the "mix" of airport and terrain that you refer to, WoodSTokk, be the same or worse than what you would see when using the online Web Airport Generator with airports that are already in FlightGear's apt.dat.gz file?

I doesn't know the Web Airport Generator. But there are some airports in FG where the tool chain missed to cut the hole.
If the terrain a little bit lower, it doesn't matter. But mostly the terrain bumps throw the airport ground and that makes operations tricky or even unusable.
As an example, try to take off from MDPC RWY 09, you will end up in a forrest.
This is a known bug of the tool chain and the dev team is working hard to correct this issue.
As far as i know, if all bugs fixed, the team will start to build a new world scenery (without bugs).
For the new world scenery, the team will use the newest apt.dat, so it looks good that the missing airports are in the new scenery.
Drawback: the build of a new world scenery will take months.

PS: but it can be that you find a hack to insert a new airport in the actual scenery and dat-files ;)
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests