Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:29 am

Oh.. 20626.4806247096 radians in a circle. So distance factor must be (11699*1000)*57.2957795131
I corrected line 6, cut in paste issue ha. I know the signs are not all bunched up in one 1 meter pile. Which leads me to think something is wrong with lines with:
X1 = (cos(y1) * sin(x1))
Y1 = sin(y1)
'----------------------------'
X2 = (cos(y2) * sin(x2))
Y2 = sin(y2)
' distance = sqr((((X1-X2)^2)+((Y1-Y2)^2)))
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Sun Apr 15, 2018 9:24 am

Haa! Got it, more believe numbers The readout reads as follows:
A matching sign between working and stg file 100% sign match low dist and
three flags elev, hdg signsize
100% 8.18454 001
This sign in 1/8 of a mile away from the one above Mile marker on the runway.
0% 250.55444 001
An eighth of mile 210 meters the difference with 250.55 meters must be in the 11699 ballpark figure.
Thanks to my team : portreekid, wkitty42 , and woodstock !! Kodos.
Change to code:
X1 = (cos(y1) * sin(x1)) *100 * 2
Y1 = sin(y1)*100 * 2
'----------------------------'
X2 = (cos(y2) * sin(x2))*100 * 2
Y2 = sin(y2) *100 * 2
' distance = sqr((((X1-X2)^2)+((Y1-Y2)^2)))
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:05 am

Here 's ASE v060.exe. Test and comment. TX SteveO

Working On:
    Help
    Update STG OBJ -> xxxxxx.stg
    Update DAT OBJ -> aptID.dat
    Multi click point and taxisign assign.

Latest version ASE v079
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1h6h-Q0NuIWkgZKiWdfAnhoXHYL03iUnL/view?usp=sharing
Last edited by MickeySkooter on Fri May 04, 2018 6:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:20 am

Discovered an issue when using import stg with no matching airport ID between the current working airport and the stg airport. In some cases, the program misinterpreted the OBJECT_SHARED string. Not sure of the reason yet but working on the issue. Also discovered the model is showing 1.4 meters in elevation, flat on the ground. Also was able to change the heading spite what I typed in the Help file.
Last edited by MickeySkooter on Tue Apr 17, 2018 10:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Tue Apr 17, 2018 10:35 am

Ok, the 1.4504 meters or 145 cm is a bias that FlightGear adds automatically for every object. Signs have no problem and end up flat on the ground in the simulator. Turns out that when I tried the ufo sign.ac3 object ASE misinterpreted line 18 of the ufo-model-export file. The sign was a OBJECT_SIGN not a OBJECT_SHARED and had added text that through the interpreter off. A little change in the code to recognize both OBJECT_SIGN and OBJECT_SHARED. Also found out that sign.ac3 is the perfect object to mark locations for sign placement, all data is correct: long, lat, elev, hdg and sign size.

This issue resolved. Fixed. All data is correct for ufo object sign.ac3
ASE v063

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1HMQNye-anDz-jSw73mqxzuEF_xoBB6Q8/view?usp=sharing
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Wed Apr 18, 2018 11:29 pm

Here's ASE v065. Worked 82 signs for Gulfport Biloxi KGPT. Still working on the ASE Help, will make a popup to select topics from a menu, cut ting down on the time it takes to listen to one large file. Also working on update stage and update dat file which can be imported back into WED. Also thinking about an append sign, adding a new sign to the end of the stage ile. Included the Airport Sigh Extractor.bas file this time, can be viewed with notepad ++, Liberty Basic Workshop and Liberty Basic 4.5.1

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dhQCP2_VH_1dtPYJ8VnJw1qnt-vIAOCJ/view?usp=sharing
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Sun Apr 22, 2018 4:43 am

Here's the improved beta version ASE 069. Changes to the Help utility and button sounds. Fixed an issue with IMPORTSTG.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1wtJurzchMj3_tJBlZb126kfQUM7pS0bq/view?usp=sharing
Behind the ASE window is another window used in conjunction with debugging the code. Will be turned off at version 1.0.0 A . It closes when you close ASE. Working on the other features updateSTG, updateDAT and append. I believe even if I update the dat file it still may strip the elevation data when exporting apt.dat file.
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Mon Apr 23, 2018 3:38 pm

Well, I'm learning. I have been calling .stg files stage files, but I now know its, maybe, scenery terra gear file. btg files are binary terra gear files.
Working hard at ASE 070 beta. Should have updateSTG working. Other minor changes that give more information on what mode you are in.
Thanks, Stuart for your good wiki information.
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:25 am

Here is ASE version v074, I haven't finished working out the implementation of updateStg button so it is disabled for now.
Had successfully created ######.bak for saving the original stg file and created a ######.stg file but it is incorrect,
Both files are in the storage subdirectory of the ASE folder.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1JmC2FccSZa-NSmDgGLAMiLO2xLaCFwAD/view?usp=sharing

Included the liberty basic code that can be viewed with a text-editor. Branches [updateStg] and [rebuildStgFile] involve the update
stg I'm working on. Note the APPEND button is working, ASE Sign Maker appends new sign to the end of the OBJECT_SIGN code in
the OBJ text-editor, updates maxlines lines and successfully added a new working sign. Link Sync and click SYNC, save the airport to the storage folder. ASE Sign Maker uses the UFO for placement. Sign size defaults to 2.

SteveO
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:04 pm

New ASE beta version, ASE 075, the update stg works now. Have an issue with a new sign append to it, will search the issue until resolved. The file in the OBJ text editor is correct but not in the updated stg file. For now the stg and bak file is saved to the storage file folder of ASE. You have to reload prefs each time up update ASE, a way around this is just copy the preferences.txt file from the previous working ASE, and paste it in the new version.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1D8Z-_gLOoCMQmLBxl3Q9t9jNYEOwJrQn/view?usp=sharing
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Mon Apr 30, 2018 1:03 pm

Well, I checked on the issue of the appended sign and it seems it was working properly anyway. There is three modes of editing, Just after an airport is loaded, this is ufo editing only. The imported WED dat file is in a different format so it can not be used for editing. With an airport and a ufo model export can be imported by clicking monitor UFO. Once the terrain and stg file show, you can IMPORT STG and LOAD saved object code from the storage folder. The stg file in the terrain folder is not updated by the updatedSTG button, The new stg file is also in the storage folder. Until I feel that updateSTG is robust enough, I will give you the option to save to the terrain folder. Keep in mind that a backup and stg are created in the storage folder also.
SteveO
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Tue May 01, 2018 11:37 pm

Working on ASE v078 for the updateSTG function. Working with the exception of the subscript array bcode$(x) out of range, for back signs the front sign, code$(x), has no problem. I've started and reloaded this code so much that I dream about it.
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Wed May 02, 2018 4:04 pm

Here's ASE v078, updateStg is now working. After updated file to terrain folder, ASE resets the airport and import stg has to be done to continue editing the working code. Had to fix append back sign codes, Flightgear SImulator had an issue with the previous generated codes. Now working well. Comments and ideas welcome.
SteveO
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1DHrgI4KW-NXvOQ9A-W1TxPS6QcJl8dZn/view?usp=sharing
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Fri May 04, 2018 7:58 am

Have all signs working now for append and working airport display. The runway remaining markers were yellow on black, now white on black. Whew, a lot of bitmaps to change to fix this. I'll have the update soon, ASE v079 . Working on the details for multiple click point in the assign function where all available signs are listed and which click point you wish to assign it to, 0 will be unchanged.. Update and sync all signs with one button. Available in the ASE 8.xx version.
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Fri May 04, 2018 9:26 am

Question. I have been placing signs of different sizes 1 through 5 and I noticed my size 4 was smaller than a size 2 sign, is there a bug in FlightGear 2017?
FAA Standard Sign Sizes:
SIZE 1 12 inches
SIZE 2 15 inches
SIZE 3 18 inches
SIZE 4 40 inches
SIZE 5 25 inches
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests