Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Project3000 - Populate 4000 airports in 5 minutes :-)

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sun Oct 25, 2015 9:18 pm

Will it go into TerraSync? I love the last screeny (or photo?)
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7181
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby pommesschranke » Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:16 am

I plan to release a "european airports" package soon.
If I try to do it for africa or asia elevation probing will fail because I don't have the terrain installed.

But you don't have to wait - clone my github repo and play with it.
Then you can poulate any airport that you like.

With terrasync I see the problem: the user cannot select what he wants.
If I upload 3800 additional objects to EDDF. EDDF will always be
slow if you don't have a very fast PC - thats not good.

stuart is working on very promising code that can double the frame rate in such cases:
http://sourceforge.net/p/flightgear/mai ... /34452634/

I am very much looking forward to that solution.
Last edited by pommesschranke on Mon Nov 09, 2015 11:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby pommesschranke » Mon Oct 26, 2015 12:53 pm

my program was running approx. 8 hours.
here's the result:

a global scenery pack with shared models & their locations for 2000+ airports

http://media.lug-marl.de/flightgear/project3000.tgz (21MB)

2227 stg files with a total of 190173 "OBJECT_SHARED" entries.
That's a nice average of 86 objects per airport.
81 new shared models were made for this project.

at some places you have to go under ground to see the objects, but most airports are ok, I think
Last edited by pommesschranke on Mon Nov 09, 2015 11:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Oct 26, 2015 1:33 pm

Sounds good!
Is that project3000.tgz only in Europe?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7181
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby pommesschranke » Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:38 pm

It is world-wide.

If an airport is marked as "3D" on http://gateway.x-plane.com/airports/page
then it is (very likely) included in the project3000 package.
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby pommesschranke » Wed Oct 28, 2015 8:41 pm

I started a "Project 3000" wiki page:
http://wiki.flightgear.org/Project3000
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby pommesschranke » Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:27 pm

ETSI
before and after

http://www.23hq.com/laserman/photo/21788945/original

tools used:
    gateway_pull.py
    dsf2stg.py
    dsf2aptdat.py
    genapts850
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby psadro_gm » Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:41 pm

Hi pommesschranke. That looks awesome. Do you have any issues with maybe putting your scripts into the terragear repo? It looks like you're beginning to amass quite the toolset. I'd hate to lose these tools down the road :)

I see you are converting the xplane .dsf to airport.dat format. I wonder if you may give me your thoughts on what I am planning for genapts and tg-construct.

1) genapt would no longer create .btg files, but just the layout of runways, pavements, etc in 2D, and generate the airport base smoothing polynomial.
2) tg-construct would read this info and prioritize the airport polys ALONG with the landclass and vector data. So any OSM data could then be used within airport boundaries. Also, we would have more flexibility in 'tapering' the boundary between smoothed airport surface and the raw SRTM.

As an added bonus, changing the airport layout ( without changing the airport boundaries ) wouldn't require a whole rerun of tgconstruct. Just a final draping utility to drape the new 2d layout over the smoothed terrain.

Have you seen any example dsf layouts that conflict with OSM data in x-plane? I'm just wondering if they handle such cases when layouts are submitted to the gateway.
8.50 airport parser, textured roads and streams...
psadro_gm
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
IRC name: psadro_*
Version: git
OS: Fedora 21

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby Hooray » Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:53 pm

we should probably consider adding a dedicated draw-mask for such features, and maybe even a "factor" attribute to specify how many of those objects/models should be loaded/shown.
Maybe, there is a way to procedurally add a "marker" (tag) to each model so that the loader in fg/sg can dynamically be told to enable, increase/decrease or disable such features ?

Specifically, I am referring to psadro_gm's comments at: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=23781&p=231142#p231142

And this:
http://sourceforge.net/p/flightgear/mai ... /29564161/
James Turner wrote:Another goal is to add more node bits (and a GUI dialog to control them) so various categories of objects can be disabled during the update pass. This will mean the direct hit of, say, AI models vs particles vs random trees can be measured. Of course it won't account for resources (memory, textures) burned by such things, but would still help different people identify slowness on their setups.

Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11376
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby MIG29pilot » Tue Nov 03, 2015 2:34 pm

pommesschranke wrote in Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:27 pm:ETSI
before and after

http://www.23hq.com/laserman/photo/21788945/original

tools used:
    gateway_pull.py
    dsf2stg.py
    dsf2aptdat.py
    genapts850

:shock:
User avatar
MIG29pilot
 
Posts: 1454
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: 6 feet under Snow
Callsign: MIG29pilot
Version: 3.7nightly
OS: Windows 10

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby pommesschranke » Wed Nov 04, 2015 12:08 pm

psadro_gm wrote in Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:41 pm: Do you have any issues with maybe putting your scripts into the terragear repo?


no. can you pull/clone it from my github ?
https://github.com/mherweg/d-laser-fgtools

I convert dsf to apt.dat so that we don't lose many polygons where WED artists did decide to use "asphalt facade" polys instead of "taxiway". I also want to convert "facade" buildings with the help of osm2city, using building outlines from the dsf file and not from OSM. that fits better to shared objects like jetways and has usually better height information than OSM.

At the moment I only need to use genapts850 and elevation data for the area to update an airport layout if the airport boundary stays the same.
If the boudary changes we need to use more of the terragear toolchain + shapefiles, which is very complicated and time consuming - impossible to do for most people. :-(

Do you think it is important to use OSM Data inside airport boundaries ?
I think in X-Pllane is "muted" by using exclusion zones.

will have a look at what they did at Gibraltar :-)
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby DuaneBarry » Wed Nov 04, 2015 10:13 pm

Hi pommesschranke.
Thank you for all the effort and work.
I try to follow http://wiki.flightgear.org/Project3000 but after:

Code: Select all
time echo "foo 8.56256161 50.04758962" | fgelev

i received this "bad result example":
Code: Select all
foo: -0.237

real    0m2.239s
user    0m1.608s
sys     0m0.112s

Is useless for me to go ahead?
I have to fix something in my installation?

.mario
DuaneBarry
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 5:54 pm
Location: Modena - Italy
Version: 2016.1
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby pommesschranke » Wed Nov 04, 2015 10:52 pm

did you ...
Code: Select all
export FG_ROOT= YOUR FG_ROOT PATH
export FG_SCENERY= YOUR TERRASYNC PATH


?

example:
Code: Select all
export FG_ROOT=/usr/share/games/flightgear/
export FG_SCENERY=/home/YOURNAME/.fgfs/TerraSync


Do you have Terrain for the EDDF area in your TerraSync folder ?
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby DuaneBarry » Thu Nov 05, 2015 7:23 pm

Hi pommesschranke.
Thank for your reply. Yes i have set the FG_ROOT and FG_SCENERY environment variables.
What i have miss is the correlation between this coordinates
Code: Select all
8.56256161 50.04758962
and the real position, EDDF. :oops: Sorry.
Indeed i flight only on Italian soil (apart default KSFO) so i not have Terrain for the EDDF area in my TerraSync folder.
I try with coordinates of an Italian airport from where i started and report back.
Thank again.

.mario
DuaneBarry
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 5:54 pm
Location: Modena - Italy
Version: 2016.1
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby Pakistan-1 » Sun Nov 08, 2015 6:42 am

Could you use this to generate a few Pakistani Airports like
OPRN
OPLA
OPKC
thanks in advance
User avatar
Pakistan-1
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 2:49 am
Location: Hong Kong
Callsign: DocDMG,PK1,MIA2020
Version: 3.7
OS: Windows 10

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests